FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

E-mount electronic protocol reverse engineering

Page  <123
Author
sympa View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 August 2015
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Post Options Post Options   Quote sympa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2016 at 19:53
I mean the EF mount. What I mean is that if the camera does not offer you a specific feature, it is the adapter that is the problem, and thus the interface from adapter to camera.

Why: the adapter generates its list of features and tells it to the camera. It does not need to talk to the lens for that.

So the behaviour also points to most adapters being not fully capable in communicating to the camera.

It is something else if a feature is advertised but for example focusing fails. In that case the problem can also be on the Canon side of things.
 



Back to Top
Entropy512 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 22 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote Entropy512 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2016 at 01:23
I could have sworn when looking at one of the A-mount ROM decoding threads, someone was attaching files - but I don't see a way to attach a file in the "post reply" area... Am I missing something?

(I've got ZIPs with decoded dumps of SAL55300+LA-EA3+A6300 init and focus, same for EF50/1.8 STM+Metabones IV + A6300, along with SEL55210+A6300)
Back to Top
overeema View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 07 September 2008
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 241
Post Options Post Options   Quote overeema Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2016 at 07:22
You can put the zip file (s) somewhere in the cloud, e.g. Dropbox, and put the link (s) to the files in a post in this thread. I am not aware that Dyxum would support file attachments in forum postings
minolta owner since 1969; A350-SAL1680Z-SAL70300G-Tamron60F2-Minolta100F2-Minolta35105-Minolta28135-Minolta50F1.7; NEX6-SELP1650-SELP18105G (and some minolta MC/MD glass )
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 1833
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2016 at 14:11
Originally posted by Entropy512 Entropy512 wrote:

I could have sworn when looking at one of the A-mount ROM decoding threads, someone was attaching files - but I don't see a way to attach a file in the "post reply" area... Am I missing something?

(I've got ZIPs with decoded dumps of SAL55300+LA-EA3+A6300 init and focus, same for EF50/1.8 STM+Metabones IV + A6300, along with SEL55210+A6300)


Can you store them somewhere online and publish a link? I'd certainly be interested to see the files.
A58, 5d, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
Entropy512 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 22 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote Entropy512 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2016 at 23:17
Yeah, I'll look into it. Spoiled by having above-average status on XDA I guess (I can upload fairly large text files and attachments).

I'm always worried about broken links down the line, or filesharing companies getting bought out and starting to inject malware (yes I have had this happen! I used to religiously upload things to dev-host.com, but they were purchased and started injecting malware into some downloads!)
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 1833
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2016 at 23:33
Yes, it's almost worth getting your own server, isn't it?
A58, 5d, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 12807
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2016 at 02:27
Originally posted by Miranda F Miranda F wrote:

Yes, it's almost worth getting your own server, isn't it?

With prices dipping below four dollars a month for unlimited file space (supporting any file formats), email accounts, website construction tools, and various other goodies, I would omit the word almost for do-it-yourself types.
Back to Top
Entropy512 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 22 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote Entropy512 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2016 at 16:23
Originally posted by sybersitizen sybersitizen wrote:

Originally posted by Miranda F Miranda F wrote:

Yes, it's almost worth getting your own server, isn't it?

With prices dipping below four dollars a month for unlimited file space (supporting any file formats), email accounts, website construction tools, and various other goodies, I would omit the word almost for do-it-yourself types.

Yeah... I used to have a hosted machine with my own domain somewhere, but the hosting provider had a management change and rather than go through the hassle of migrating to another hosting provider, I just backed everything up and asked, "do I REALLY need this?" - at that point I didn't.

But it's the usual fear I have of broken links - I host a file somewhere, link to it from elsewhere, and then the host breaks and I've left a pile of broken links somewhere. But at least in the short term - I'll take the risk of some broken links, might put some stuff up later today. Also, not sure if people noticed (probably should've pointed it out) but I posted more detail on message framing and init sequences by editing those posts.
Back to Top
Leegong View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 30 September 2016
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote Leegong Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 September 2016 at 09:15
struc E_mount_FrameHeader
{    uint8 SyncHeader ; // constant 0xF0
     int16 SizeOfFrame ; // numbers of bytes of this frame
     uint8 FrameType ;   // enum {1,2,3}
     uint8 FrameSEQ ;   // valid for frame type01
}

Command/Response payload is followed immediately ,
the first byte of Command/Response structure is CMD/Response ID.

Hope this helpful for you .

Leegong

Edited by Leegong - 30 September 2016 at 09:25
Back to Top
Leegong View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 30 September 2016
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote Leegong Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 September 2016 at 09:22
Sorry , my fault , some typo in above post .
struc E_mount_FrameHeader
{    uint8 SyncHeader ; // constant 0xF0
     int16 SizeOfFrame ; // numbers of bytes of this frame
     uint8 FrameType ;   // enum {1,2,3}
     uint8 FrameSEQ ;   // valid for frame type 01
};
Command/Response payload is followed after Frame header immediately ,

Edited by Leegong - 30 September 2016 at 09:41
Back to Top
Entropy512 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 22 July 2015
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote Entropy512 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 March 2017 at 23:03
Originally posted by Leegong Leegong wrote:

Sorry , my fault , some typo in above post .
struc E_mount_FrameHeader
{    uint8 SyncHeader ; // constant 0xF0
     int16 SizeOfFrame ; // numbers of bytes of this frame
     uint8 FrameType ;   // enum {1,2,3}
     uint8 FrameSEQ ;   // valid for frame type 01
};
Command/Response payload is followed after Frame header immediately ,

Ooooh! Somehow I never caught on to SizeOfFrame - as nearly every packet type I was looking at had a unique length, AND in addition - Many frames have "garbage" data on the end. But after looking again - yeah that's a length field!

Now to figure out where the packet ID data is...
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Dyxum Community > Knowledge Base Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.