FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Fit hotshoe flash to A390

Author
66mikeg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 December 2017
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Exeter
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote 66mikeg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fit hotshoe flash to A390
    Posted: 29 December 2017 at 14:51
I've recently aquired an A390 to use my legacy Minolta AF lenses I was hoping to use the flash equipment from my 7000 and 9000 despite buying the adapters the pop up flash physicaly interferes with the hot shoe mounted kit is there a way around this?
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 13882
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2017 at 15:32
Originally posted by 66mikeg 66mikeg wrote:

... despite buying the adapters the pop up flash physicaly interferes with the hot shoe mounted kit is there a way around this?

Are you saying you want to leave the adapter in place and use the pop-up flash simultaneously? It doesn't seem feasible with that camera.

Back to Top
66mikeg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 December 2017
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Exeter
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote 66mikeg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2017 at 15:35
I don't necessarily want to use the pop up flash will the hot shoe fire without the pop up ?
Back to Top
michelb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 August 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Montréal
Status: Offline
Posts: 591
Post Options Post Options   Quote michelb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2017 at 15:49
Yes it should fire without the flash up but for flash units from the 7000/9000 era, only manual power will be available (no TTL, no HSS or other auto features).

If you have 4000AF, there is a manual power level adjustment possible, for 2800AF, only 2 power levels, and the 1800AF has no level adjustment so it will only fire at full power.

If you get the Minolta FS-1100 adapter in combination with the 4000AF flash, the rear panel of the flash should give you an indication of the theoretical working distance for your ISO and aperture settings in M mode.
Michel B
Back to Top
66mikeg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 December 2017
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Exeter
Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote 66mikeg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2017 at 15:56
Hi, I've got the 4000AF and the 2800AF so it seems that if I get the FS-1100 adapter I should be in business thanks for your help
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lighting

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.