FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

M42->MAF Adapter With Focus Confirmation

Page  123 19>
Author
kiklop View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum owner

Joined: 14 July 2005
Country: Croatia
Location: Rovinj
Status: Offline
Posts: 10550
Post Options Post Options   Quote kiklop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: M42->MAF Adapter With Focus Confirmation
    Posted: 08 April 2008 at 14:01
Since this adapter is quite popular and interesting accessory i have decided to help James here with a bit of free advertising (a small banner is added to our free beaner rotator on the left).
Hopefully, this thread will also serve for any Q&A if needed.

I hope dyxum members won't mind having these banners in our forum but i feel obligated to "abuse" dyxum traffic and help a bit those who are working to make our system even better.


M42->MAF Adapter With Focus Confirmation

This M42-MAF electronic adapter has an electronic component that communicates with Minolta AF/Alpha SLR bodies in the same way as compatible lenses. When the camera is powered on, it reports data from the adapter to the body. Using the adapter, focus confirmation will be shown in the viewfinder and Anti-Shake/SSS will be effective (providing correct focal length information has been selected).

**       Preset Lens data (Only valid for Multiple Data Adapters)
1.        Switch off camera, mount the adapter and MF Lens
2.        Switch on camera – by multiple half-press and releases of the shutter button within 10 seconds you can select one of 4 focal length/aperture combinations (in order, 50/1.4, 85/1.4, 135/2.8 & 200/3.5).
3.        If you want to reset to the adapter at any time you should turn off the camera and repeat step 2

**       Operation
1.        Mount the adapter to camera body, set AF/MF switch to MF. Turn on camera.
2.        by multiple half-press and releases of the shutter button within 10 seconds you can select one of 4 focal length/aperture combinations (in order, 50/1.4, 85/1.4, 135/2.8 & 200/3.5).
3.        There are two ways to set aperture, you can set aperture value same as real Len’s aperture, then you can record right aperture value in Exif . the process steps are:
a)       Fully open the MF Lens aperture.
b)       Set the aperture value to the one you want.
c)        Half press shuttle button and adjust focus, the focus confirmation LED will light when in focus.
d)       Press AEL lock for a measured value.
e)       Set MF Lens aperture same as you set in step b).
f)        Take picture.
4.        The other way is very simple. Just set body’s aperture in minimum value. In this way, they will not record correct aperture in Exif. The steps are:
a)       Set body’s aperture to minimum value (wide open)
b)       Open the MF Lens aperture to ease focusing.
c)        Half press shuttle button and adjust focus, the focus confirmation LED will light when in focus.
d)       Set MF Lens aperture the desired value.
e)       Take picture.

**       Note:
1.        For maximum effect with AS/SSS, you should choose the same lens focal length as the MF lens being used; for instance, if you use a Takumar 50/1.4, set the Adaptor to AF50/1.4. When you use a 135/2.8 MF lens, set to AF135/2.8. If you are using a lens where the focal length is not one of the four available the effectiveness of AS/SSS may be less than optimal.
2.       Please note that rough treatment and handling of the M42-MAF adapter may effect alignment of electrical contacts.


adapter home page

The above link has been reported as not working - please try this one instead..

An older thread about this adapter can be found here

Edited by Bob J - 30 August 2010 at 20:47
 



Back to Top
Arkku View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 February 2007
Country: Finland
Location: Helsinki
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Post Options Post Options   Quote Arkku Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 14:25
As an additional tip, I find it's easier to get into the focal length selection mode if you first unmount the adapter from the camera while the power is still on (no need to take it off, just turn it far enough to disengage the electric contacts), then power off, wait a couple of seconds, remount adapter, power back on. Then start half-pressing the shutter (and keep turning the aperture control toward wide open, so you can see when it changes, as that is the best signal of which focal length is selected).

Also note that EyeStart AF can trigger the half-press, so when you have the correct setting selected, wait for a few seconds to be sure the selection mode is no longer active. (Otherwise EyeStart AF is good, for use with the focus confirmation.)

Personally I highly recommend the James Lao electric adapter, the latest generation is superb mechanically as well as electronically (I also have an earlier one which was not as good mechanically, but the new ones are at least as good as any others I've had).

Edited by Arkku - 08 April 2008 at 14:26
Back to Top
Gabriel View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Honorary member

Joined: 05 December 2006
Location: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 1931
Post Options Post Options   Quote Gabriel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 14:46
Trick -
how to get "focus trap" with your m42 lenses and James' adapter:

*Set your fire priority to focus priority instead of shutter priority within your camera config
*Set the camera to AF (yes, unfortunately the AF pin will make some grinding noise)
*Press shutter button, and keep it pressed
*Focus
*The shutter will only fire when the focus is correct
Pic a day 2008 /2009/2010 galleries
Back to Top
KonicaA3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 May 2006
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1305
Post Options Post Options   Quote KonicaA3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 15:00
Thanks Mladen,
I am a James Lao fan as well and this is a great way to learn how to use these devices.
Sony A77ii | Sigma APO 75-300 F4-5.6 | Minolta 70-210 F4 | Tamron 18-250 F3.5-6.3 Di |Minolta 35-70 F4 | Minolta 100-200 F4.5 | Sigma 18-125 F3.5-5.6

http://www.flickr.com/people/imagesbykeith/
Back to Top
revdocjim View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 11 September 2006
Country: Japan
Location: Mt. Akagi
Status: Offline
Posts: 8589
Post Options Post Options   Quote revdocjim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 15:18
I admit that I still struggle in selecting the right data set sometimes. If the aperture isn't set to wide open on the camera you have no way of immediately knowing which data set you are on as you scroll through them with half pushes of the shutter release button. But my experience is that if I rotate the front wheel to set the camera to max aperture it closes the time window for data selection and locks into which ever one you're on. So then I have to unmount, power down, power up again... Sometimes it takes me multiple tries before I get it. It doesn't help that my adapter is set for the 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 55/1.8 and 135/3.5 That means the first and last data sets have the same max aperture so it's really hard to know which one I'm on. I end up having to take a picture and check the exif to know for sure.
Gallery A7S, Batis 18/2.8, 25/2 Sony 35/2.8, 55/1.8, 90/2.8M, Minolta 135STF, 200/2.8 Blog
Back to Top
Gabriel View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Honorary member

Joined: 05 December 2006
Location: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 1931
Post Options Post Options   Quote Gabriel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 15:30
Originally posted by revdocjim revdocjim wrote:

I admit that I still struggle in selecting the right data set sometimes. If the aperture isn't set to wide open on the camera you have no way of immediately knowing which data set you are on as you scroll through them with half pushes of the shutter release button. But my experience is that if I rotate the front wheel to set the camera to max aperture it closes the time window for data selection and locks into which ever one you're on. So then I have to unmount, power down, power up again...

I share the same experience. However, even if I have to (partially) unmount the lens, I don't power down/up the camera. The process works fine with the camera kept powered on.
Pic a day 2008 /2009/2010 galleries
 



Back to Top
gustavjensen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 April 2006
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 242
Post Options Post Options   Quote gustavjensen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 15:44
I am not sure I understand this post.
Is this an online manual for a product that can be bought ?
If yes, where can I buy it ?

___________________________
www.gustavjensen.com
Back to Top
kiklop View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum owner

Joined: 14 July 2005
Country: Croatia
Location: Rovinj
Status: Offline
Posts: 10550
Post Options Post Options   Quote kiklop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 15:49
Originally posted by gustavjensen gustavjensen wrote:

I am not sure I understand this post.
Is this an online manual for a product that can be bought ?
If yes, where can I buy it ?

My fault .. sorry; hopefully we will build here a nice summary about the whole thing.
Until then i added a link to an older thread about this topic.
Back to Top
JamesLaoT View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 22 November 2006
Country: China
Location: Beijing
Status: Offline
Posts: 51
Post Options Post Options   Quote JamesLaoT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 18:22
Thanks kiklop's kindy help.
Thanks for friends' advices about the adapter since years ago.
Now the adapter with focus confirmating looks useful and powerful, there are a lot of your supports in it. Look the posts above, you give lots of skills usefully beyond my knowledge.
I'd like reply what i known about the adapter also.

Thanks again.

Edited by JamesLaoT - 08 April 2008 at 19:06
http://eadpt.com

M42 adapter with Focus Confirmation
Back to Top
JamesLaoT View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 22 November 2006
Country: China
Location: Beijing
Status: Offline
Posts: 51
Post Options Post Options   Quote JamesLaoT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 18:46
Originally posted by revdocjim revdocjim wrote:

I admit that I still struggle in selecting the right data set sometimes. If the aperture isn't set to wide open on the camera you have no way of immediately knowing which data set you are on as you scroll through them with half pushes of the shutter release button. But my experience is that if I rotate the front wheel to set the camera to max aperture it closes the time window for data selection and locks into which ever one you're on. So then I have to unmount, power down, power up again... Sometimes it takes me multiple tries before I get it. It doesn't help that my adapter is set for the 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 55/1.8 and 135/3.5 That means the first and last data sets have the same max aperture so it's really hard to know which one I'm on. I end up having to take a picture and check the exif to know for sure.

Sorry for your struggle.
There is a suggestion that you can remember the order of the data sets,for your adapter , this is 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 55/1.8 and 135/3.5 . When the first time the adapter was mounted. They must begin with 28/3.5 .So if half press->release the shutter button once, the data move to the next one in the fixed order.
If you want use the 35/3.5, you should wait above 10 seconds after the adapter mounted.
If you want use the 135/3.5, you should half press->release the shutter button three times and wait seconds after the adapter mounted.
When you familiar with this,should not set and check the max aperture.
http://eadpt.com

M42 adapter with Focus Confirmation
Back to Top
Shaocaholica View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 July 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1881
Post Options Post Options   Quote Shaocaholica Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 19:54
Perhaps we should merge James' old sales thread and this thread. Also, it might be a good idea if James kept all of his Dyxum sales posted in the first post just so the members here who order can keep track of their order without constantly emailing/PM'ing James. Kind of like this
--------------------------------------------
Single ID Chip: $XX
Single ID Chipped M42 Adapter: $XX

Multi ID Chip: $XX
Multi ID Chipped M42 Adapter: $XX

memberXXX - [60/1.1]+[50/1.4,85/2,135/2.8,200/4] shipped
memberXXX - [50/1.4,85/2,135/2.8,200/4] shipped
memberXXX - [60/1.1] shipped
memberXXX - [60/1.4] pending
memberXXX - [35/2] pending
Back to Top
Arkku View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 February 2007
Country: Finland
Location: Helsinki
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Post Options Post Options   Quote Arkku Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 21:29
Originally posted by revdocjim revdocjim wrote:

But my experience is that if I rotate the front wheel to set the camera to max aperture it closes the time window for data selection and locks into which ever one you're on.


Doesn't do that for me, if I keep half-pressing enough times it will still work (as long as the whole thing happens in the 10 seconds or so). My usual power-up routine is half-pressing and rotating the wheel at the same time very fast until I see the aperture changing in the viewfinder. Then I slow down until I reach the correct value.

Originally posted by revdocjim revdocjim wrote:

It doesn't help that my adapter is set for the 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 55/1.8 and 135/3.5 That means the first and last data sets have the same max aperture so it's really hard to know which one I'm on.


Yes, I recommend everyone order an adapter with a different aperture for each focal length, even if it doesn't exactly match your lens. Or at the very least arrange the order of settings so that no two consecutive ones (which include first and last) have the same aperture.
Back to Top
revdocjim View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 11 September 2006
Country: Japan
Location: Mt. Akagi
Status: Offline
Posts: 8589
Post Options Post Options   Quote revdocjim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 April 2008 at 05:58
Originally posted by Arkku Arkku wrote:

Yes, I recommend everyone order an adapter with a different aperture for each focal length, even if it doesn't exactly match your lens. Or at the very least arrange the order of settings so that no two consecutive ones (which include first and last) have the same aperture.


I wasn't given the option of changing the order of data sets, and I wouldn't think it wise to intentionally select a max aperture that doesn't match the lens.

Since I really only use 3 of my M42 lenses, I've wondered if it wouldn't be easier to simply get a single lens adapter for each of them, with the appropriate data for each.
Gallery A7S, Batis 18/2.8, 25/2 Sony 35/2.8, 55/1.8, 90/2.8M, Minolta 135STF, 200/2.8 Blog
Back to Top
Arkku View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 February 2007
Country: Finland
Location: Helsinki
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Post Options Post Options   Quote Arkku Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 April 2008 at 11:14
Originally posted by revdocjim revdocjim wrote:

I wouldn't think it wise to intentionally select a max aperture that doesn't match the lens.


Why not? For the metering you'll probably be using M mode anyhow, or at least need to apply exposure compensation. The only problem might be having much too wide a maximum aperture so the focus confirm would become too sensitive (although doesn't seem problematic on the A100 using an f/4 with a reported f/2.8 or an f/2.8 with a reported f/1.1).
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > Other mount lenses Page  123 19>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.