FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A99 and A900 in MF after startup

Author
ggerbenn View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 March 2009
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 307
Post Options Post Options   Quote ggerbenn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A99 and A900 in MF after startup
    Posted: 07 September 2017 at 20:32
My A900 is standard in Manual Focus when I startup my camera.
And now my A99 is also in Manual Focus when I startup my camera.
I can't find the setting to startup in Auto Focus.
Anyone?

Btw: used setting are:
- AF/MF-Button: AF/MF control
- AF/MF-Control: Toggle
You don't take a photograph, you make it.
 



Back to Top
Winwalloe View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 September 2007
Country: France
Location: Paris
Status: Offline
Posts: 2517
Post Options Post Options   Quote Winwalloe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2017 at 20:45
Does the lens have an MF/AF switch?
If it is only slightly out of the auto-focus position, the camera can be on manual focus.

Also on the a99 press "Fn" and look at the focus setting. It can be on MF there also.
See my webpage!
A-mount stuff, and few 43 stuff.
Back to Top
ggerbenn View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 March 2009
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 307
Post Options Post Options   Quote ggerbenn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2017 at 21:00
No, the lens doesn't have a MF/AF switch (this one actually doen't have it), and still it is on MF.
When using a lens with AF/AM switch and it is'nt "hard" on AF, you can't switch over to AF with the AF/MF button, it stays in MF.

When I power on the camera, I have push the button AF/MF to go to AF.

You don't take a photograph, you make it.
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Online
Posts: 13218
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2017 at 21:01
The setting for the A99 is done in the Fn button menu or by using the silent controller button and wheel located under the lens release button on the front.

The A900 has a dedicated knob on the front for selecting focus modes.

Edited by sybersitizen - 07 September 2017 at 21:09
Back to Top
ggerbenn View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 March 2009
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 307
Post Options Post Options   Quote ggerbenn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2017 at 21:05
Yes, the Fn function is the solution!
Thanx Winwalloe!!!
But now the A900...
You don't take a photograph, you make it.
Back to Top
ggerbenn View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 March 2009
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 307
Post Options Post Options   Quote ggerbenn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2017 at 21:06
Thanx sybersitizen! Found it!
You don't take a photograph, you make it.
 



Back to Top
Winwalloe View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 17 September 2007
Country: France
Location: Paris
Status: Offline
Posts: 2517
Post Options Post Options   Quote Winwalloe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 September 2017 at 07:39
Cool!

The a900 is a little more explicit since at least there's an "MF" indicator in the viewfinder. I'm pretty upset there's none on the a99 as I'm sometimes confused as if yes or no my lens is on AF or MF.
See my webpage!
A-mount stuff, and few 43 stuff.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount full frame

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.