FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77 Focus Peaking Discovery

Page  <1 3456>
Author
Peekayoh View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 January 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Peekayoh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 November 2012 at 23:18
Yes, it works in AF-A mode but you have to enable DMF in the menu.
 



Back to Top
Mike-Photos View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 14 August 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mike-Photos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 November 2012 at 23:44
Originally posted by Peekayoh Peekayoh wrote:

Yes, it works in AF-A mode but you have to enable DMF in the menu.


I've set that but I don't get it to work. can you give me the exact sequence of steps?

Just to make sure I understand. In DMF mode, if peaking is on, the peaking will display because the camera switches to manual focus after focusing. What this thread is about is having peaking work in AF-A or AF-S mode.
Mike
Back to Top
SerbianAdonis View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 September 2010
Country: Chile
Status: Offline
Posts: 176
Post Options Post Options   Quote SerbianAdonis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2012 at 12:33
But, what would be a point in having peaking focus (PF) in A or S mode if camera is doing everything and camera itself doesn't need to confirm it has a focus or not as she does everything.
It does make sense ONLY in situation where we use our cameras manually to assist our incapable eyes in discerning is it perfectly in focus or not?
Camera doesn't need confirmation for itself obviously. If we are not happy with a focus she elected, we can take care of it by focusing manually.
If you want to know where the power lies, then ask whom you can't criticize!
Back to Top
Mike-Photos View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 14 August 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mike-Photos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2012 at 14:46
Originally posted by SerbianAdonis SerbianAdonis wrote:

But, what would be a point in having peaking focus (PF) in A or S mode if camera is doing everything and camera itself doesn't need to confirm it has a focus or not as she does everything.
It does make sense ONLY in situation where we use our cameras manually to assist our incapable eyes in discerning is it perfectly in focus or not?
Camera doesn't need confirmation for itself obviously. If we are not happy with a focus she elected, we can take care of it by focusing manually.

I find it extremely useful. Instead of just getting a focus point light up, you can see in detail where the camera has focused.
Of course, it's VERY useful in manual mode, but that doesn't mean it has no use in auto mode. I used it all the time on my A77.
Mike
Back to Top
gaging View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowldegbase Contributor

Joined: 21 May 2010
Country: United States
Location: Holt, Michigan
Status: Online
Posts: 561
Post Options Post Options   Quote gaging Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2012 at 15:04
Originally posted by Mike-Photos Mike-Photos wrote:

Originally posted by Peekayoh Peekayoh wrote:

Yes, it works in AF-A mode but you have to enable DMF in the menu.


I've set that but I don't get it to work. can you give me the exact sequence of steps?

Just to make sure I understand. In DMF mode, if peaking is on, the peaking will display because the camera switches to manual focus after focusing. What this thread is about is having peaking work in AF-A or AF-S mode.


When Focus Peaking is enabled, it works either with manual focus or with AF-A mode auto focus if DMF is enabled. Focus Peaking doesn't ever work in AF-S mode auto focus.
Back to Top
Mike-Photos View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 14 August 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mike-Photos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 November 2012 at 23:19
Originally posted by gaging gaging wrote:

Originally posted by Mike-Photos Mike-Photos wrote:

Originally posted by Peekayoh Peekayoh wrote:

Yes, it works in AF-A mode but you have to enable DMF in the menu.


I've set that but I don't get it to work. can you give me the exact sequence of steps?

Just to make sure I understand. In DMF mode, if peaking is on, the peaking will display because the camera switches to manual focus after focusing. What this thread is about is having peaking work in AF-A or AF-S mode.


When Focus Peaking is enabled, it works either with manual focus or with AF-A mode auto focus if DMF is enabled. Focus Peaking doesn't ever work in AF-S mode auto focus.


Apologies, I just don't follow. DMF is one focus mode, and AF-A is another. What is "AF-A auto mode if DMF is enabled" mean? You can't have both at once.

If you mean "AF-A auto mode if focus peaking is enabled", I can understand that, but it doesn't happen on my camera. It only happens in DMF mode.

On the A77, it's the same. However, there's a set sequence, shown in posts above, that fools the A77 and allows focus peaking in AF-A mode. I'm trying to find if there's a similar sequence for the A99. I can't find it, although I may have stumbled on it once by accident. I just can't get back to it.
Mike
 



Back to Top
Peekayoh View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 January 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Peekayoh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 11:12
Ok Mike, I should have been more explicit in my previous reply so I'll try and clear this up for you.

With the a99, Sony have added DMF as a focus option rather than the two step method of the a77 and the "silent multi controller" affords very quick access to the function if you wish it. Once DMF is selected, the a99 behaves just like the a77; as soon as focus lock is achieved, the camera drops into manual focus and peaking becomes active.

In AFC-C mode, the theory is that you don't want DMF, you want continuous AF. If you decide you want to override AF-C, just hit the AF/MF button (assuming you haven't changed the function) and the camera drops into manual focus and again peaking becomes active.
Back to Top
Mike-Photos View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 14 August 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mike-Photos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 17:50
Originally posted by Peekayoh Peekayoh wrote:

Ok Mike, I should have been more explicit in my previous reply so I'll try and clear this up for you.

With the a99, Sony have added DMF as a focus option rather than the two step method of the a77 and the "silent multi controller" affords very quick access to the function if you wish it. Once DMF is selected, the a99 behaves just like the a77; as soon as focus lock is achieved, the camera drops into manual focus and peaking becomes active.

In AFC-C mode, the theory is that you don't want DMF, you want continuous AF. If you decide you want to override AF-C, just hit the AF/MF button (assuming you haven't changed the function) and the camera drops into manual focus and again peaking becomes active.


OK, thanks, that's basically as per the user guide. It looks like there's no way to get full time focus peaking in AF-A mode on the A99.
Mike
Back to Top
Peekayoh View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 January 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Peekayoh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 22:00
I'm not sure what you mean by full time focus peaking in relation to any AF mode.
You only get full time focus peaking in manual focus mode.
Of course you can get that by pressing the AF/MF button or the lens MF button if it has one.
Back to Top
Mike-Photos View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 14 August 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mike-Photos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 22:08
Originally posted by Peekayoh Peekayoh wrote:

I'm not sure what you mean by full time focus peaking in relation to any AF mode.
You only get full time focus peaking in manual focus mode.
Of course you can get that by pressing the AF/MF button or the lens MF button if it has one.


We're going round in circles.

If you read this thread from the top, you'll see there's a way to enable focus peaking while you are in AF-A mode on the A77. You don't have to switch to manual focus, you have it always in AF-A mode. It's a trick, but it works on the A77. I used it myself.
Mike
Back to Top
Peekayoh View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 January 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Peekayoh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 23:20
No. I understand Ok, I have both cameras

In AF-A mode with DMF enabled, the a77 drops into MF mode as soon as the focus is locked and peaking is then available. I don't see that as full time focus peaking and of course, you lose the AF-A mode.

The a99 offers all the focus modes of the a77 plus a DMF mode which operates essentially the same as the a77 cludge; so nothing lost but something gained.
Back to Top
Mike-Photos View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 14 August 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 77
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mike-Photos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2012 at 23:56
Originally posted by Peekayoh Peekayoh wrote:

No. I understand Ok, I have both cameras

In AF-A mode with DMF enabled, the a77 drops into MF mode as soon as the focus is locked and peaking is then available. I don't see that as full time focus peaking and of course, you lose the AF-A mode.

The a99 offers all the focus modes of the a77 plus a DMF mode which operates essentially the same as the a77 cludge; so nothing lost but something gained.

Hi Peekayoh

Please read the whole thread.

There's a way to have focus peaking in AF-A mode without dropping into manual focus. The steps you have to take are explained in this thread.
Mike
Back to Top
gaging View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowldegbase Contributor

Joined: 21 May 2010
Country: United States
Location: Holt, Michigan
Status: Online
Posts: 561
Post Options Post Options   Quote gaging Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 November 2012 at 02:03
I'm surprised this thread seems to have a new life after being dormant for most of a year.

I think part of the confusion here is semantics.

Focus Peaking technically only works when the camera is in manual focus. When the camera's focus mode dial is in the AF-A position with DMF enabled, after the auto focus has locked onto a subject, the DMF instantly switches to manual focus. It is only when the DMF switches the camera to manual focus that Focus Peaking works. This happens so fast after focus is achieved that it appears that Focus Peaking is working in auto focus mode.

This is how an A77 camera has to be setup to make Focus Peaking work immediately after the camera achieves auto focus lock:
  • Peaking Level set to High, Mid, or Low
  • AF-A Setup set to DMF (menu setting)
  • Focus Mode Dial set to the "A" position
  • AF/MF button either set to AF/MF Control Hold, or if it is set to AF/MF Control Toggle, it must be toggled to AF

In addition, if you want the the EVF/LCD image to be in black & white with colored focus peaking, set the Creative Style to Black & White.

If you are shooting RAW + JPEG, the black & white will only be recorded on the JPEG image. If you are shooting RAW, the recorded image will be in color, even though the image you see during playback is black & white. This is because the camera can't display a RAW image on the EVF/LCD, so it converts the RAW image for playback and applies the black & white Creative Style during the conversion.

I don't own an A99, so I can't be sure the A99 works identically, but it sounds like it is pretty close.

Lynn
Back to Top
Peekayoh View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 January 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Peekayoh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 November 2012 at 10:42
Originally posted by Mike-Photos Mike-Photos wrote:

Hi Peekayoh

Please read the whole thread.
No thanks.

Originally posted by Mike-Photos Mike-Photos wrote:

There's a way to have focus peaking in AF-A mode without dropping into manual focus. The steps you have to take are explained in this thread.
No, there isn't!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  <1 3456>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.188 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.

Links monetized by viglink VigLink