FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

a77m2 Stuck on Program mode

Author
retta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 December 2016
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Post Options Post Options   Quote retta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: a77m2 Stuck on Program mode
    Posted: 10 June 2017 at 06:18
I have put an inquiry into the camera company that just fixed my camera, but I likely will not get a reply until Tuesday, and I would love to know sooner if there is a simple solution to my challenge. Like many of us, I have deadlines.

They did well with the repair except that my camera came back stuck in Program mode. I turn the dial, but the live view continues to indicate Program with the big P in the corner. I cannot use my on-camera flash as the error message says the camera is in Program mode.
Soooo... am I going crazy, or did getting stuck in P really happen? Is there an easy fix to this? What should I try first?
It is late and I have to go to bed, so I will check back in the morning with anyone who has left a suggestion.

EDIT: the camera was repaired under warranty through mack Camera and Video Service. They sent it to Panasonic. Nope--they sent it to "manufacturer".

Edited by retta - 10 June 2017 at 22:25
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 12969
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2017 at 08:30
Have you tried this ... ?

Setting Reset

Resets the product to the default settings.
1. MENU → (Setup) → [Setting Reset] → desired setting.

Camera Settings Reset:
Initializes the main shooting settings to the default settings.

Initialize:
Initializes all the settings to the default settings.

Note:
Be sure not to eject the battery pack while resetting.
Back to Top
retta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 December 2016
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Post Options Post Options   Quote retta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2017 at 09:15
Thanks! I was in such shock that I didn't really want to touch anything. At your suggestion, I did reset and initialize and it mad no difference. You have given me the idea to run a software update. isn't it possible that will repair it if it is a glitch in the software? I will try that tomorrow.
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 10396
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2017 at 12:16
Latest firmware is 2.0, if it's already installed it can't be reinstalled by the user. And that's the first thing that repair shop should have done is check and update firmware if necessary. What was the camera sent in for in the first place?
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1|MFC-1000w/1200AF Metz54MZ-4i SonyF60
Back to Top
retta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 December 2016
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Post Options Post Options   Quote retta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2017 at 15:52
I figured they already updated the firmware, but thought it would be a diagnostic type tool. No to that then. It was dropped when I fell. The viewfinder had blacked out. I also requested a sensor cleaning. The repair docket says "Replaced main circuit. Repaired and adjusted misc. electrical parts. Checked and adjusted all functions to specs. General cleaning and lubrication. Cleaned CCD."
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 23477
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2017 at 16:04
Sounds more like the dial is disconnected so that it turns but is not affecting stuff underneath - I would guess that the repairer would fix and apologise...
 



Back to Top
artuk View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 July 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 3351
Post Options Post Options   Quote artuk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2017 at 16:31

Originally posted by retta retta wrote:

I figured they already updated the firmware, but thought it would be a diagnostic type tool. No to that then. It was dropped when I fell. The viewfinder had blacked out. I also requested a sensor cleaning. The repair docket says "Replaced main circuit. Repaired and adjusted misc. electrical parts. Checked and adjusted all functions to specs. General cleaning and lubrication. Cleaned CCD."


Was the mode dial working after you dropped the camera, before it went for repair? I was wondering if maybe it was affected by the drop but not picked up by the repair?

Did you mean it was sent to Panasonic under warranty? Not Sony?
Art
Back to Top
retta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 December 2016
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Post Options Post Options   Quote retta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 June 2017 at 16:53
"Sounds more like the dial is disconnected so that it turns but is not affecting stuff underneath - I would guess that the repairer would fix and apologise..."

That is what it seems like. My hopes for a quick fix by me are dashed. :-)
I truly hope it can be fixed locally. I guess we will see. At least it is usable in Program. I can hook up my speedlite for the fill flash until this is remedied.

"Was the mode dial working after you dropped the camera, before it went for repair? I was wondering if maybe it was affected by the drop but not picked up by the repair?

Did you mean it was sent to Panasonic under warranty? Not Sony?"

I apparently did not remember correctly. At the time I wondered why Panasonic, but that company isn't mentioned in the main communication thread.
The dial was not stuck when I sent it in. Everything worked well as far as I know except the viewfinder which I use almost exclusively.


Edited by retta - 10 June 2017 at 17:10
Back to Top
retta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 December 2016
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Post Options Post Options   Quote retta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 June 2017 at 19:32
Truly unbelievable. I have to update my story because I am so impressed. My insurance company, Mack, paid to ship my camera back second day air, the same day it arrived it is being worked on (today)and I just received this email "
Details:

"Repair Status: Your unit is being shipped back to your location. A tracking number will be issued when the unit has left our facility. Thank You!"
I expected a minimum of two weeks. Aren't they fabulous?!!
Back to Top
artuk View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 July 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 3351
Post Options Post Options   Quote artuk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 June 2017 at 20:26
Originally posted by retta retta wrote:

Truly unbelievable. I have to update my story because I am so impressed. My insurance company, Mack, paid to ship my camera back second day air, the same day it arrived it is being worked on (today)and I just received this email "
Details:

"Repair Status: Your unit is being shipped back to your location. A tracking number will be issued when the unit has left our facility. Thank You!"
I expected a minimum of two weeks. Aren't they fabulous?!!

Wait for your judgement until you get it back and have checked it's fully working! (but I hope all is well now)
Art
Back to Top
retta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 December 2016
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Post Options Post Options   Quote retta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 June 2017 at 23:27
Our artuk is cynical. Lol. I had hoped I did not speak too soon.

All is well. It's back and works perfectly.
Back to Top
coyote1086 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 November 2007
Country: Canada
Location: Vancouver
Status: Offline
Posts: 2130
Post Options Post Options   Quote coyote1086 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2017 at 00:18
glad it is working now.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.