FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Camera not in hand, any method to find SN?

Page  <12
Author
pdeley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 June 2008
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1817
Post Options Post Options   Quote pdeley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 March 2012 at 19:30
Or maybe there might be an S/N listed on the paper or electronic invoice when you originally bought it, if that's archived somewhere easily retrievable among other docs that came with you when you moved?

Alternatively, you wouldn't really have to pinpoint exactly which is the camera you sent in but just prove that it was different from what they returned. Might the numbering of the filenames provide any evidence that it's not the same camera, eg the very last shots you took just before sending it off where at say DSC00123 but you got back a camera that has the count at DSC08765?

Edited by pdeley - 04 March 2012 at 19:43
a450, a500, a700, a57, a65, 600si, 700si & other 35 mm bodies, 11-18, Sig 20 1.8, 30 2.8 macro, 24-85, Quanty 50 f2.8 macro, mf Viv 90 f2.8 macro, 70-300G, 300 f4, 500 f8, 600 f4
 



Back to Top
Rno. View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 May 2006
Country: United States
Location: Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 1794
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rno. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 March 2012 at 19:37
Originally posted by pdeley pdeley wrote:

... just prove that [your camera] was different from what they returned.


+1, and your correspondence with the repair facility might contain some specifics about the issue with your camera—which should be very different from what you received back.
Ungeeking
Back to Top
Atto View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 August 2011
Country: Austria
Location: Vienna
Status: Offline
Posts: 173
Post Options Post Options   Quote Atto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 March 2012 at 19:38
cameratrace.com

There is a free trace option by uploading a image taken with that camera... havn't tried
RX1; A99; A900; ZA 24 2.0; Sony 50 2.8 macro; 1.4 TC; Sigma 105 2.8 EX DG macro; Minolta 85 1.4 G RS; 200 2.8 G HS; 400 4.5 G HS
Back to Top
Rno. View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 May 2006
Country: United States
Location: Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 1794
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rno. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 March 2012 at 19:51
Just entered a SN at cameratrace.com of a stolen A700: no trace found
Entered the SN of my a850, of which I have posted many images: no trace found.

Not sure what they do or how they help, really.
Ungeeking
Back to Top
ratboy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 May 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: North East
Status: Offline
Posts: 1108
Post Options Post Options   Quote ratboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 March 2012 at 19:55
Unfortunately Sony does not embed camera serial numbers in the image. So cameratrace.com won't work for us Sony users
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 9115
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 March 2012 at 20:09
Where did you send it to? Not that I can do anything about it except to make sure I never send anything there.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 KM28-75D 70-200G1 70-300G 70-400G1|MFC-1000w/1200AF Metz54MZ-4i SonyF60 PW's x3
 



Back to Top
ryansholl View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 10 February 2010
Location: United States
Status: Online
Posts: 758
Post Options Post Options   Quote ryansholl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 March 2012 at 03:42
Hello again all. There's ample evidence aside from the SN that this isn't my camera (actuation count, firmware version, numerous pictures including one taken immediately before I boxed it back up - as well as the fact that my camera worked before I sent it in). I'm going to see how everything works out before I dispense with the details. I'm just hoping that things will work out ok.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount full frame Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.

Links monetized by viglink VigLink