FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Minolta 58/1.2 AF Conversion with ROM Chip - Build

Page  <123>
Author
Shaocaholica View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 July 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1881
Post Options Post Options   Quote Shaocaholica Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 April 2008 at 20:15
Originally posted by matthiaspaul matthiaspaul wrote:


However, this does not explain the 1.1 display on "Shaocaholica"s Dynax 7, which was set to 1/2 EV according to the photos above (unless he changed the setting between the shots)...

I don't know where you are seeing 1/2EV on my 7. I have all my cameras set to 1/3EV and I just double checked my 7 this morning and it was set to 1/3EV. I set it to 1/2EV and it displayed f/1.2 correctly.
 



Back to Top
matthiaspaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 940
Post Options Post Options   Quote matthiaspaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 April 2008 at 20:43
Originally posted by Shaocaholica Shaocaholica wrote:

Originally posted by matthiaspaul matthiaspaul wrote:


However, this does not explain the 1.1 display on "Shaocaholica"s Dynax 7, which was set to 1/2 EV according to the photos above (unless he changed the setting between the shots)...

I don't know where you are seeing 1/2EV on my 7. I have all my cameras set to 1/3EV and I just double checked my 7 this morning and it was set to 1/3EV. I set it to 1/2EV and it displayed f/1.2 correctly.

Sorry, I must have been confused... I just cross-checked the colors of the exposure compensation dial on my Dynax 7 and I remembered them the other way around. Sorry for the confusion.

Greetings,

Matthias
--

Minolta-Forum (MiFo) - German forum for the Minolta, Konica, Konica Minolta and Sony world of photography: http://www.mi-fo.de
Back to Top
polossatik View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 August 2006
Country: Belgium
Location: Brussels
Status: Offline
Posts: 1013
Post Options Post Options   Quote polossatik Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 April 2008 at 18:38
you made it on http://www.hackaday.com !

linky

sorry for the bandwidth Mladen, just could not resist to send that over;)
7D / A580 and assorted lenses from 8mm fish to 1000mm / Minolta 7s Rangefinder /

HP Photosmart Pro B9180 In Da House!!
Back to Top
Shaocaholica View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 July 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1881
Post Options Post Options   Quote Shaocaholica Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 April 2008 at 18:52
Originally posted by polossatik polossatik wrote:

you made it on http://www.hackaday.com !

linky

sorry for the bandwidth Mladen, just could not resist to send that over;)

Cool, thanks! I also made engadget yesterday which probably generated more traffic :P
Back to Top
superx2won View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 January 2008
Country: Malaysia
Location: Malaysia
Status: Offline
Posts: 1067
Post Options Post Options   Quote superx2won Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2008 at 07:53
shaocaholica, i checked the ebay today.. the bidding has gone crazy... with 2 day in remain for bidding, the bidding price has gone up to USD800+ ....I bet this price will go up till 1k USD.

With this price , i believe we can change job and become a full time MD len modifier .. haha..
A900 + A65 + KM 7D + Maxxum 9 + S16-105
Learn repairing Minolta lens --> Join my Photography-lab.com blog for step by step guide
Back to Top
dogears View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 September 2006
Location: Philippines
Status: Offline
Posts: 9275
Post Options Post Options   Quote dogears Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 12:46
@shao, my brother forwarded me the engadget link
 



Back to Top
Shaocaholica View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 July 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1881
Post Options Post Options   Quote Shaocaholica Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2008 at 17:42
Originally posted by dogears dogears wrote:

@shao, my brother forwarded me the engadget link

Here you go
Back to Top
Cliff View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 November 2006
Country: United States
Location: Richmond Va
Status: Offline
Posts: 589
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cliff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 April 2008 at 16:58
Hi Guys, neat stuff. Where can I get chips and contact boards?
ContaxRF, Min7000i, Sony A100, A65, Nex5T, A7ii, A6500. 2 many lenses, mostly ordinary Minolta & 3rd party A, MC/D, other mf, vintage Vivitars & cats, LA-EA2,3,4 E16-50&55-210mm
Back to Top
ABramley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 November 2006
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1685
Post Options Post Options   Quote ABramley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2008 at 13:48
Hi Shocaholica and Arkku.

I'm interested in following you lot into the realms of a chipped 58 1.2. I love mine in unchipped form, but chipped would be even better...

The chip's arrived from China, but I'm at a bit of a dilemma as to how to attach it. There just doesn't seem to be that much to put it on - I've seen your photos and it just seems to be floating! Although Shercando did cut out a chunk of the mount to fit it in. Here's some shots of mine:

Here's a mount - from a Dynax 7. Am I correct in saying that it's the 5 pins to the right that need contact, not to the left?



Here's a couple of where the rear of my 58 lines up with the mount - this is using Peter Ganzel's adaptor:





(Yes, needs a clean!)

And here's the front then rear of the chip:





Seeing as mine's from China, I thought I'd put it on top of my Chinese revision - bonus points to anyone who gets the subtle message :p

So what did you guys use to attach the chip? A bit of glue?

Thanks for all help!


Edited by ABramley - 14 April 2008 at 13:50
Back to Top
Arkku View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 February 2007
Country: Finland
Location: Helsinki
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Post Options Post Options   Quote Arkku Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2008 at 14:57
Originally posted by ABramley ABramley wrote:

The chip's arrived from China, but I'm at a bit of a dilemma as to how to attach it. There just doesn't seem to be that much to put it on - I've seen your photos and it just seems to be floating!


Mine's attached with a bit of superglue under both ends of the long strip and some blu-tack padding under the chip itself (not really necessary, but I used that to hold it while finding the correct position).

I don't know about the Ganzel adapter if that's what you're using as I'm using an M42 to Minolta AF adapter for the mount (you could've bought that from James Lao with the chip already attached, by-the-way, which is probably the easiest and best solution to get the electrified conversion done). On many (but not all) M42 adapters there's a ridge suitably placed for the contact pads to rest upon, and you just need to make a little hole on the side for the wider part with the chip.



(I know the mount I have on there looks a bit mauled, but it's been through several insane DIY projects before this as its final resting place. And it works great. =)
Back to Top
ABramley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 November 2006
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1685
Post Options Post Options   Quote ABramley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 April 2008 at 23:19
Hi Arkku, thanks for that description - it's helpful.

Can I be really cheeky and ask if you could supply a closeup picture of the chip and its mounting?

What I'm thinking of doing is cutting the notch in the flange like you've done, and driving pins through the metal to form a shelf to rest the chip on - giving support.

Cheers!
Back to Top
Shaocaholica View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 July 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 1881
Post Options Post Options   Quote Shaocaholica Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2008 at 09:03
ABramley, did you happen to see my full build gallery I linked in the first post of this thread?

Here it is again. Hopefully, that should answer all your questions about how I did mine. Since you have Pete's mount, the process should be exactly the same if you want to go my route.
Back to Top
ABramley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 November 2006
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1685
Post Options Post Options   Quote ABramley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 April 2008 at 13:31
Shaocahoolica - that's absolutely perfect. I'm sure I'll be able to follow that - I'll get back to you with the results!

Cheers :)
Back to Top
trygve View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 07 September 2007
Status: Offline
Posts: 515
Post Options Post Options   Quote trygve Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 September 2008 at 11:56
Hello all.
I just recieved a copy of this lens in MD mount. IS there someone out there willing to convert it for me?? For a fee orcourse. I'd love to get a chipped version for it, so I can have focus confirmation and SSS...
Please PM me if you can help me in any way..
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > Other mount lenses Page  <123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.061 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.