FAQ |   |   |  Register |  Login |

Have you had dealings with OLDCODGER or Jabba1966?

Page  <1 101112
Author
joerun View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 July 2007
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 119
Post Options Post Options   Quote joerun Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Have you had dealings with OLDCODGER or Jabba1966?
    Posted: 03 September 2009 at 15:35
he has sent the receipt of purchase with the photos. I 'll made the report to the police.
unfortunately it is everything lost.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: buccia46@virgilio.it
To: oldcodger2009@hotmail.co.uk
Subject: Re: RE:
Date: Wed, 26 Aug 2009 10:18:33 +0200
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 March 2006
Location: London, UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5737
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 15:22
As you have a 'name' and an address (the one given exists, I've checked) and the 'ha ha ha' note then it would seem that your recourse is via PayPal or the police.

The Admin /Mod team are still trying to get any more information but we may not come up with anything more than you have.

The problem is that if someone registers here with a valid e-mail and IP address and then breaks the rules we can only block the given e-mail and IP addresses.

Nothing stops a scammer registering with another name from another computer.
Inside me, there's a thin bloke shouting to get out. I keep him quiet with beer and pies!
My son's website http://www.stephenbrooksphotography.co.uk
Back to Top
joerun View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 July 2007
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 119
Post Options Post Options   Quote joerun Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 15:16
the guy and an usual cheat here is the other address
old codger <oldcodger2009@hotmail.co.uk>
Back to Top
5thElefant View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 September 2008
Location: UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1057
Post Options Post Options   Quote 5thElefant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 15:15
Originally posted by nigelbrooks

Well Jabba1966 has previously been banned from Dyxum and his registering IP address blocked.

However, until Giuseppe posted the e-mail address there was no connection as Jabba1966 and oldcodger have totally different IP addresses and the email address Giuseppe gives is not that under which oldgodger registered.

Presumably jabba.1966@ntlworld.com is his paypal address.
Simon α900 & Pen E-P1
Minolta 28-135 35-200xi 135f2.8|Sony 50mm f1.4|Tokina AT-X 235 Pro AT-X 270 Pro AT-X 840 AF-II|Tamron 70-200f2.8
Back to Top
nigelbrooks View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 March 2006
Location: London, UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5737
Post Options Post Options   Quote nigelbrooks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 15:07
Well Jabba1966 has previously been banned from Dyxum and his registering IP address blocked.

However, until Giuseppe posted the e-mail address there was no connection as Jabba1966 and oldcodger have totally different IP addresses and the email address Giuseppe gives is not that under which oldgodger registered.
Inside me, there's a thin bloke shouting to get out. I keep him quiet with beer and pies!
My son's website http://www.stephenbrooksphotography.co.uk
Back to Top
5thElefant View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 September 2008
Location: UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1057
Post Options Post Options   Quote 5thElefant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 14:27
It's worth having a look at this:

http://www.dyxum.com/dforum/wtbtamron-200500pending_topic42238_page1.html?KW=epsom

The guy behind this fraud had an Epsom address. Worth doing an IP check.

Edit: It's the same guy. Have a look at the user name for his last Dyxum user name and his current email address.

Contact vsldk he has lots of information on the scammer.

Edited by 5thElefant - 03 September 2009 at 14:30
Simon α900 & Pen E-P1
Minolta 28-135 35-200xi 135f2.8|Sony 50mm f1.4|Tokina AT-X 235 Pro AT-X 270 Pro AT-X 840 AF-II|Tamron 70-200f2.8
Back to Top
5thElefant View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 September 2008
Location: UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1057
Post Options Post Options   Quote 5thElefant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 14:24
Here's another:

http://s11.zetaboards.com/Alphamount_Singapore/topic/7043342/1/

Looks like he's been at it for a while.
Simon α900 & Pen E-P1
Minolta 28-135 35-200xi 135f2.8|Sony 50mm f1.4|Tokina AT-X 235 Pro AT-X 270 Pro AT-X 840 AF-II|Tamron 70-200f2.8
Back to Top
tkteo View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 08 April 2009
Location: Singapore
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 64
Post Options Post Options   Quote tkteo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 14:18
Apparently this "oldcodger" also scammed a user on the clubsnap forum:

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=565374
Back to Top
joerun View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 July 2007
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 119
Post Options Post Options   Quote joerun Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 14:17
John Humphries <jabba.1966@ntlworld.com>
15 LONGFORD COURT
KT19 PX EPSOM
UK
Back to Top
brettania View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Dyxum factotum

Joined: 17 July 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 14503
Post Options Post Options   Quote brettania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 14:15
Originally posted by 5thElefant

Joe, what's his email address?


The admin group are trying to establish contact.
Back to Top
5thElefant View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 September 2008
Location: UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1057
Post Options Post Options   Quote 5thElefant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 14:13
Joe, what's his email address?
Simon α900 & Pen E-P1
Minolta 28-135 35-200xi 135f2.8|Sony 50mm f1.4|Tokina AT-X 235 Pro AT-X 270 Pro AT-X 840 AF-II|Tamron 70-200f2.8
Back to Top
joerun View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 July 2007
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 119
Post Options Post Options   Quote joerun Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 14:11
don't Know What to Say it was a ox SONY a300 empty The Writing the inside hers your new sony a700 ha ha ha ha ha ha
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12007
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 September 2009 at 13:42
If you have had any dealings with the member oldcodger or any user with an email addreess similar to Jabba1966, please get in contact with the mod/admin team via the report button on this post and give details please.

Bob J

Edited by Bob J - 04 September 2009 at 15:49
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > About dyxum.com > Open talk forum Page  <1 101112

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the Minolta / Alpha-mount dSLR photographer.

Feel free to contact us if needed. You can support future development by making a donation.