FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Fast HD

Author
twb119 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 03 June 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Online
Posts: 599
Post Options Post Options   Quote twb119 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fast HD
    Posted: 07 December 2017 at 05:08
The large photo files are really starting to slow things down, my CPU is fine its just importing and loading them. Four months ago installed a 1TB SSD for the C drive and its great starting up Lightroom and loading programs, but its slow as heck when loading a file from my photo HD its only 5400rpm and starting to run out of room. Looking for the fastest/best HD internal that's 6TB or a little larger (my current photo HD is 3 TB) I do off site back ups so don't need RAID unless it will speed things up.
So any ideas?????

Thanks Thomas   
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 8093
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 December 2017 at 10:08
I usually put the files I am working on, on my SSD. When I am done, I put them on my Nas.

You can improve speed with a RAID 0 configuration. I do not know if it is advisable to use it, as it will also increase the changes of anything going wrong (but I'm sure more knowledgeable people will want to comment on this).

The best solution for your problem is a SSD - that'll cost you. The second best thing probably is a drive with a big SSD cache.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 10639
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 December 2017 at 12:15
How much RAM do you have? And you say the 1TB SSD drive is already nearly full? SSD's become problematic when capacity exceeds 80%, I'd suggest to get a smaller SSD (128 GB) as a dedicated boot drive with just your OS and Lr on it.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1|MFC-1000w/1200AF Metz54MZ-4i SonyF60
Back to Top
Faldrax View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 July 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Hampshire
Status: Offline
Posts: 496
Post Options Post Options   Quote Faldrax Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 December 2017 at 13:11
The 'simple' option is to get a 6TB 7200 RPM HD.

However, while that will improve matters a little, and solve the storage space problem, you might want to consider getting a moderate sized SSD (240-500Gb) as well.

You could then use the SSD as a 'working' drive.

Import to SSD
First pass - keep files you want to work on on SSD, move others to main HD
Once a batch has been edited, move to main HD.

This would mean LR would only need to access the HD when doing a bulk move (which would be a set going them leave operation), or when going back to find an older image.

Day to day work would be mainly on the SSD, which would hopefully make things quicker for you.

2 x A900 + VG
CZ 16-35 f/2.8, Sig 24-70 f/2.8 HSM, Tamron 70-200 f/2.8 Di USD, 70-300G, Tamron 150-600,
50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.4 G RS, 100 f/2.8 macro
F56AM, 3600HSD, Youngno 560-II, 055CXPro3+410 geared
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 2406
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 December 2017 at 13:57
Don't make the mistake of using an external HD, at least not a westinghouse one they have their own hardware encryption and when either that or the HD fails you can't easily get the data off it.
A900, A58, 5d, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.