FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

dead SAL2470Z - camera clicks & no aperture readou

Page  <123
Author
crlowryjr View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 August 2008
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 638
Post Options Post Options   Quote crlowryjr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 January 2016 at 17:06
John - you're not alone. I've had 2 CZ 2470s unexpectedly die in the last couple of years.

Here is a thread from a couple weeks ago where I'm asking for alternative places to repair as Sony quotes me $1,500. I contacted several other places as well, and all of them told me to repair the SSM motor would be prohibitively expensive and they would likely need to send it to Sony anyway : (

I've got two beautiful Sony Zeiss paperweights and it's not looking like I'll find a viable repair for them. Will be very interested if you have better luck.


---Rob
http://www.dyxum.com/dforum/alternative-places-to-repair-lenses_topic117335.html
---Rob Lowry
Sony a850, a7 and NiB a99 going up for sale. Min 17-35 G as well.
 



Back to Top
Keeper of the Garden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 24 January 2016
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Keeper of the Garden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 January 2016 at 09:54
@ crlowryjr

I'm sorry but the title of this thread does no longer reflect the real problem the OP and I are having with the combination of A900 and SSM lenses. We have established the fact that the fault lies within the body of the A900 camera, not with the lens(es). My SSM lenses work perfectly well on my A700, but are no longer "recognized" as being mounted on the camera by my A900. Most probably the cause is to be found in contact points 7 and/or 8 on the camera, as these carry the voltage needed for SSM operation. Any other (non-SSM) lens works fine on the A900.

Edited by Keeper of the Garden - 27 January 2016 at 09:57
Back to Top
Keeper of the Garden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 24 January 2016
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Keeper of the Garden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 January 2016 at 10:01
@ analytical

Thank you for the drawing and all the info. I will look again (for the umpteenth time) to see if something is looking "not quite right", but it looks to me now that the part that carries the contact points will need to be replaced. I suspect it is faulty. I will keep you updated if I have any more info or news, but I'm currently thinking of replacing the A900 instead of having it repaired. I don't know yet for sure.
Back to Top
analytical View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 January 2007
Country: United States
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Posts: 3035
Post Options Post Options   Quote analytical Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 January 2016 at 14:21
Originally posted by Keeper of the Garden Keeper of the Garden wrote:

Most probably the cause is to be found in contact points 7 and/or 8 on the camera, as these carry the voltage needed for SSM operation. Any other (non-SSM) lens works fine on the A900.
Seems like you could check that with a voltmeter.

You might scan Pete ganzel's Tinkering as well. For example it includes A900 technical gallery

Edited by analytical - 27 January 2016 at 14:24
12mi SW of Glen Rose,TX
photos
equipment
Back to Top
feinberj View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 28 November 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 75
Post Options Post Options   Quote feinberj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 January 2016 at 15:38
OP here: Unfortunately, for me, my SAL2470Z is likely not working. Or perhaps both my a900 and the lens. When I was at B&H, I brought the lens to the new camera counter and they tried it with a working a99. That camera did not even turn on with my lens attached.

I am thinking of packing up my a900 along with the SAL2470Z and the SAL70300G and sending it to either KEH or Precision Camera. I have seen quite a bit of negative commentary on Precision Camera - so much so that I am tempted to send my camera to KEH even though they probably don't have the same level of access to parts.
Back to Top
analytical View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 January 2007
Country: United States
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Posts: 3035
Post Options Post Options   Quote analytical Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 January 2016 at 19:04
Originally posted by feinberj feinberj wrote:

I have seen quite a bit of negative commentary on Precision Camera - so much so that I am tempted to send my camera to KEH even though they probably don't have the same level of access to parts.
Precision Pro Services are still in the original Enfield, CT. location. Negative comments might refer to the newer satellite location in El Paso that handles lower priced stuff.

I have had good luck with Precision Pro Service, but haven't needed any lately. My concern with KEH would be less with parts than with skill level for more complex equipment. But again my experience was not recent.

By the way there are two Precision cameras. I assume the one I linked above is the one intended. The other is a large (20,000 square feet) traditional type Camera Store in Austin. They also do some repairs. I have no experience with their repairs.            

http://www.precisioncamera.com/ and http://www.precision-camera.com/
12mi SW of Glen Rose,TX
photos
equipment
 



Back to Top
infrastellar View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 July 2006
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Slovakia
Status: Offline
Posts: 1534
Post Options Post Options   Quote infrastellar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 January 2016 at 07:22
Let me ask you, what is your focus ring doing. Something very similar happened to me /with LEA4 + A7II/. The lens didnt work, and was clicking as the camera was trying to focus. But no manual mode too. The focus ring didnt move the distance scale. The lens started to work properly the other day. Till now I dont know what has happened.
Infrastellar travel photo

Slovakia, Czech republic, Panama, Peru, Bolivia, Colombia, Venezuela, Philippines, Indonesia, England
Back to Top
Keeper of the Garden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 24 January 2016
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Keeper of the Garden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 January 2016 at 10:57
@ infrastellar

I can't speak for the OP. Apparently, I had misread part of his original post, and my problem seems to be definitely a malfunction in the A900, not the lenses. I have two SSM-lenses and a couple of non-SSM lenses, both new and old. The two SSM-lenses are no longer "accepted" by the A900, but work totally fine on my A700! The non-SSM lenses work perfectly OK on the A900...

I'm not an expert, far from, but if the problem would be with the focusing ring (of the body, I presume?), then how could it be that my non-SSM lenses work perfectly alright with the same body (A900)? Or am I missing something?

What seems to exclude a lens problem *in my case* (not the one of the OP, apparently) is that I have not 1 but 2 SSM-lenses, and my A900 stopped accepting them at the same moment, whilst working fine with three other non-SSM lenses. Both SSM-lenses work fine with my A700. How could faulty lenses work on one body and not on another one? And how could both SSM-lenses fail at the same time!?

Edited by Keeper of the Garden - 28 January 2016 at 11:02
Back to Top
infrastellar View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 July 2006
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Slovakia
Status: Offline
Posts: 1534
Post Options Post Options   Quote infrastellar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 January 2016 at 11:32
Hi, i didnt read it all the thread, as there are situations from this and that, I was replying to an original post, as I had something similar with the same lens, but different camera body.
Infrastellar travel photo

Slovakia, Czech republic, Panama, Peru, Bolivia, Colombia, Venezuela, Philippines, Indonesia, England
Back to Top
Keeper of the Garden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 24 January 2016
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Keeper of the Garden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2016 at 19:00
Important update on my issue!

As reported earlier, my A900 refused to work any longer with my two SSM lenses, but worked perfectly with any other lens. Having done some tests, checking the camera mount opening, and thinking over the issue, I had come to the conclusion that the problem was due to a faulty contact point on the body (number 7 or 8 or both)

This afternoon, however, my A900 with a Minolta 50mm 1.4 lens on it, started to have problems focusing and gave a "camera error" after taking a shot.   I just tried the camera with another lens... same problem: not able to focus and "camera error" on the display after having taken the shot (without focusing!).

This sounds very similar or identical to what Senior Member analytical has written here earlier on in this thread! Especially because I did what he did to identify the problem: switching the camera off and on again, and then first of all setting the aperture to maximum (in my case 1.4). Focusing and shooting after doing that, works fine! But whenever I set the camera on anything but Manual mode and allow it to determine the aperture, the problem re-occurs immediately: not able to focus automatically and showing "camera error" on the display after taking a shot.

EDIT: I meant the *aperture* ring instead of the focusing ring in my last paragraph! Sorry for the confusion.

Analytical has been able (I quote him) "to maneuver" the focusing on the camera mount opening back into its proper place: nicely fitting in the groove of the plastic rollers around the mount opening. How he did this, however, is not clear to me. Do I need a tool to do this? Can I break something if I force the ring back into its place? And even more importantly: I am not really able to see all the plastic rollers properly, so how can I then try to "maneuver" the focusing ring back into the grooves of the rollers?

Edited by Keeper of the Garden - 31 January 2016 at 08:50
Back to Top
analytical View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 January 2007
Country: United States
Location: Texas
Status: Offline
Posts: 3035
Post Options Post Options   Quote analytical Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 January 2016 at 23:45
Originally posted by Keeper of the Garden Keeper of the Garden wrote:

Analytical has been able (I quote him) "to maneuver" the focusing on the camera mount opening back into its proper place: nicely fitting in the groove of the plastic rollers around the mount opening. How he did this, however, is not clear to me. Do I need a tool to do this? Can I break something if I force the ring back into its place? And even more importantly: I am not really able to see all the plastic rollers properly, so how can I then try to "maneuver" the focusing ring back into the grooves of the rollers?

I was dealing with the aperture ring, not with focusing. And did not get the error while auto focusing at half press, but did when I tried to release the shutter, but shutter didn't go. Error instead.

I think I forgot to say before that after finding that shooting at max aperture did not cause an error, I check if DOF preview with aperture not at max would trigger the error. That also close the iris. Yes error with DOF preview. DOF preview is a way to test aperture ring movement and nothing else.

Instead of maneuver I originally typed "fiddle" then changed it. No better I imagine. But I was careful. I definitely didn't just "worry" it.

I have one of those articulated desk lights with a magnifying glass built in. I'm sure I used it part of the time. Definitely for inspection. And a bright flashlight.     

Looking at an angle across the opening in the body I could see one roller was behind the ring. Obvious once I realized but not at a glance. Looking straight in not obvious. But if the ring is in place then the front rim of the rollers should be in front of and overlapping the edge of the ring. The overlap is probably no more than 1 mm.      

The ring fit into the rollers is not tight. There is a little play to work with. By pushing the ring away from the problem roller, I was able to slip the ring past the rim of the roller and into the groove. In my case the tab of the aperture ring parks next to the problem roller so it was a convenient handle to push against. Perhaps the ring bowed a little to allow clearance to slip the roller past the rim, but I was keeping force low.

Did I get lucky and have the missing rim segment aligned so the ring was easier to slide past? I don't know. Nothing thing ever when crunch.

If a different roller you might be able to rotate the ring tab around to it. But ring travel is limited.      

I turned the ring after I put it back in the roller by pushing the tab around the circumference. That also turned the roller and made it easy to notice the missing piece from the rim of the roller. Resistance to turning the ring, because it's back driving the gear and motor that moves the ring. But I could feel that the motor was spinning the motor, not forcing any teeth to jump. When I turn the camera on moves the ring back to park at the max aperture position.

Camera error can occur from other causes.   I'm trying to remember if card writing errors, which occur after the shutter, display as camera error or card error.   
12mi SW of Glen Rose,TX
photos
equipment
Back to Top
Keeper of the Garden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 24 January 2016
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Keeper of the Garden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 January 2016 at 08:52
Thank you, analytical, for the more detailed description. I will try to fix the *aperture* ring later today and report back if successful. In the last paragraph of my previous message I was mistakenly talking about the focusing ring instead of the aperture ring!
Back to Top
feinberj View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 28 November 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 75
Post Options Post Options   Quote feinberj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 16:19
So, many months later, I have an update!! I have just gotten a call from Phototech and they have explained what's going on.

It turns out that, indeed, BOTH the SAL2470Z lens and the a900 are bad. The guilty party, however, is the SAL2470Z. The lens has a bad controller board. Maybe I should describe it as not simply bad but evil. When said lens is used for more than a few minutes it will fry the SSM controller board on the camera. Phototech said that they lost 3 controller boards on test bodies before they figured out the root of the problem.

They did have my camera for several months, but this was caused by the time it took for various parts ordered from Sony to arrive as well as the need to send my camera to CT (I assume to Precision) to test and calibrate the camera multiple times. They told me that they that when the first replaced the camera board, it worked OK with the lens but then failed after a half hour. So that means they were doing extended testing, which I really appreciate. It would have been quite disappointing if I'd brought the camera home and it had failed after a few weeks.

They said that my SAL70300G lens is fine. Before I'd brought the a900 in for repair, I had tried the SAL2470Z with my a700, and it didn't work. I also tried the SAL70300G lens with my a700, and it was wonky. So I guess that means the SSM controller in my a700 is also bad. Between that and it loosing the date every time I change batteries it will be worth fixing.

Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > A-mount lenses Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.