FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

forumsstore

Page  123>
Author
dxqcanada View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 16 March 2008
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote dxqcanada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: forumsstore
    Posted: 20 July 2011 at 02:08
Has anyone ever heard of this outfit ?

I was googling for the a700 and these guys are selling the body for $497.00 ... and they claim there are 80+ units in stock ?

This sounds very fishy to me.

http://www.forumsstore.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=131_146&products_id=8958
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 7492
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 July 2011 at 02:16
Search them up at resellerratings.com, but if you think it's fishy why even consider it?
Rob Suits Jr.
KM7D | a700 | a77
Tam17/50 Tam90 SAL70200 or SAL70400 & a77 w/me every day :-)
Please post images at 1024px horiz. or 960px vert. (personal preference;)
Back to Top
Serdar A View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 29 January 2009
Country: United States
Location: Gainesville, FL
Status: Offline
Posts: 4836
Post Options Post Options   Quote Serdar A Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 July 2011 at 02:16
No mention of the company, negative or positive, on BBB.org. Probably it is safer to stay away.
Back to Top
dxqcanada View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 16 March 2008
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote dxqcanada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 July 2011 at 02:28
I thought of bringing it up ... just in case they are known.

I figured that if this was a legit seller, you guys would have already bought up their stock.
Back to Top
ponz View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 November 2007
Country: United States
Location: Kansas City
Status: Offline
Posts: 783
Post Options Post Options   Quote ponz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 02:10
Hotmail email accounts?????
Back to Top
al View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 10 August 2008
Country: United States
Location: SF Bay Area
Status: Offline
Posts: 1004
Post Options Post Options   Quote al Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 03:09
Originally posted by ponz ponz wrote:

Hotmail email accounts?????
Back to Top
rsjaffe View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 February 2010
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 188
Post Options Post Options   Quote rsjaffe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 03:13
Let's see how many red flags we can find:

Verisign seal but clicking on it doesn't bring up verification page.

PayPal verified but link goes nowhere.

Verified by Visa does link to Visa. But the Visa site lists all participating merchants and this is not one.

Fake McAfee Secure logo (no date on it, doesn't link properly).

DHL logo but store states that it only ships within the 50 US States (DHL no longer ships from US).

Guess I'll stop there.



—Rory

α850, Sigma 12-24, CZ 24-70, 70-400G, CZ 135, Tamron 90 macro, Minolta 300 f/2.6 HS, Minolta 600 f/4 HS
http://www.flickr.com/p
Back to Top
rsjaffe View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 February 2010
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 188
Post Options Post Options   Quote rsjaffe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 03:27
And the contact mail address is a 2000 sq ft home, that is valued at $135,000 (http://www.city-data.com/harris-county/C/Cypresswood-Ridge-2.html#prop_350649).

Searching on the property owner's name brings up this thread: https://www.paypal-community.com/t5/Fraud-phishing-and-spoof/Goodwebu-com-Legit-or-Scam-Help-Please/td-p/191330

And domain name registered 7 days ago (for a company in business for "many years"). Address is Fremont, Alabama with a zip code that also doesn't exist, but if it did would be somewhere near Nebraska. http://www.whois.net/whois/forumsstore.com.

This is fun.

Edited by rsjaffe - 21 July 2011 at 03:42
—Rory

α850, Sigma 12-24, CZ 24-70, 70-400G, CZ 135, Tamron 90 macro, Minolta 300 f/2.6 HS, Minolta 600 f/4 HS
http://www.flickr.com/p
Back to Top
4GibMe View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 August 2009
Location: B.C. Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 474
Post Options Post Options   Quote 4GibMe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 03:29
If your looking for a use A700 in Canada, check this out.

http://vancouver.en.craigslist.ca/nvn/pho/2503356855.html
Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 1112
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 13:26
Some great work Rory; you should work for the News of the Wor... oh wait
simontregidgo.com

A900s+VG, 16 fisheye, 16-35CZ, Min35f1.4, 85CZ, CZ135f1.8, Sony70-200G, Sony500f8, Min300f2.8HS, Min 1.4xII, Min 2xI
Back to Top
pdeley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 June 2008
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1046
Post Options Post Options   Quote pdeley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 14:38
Originally posted by rsjaffe rsjaffe wrote:


DHL logo but store states that it only ships within the 50 US States (DHL no longer ships from US).


Excellent fact checking from everyone but just a small correction on one detail that doesn't alter the very clear verdict. DHL does still ship from the US, in fact their drop-off/drop boxes only work for international shipping
a450, a500, a700, 600si, 700si & other 35 mm bodies, 11-18, Sig 20 f1.8, 30 f2.8 macro, 24-85, Quanty 50 f2.8 macro, mf Viv 90 f2.8 macro, 70-300G, 300 f4, 500 f8, 600 f4
Back to Top
sturatcliffe View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Stockport
Status: Offline
Posts: 490
Post Options Post Options   Quote sturatcliffe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 16:29
Originally posted by Tricky01 Tricky01 wrote:

Some great work Rory; you should work for the News of the Wor... oh wait


A900|A77|Zeiss 24-70 SSM|Sigma 85 1.4 HSM|Sony 70-200G SSM|Sony 16-50 SSM|HVL-F58
Back to Top
BertH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 03 October 2009
Country: Netherlands
Location: -2.9m NAP
Status: Offline
Posts: 749
Post Options Post Options   Quote BertH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 16:57
stinks ...
Pentax K-5
Back to Top
campy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 March 2006
Country: United States
Location: Boston area
Status: Offline
Posts: 517
Post Options Post Options   Quote campy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 July 2011 at 21:41
Someone should send this guy a link to this thread and see what happens.
A700/ sony 16-50/ zeiss 16-80/ zeiss 135/ minolta 100mm macro/ minolta 80-200 apo 1st version/ sal 70-300ssm/ sigma 24/ f-42am/f-58am
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Sell / Buy equipment > External Sales & Discussion Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.344 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the Minolta / Alpha-mount dSLR photographer.

Feel free to contact us if needed. You can support future development by making a donation.

Links monetized by VigLink