FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A65 Vertical Grip? YES

Page  <123>
Author
Aresee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 December 2006
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Post Options Post Options   Quote Aresee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2011 at 15:40
Originally posted by kolibri kolibri wrote:

always lovely and appreciative to see the DIY the setup reminds me of the dicain 3rd party VG for the km5d


In fact this grip works quite well with my KM5d as well.
Rick



 



Back to Top
Aresee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 December 2006
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Post Options Post Options   Quote Aresee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2011 at 15:47
Originally posted by dca1213 dca1213 wrote:

Nice work. How stable is it with a heavy lens since it is only attached at the tripod screw mount, there is nothing to keep it from rotating.


Without the battery tower to help stop rotational movement I decided to add some additional friction. I added to the grip surface some small strips of rubber type weatherproof tape. It is used to seal windows and door openings. I trimmed it to approximately 1/16th of an inch thick. It is soft and cushiony, but tacky also. So far makes a very solid connection between camera & grip.



I also thought I might put Velcro hook & loop on the camera & grip for a better connection. I will see if that becomes necessary.

Edit: I had some people ask why the cable is so long, when it does not need that much to reach the shutter input on the A65. The length is needed to work on my A100. The remote door in on the back instead of the side like the km5d & the A65. Why Sony moved it on the A100 other than to be different. Otherwise if you use the grip on the A65 only, the shutter cord could be much shorter. I may shorten it if I decide to make it A65 only.


Edited by Aresee - 19 December 2011 at 12:25
Rick



Back to Top
Aresee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 December 2006
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Post Options Post Options   Quote Aresee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2011 at 12:30
Originally posted by 4GibMe 4GibMe wrote:

I like it when people think outside the box, nicely done.

Cheers


Thanks.

Many people have commented that I think WAY outside the box.

It is amazing what you can accomplished if you are cheap.   

Regards,
Rick



Back to Top
NastyNate042 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 06 January 2012
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote NastyNate042 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2012 at 13:50
I am trying to duplicate your sweet vertical grip on my A65. what cord did you buy? can you give me a part number? I am looking to duplicate but want to make sure i am buying the correct equipment. Also I am assuming you had to modify the cord slightly. I only have an A65 so I would like the cord to be as tight to the camera as possible...
Back to Top
al View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 10 August 2008
Country: United States
Location: SF Bay Area
Status: Offline
Posts: 1442
Post Options Post Options   Quote al Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2012 at 16:49
He used the wire from a wired remote like this one.
Back to Top
NastyNate042 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 06 January 2012
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote NastyNate042 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 January 2012 at 20:03
Thanks I will order one and let you know if I am successful.
 



Back to Top
rms180 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 28 January 2012
Country: United States
Location: Dayton, OH
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote rms180 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 January 2012 at 03:43
Okay, so I tried some tinkering of my own with Meike's a500/550 vertical grip. Looks like I was able to come up with Sony a65 Vertical Grip.

As you can see, the battery door is the only thing in the way at this point






So here, I marked the blocked area with a blue color pencil so I could eventually cut it out


I started with a burr attachment on my Drummel Tool


I eventually had to remove the screws and take it apart to further remove unnecessary plastic



As you can see, I had to remove quite a bit


Once I finalized all the removal, I vacuumed it out with a shop vac and put it back together. I soon found out that the screw attachment didn't match up with the a65 screw mount. So I had to remove the turn dial screw connection from the vertical grip. I dropped a battery in and it's been working fine since. The connection is very snug and doesn't need to be secured with a screw attachment. I took the grip and shook it vigorously and it won't budge unless you grab both the camera and grip and pull them apart.


This was an extensive modification and I don't expect anyone to copy it. Still in all, it was fun tinkering around.

Edited by rms180 - 28 January 2012 at 04:12
Back to Top
Aresee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 December 2006
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Post Options Post Options   Quote Aresee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 January 2012 at 20:17
I had thought about cutting a slot for the door,
but I found that the distance between the battery tower and
the tripod screw was different between the A500 and A65.

I was more concerned with using the tripod screw to tighten
the grip to the camera, than I was in using the battery tower insert.
I figured once I had to cut a slot for the battery door, then I
would not be able to insert the battery tray into the grip anyway.

Too bad Sony did not make any adjustments for a grip on the A65.

Rick



Back to Top
OldNoob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 April 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 23
Post Options Post Options   Quote OldNoob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 April 2012 at 17:31
Looking at the dimensions and battery placement,, It looks like the a100 vertical grip would have the best fit on an a57 or a65

I bet , if you could find an old 3rd party a100 grip i bet it would fit perfectly.
The old a100 grips had a door slot and a shutter cable.
Back to Top
JackoWilliams View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 April 2012
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote JackoWilliams Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2012 at 21:05
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ownuser-Battery-Grip-Pack-Sony-Alpha-A65-vertical-shooting-shutter-release-/230772620488?pt=UK_Camera_Battery_Grips&hash=item35bb1ebcc8#ht_3754wt_1270

Here's a vertical grip designed for the a65 that I found on eBay. It's pretty similar to the DIY versions shown in this thread but you can apparently put two batteries in the grip. However, I don't know how this achieved due to the lack of a battery tower.

"The Ownuser MIG-SA65B is a high quality, fully functional battery grip pack. It is well manufactured and has a well placed centre of gravity, which provides comfort during a photoshoot. It has a shutter release - to make it work it is necessary to connect the grip to the camera with a cord.

The Ownuser MIG-SA65B Battery Grip for Sony A65 holds up to two NP-FM500H battery packs to double the shooting time."
Back to Top
Aresee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 December 2006
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Post Options Post Options   Quote Aresee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 April 2012 at 22:33
They probably have a power cord that plugs into the camera external power socket. That means you have to have TWO cords running from the grip to the camera.
For me one cord is enough. If I need to switch batteries, it is not that big of a deal to remove the grip and change them. I can still hold two batteries in the grip, they just don't power anything. Holding area only.

Sony just needed to put the connection in the battery compartment, and all of the messing around would have been easy. But they wanted differentiate the 65 from the 77.
Rick



Back to Top
JackoWilliams View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 April 2012
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote JackoWilliams Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 April 2012 at 16:10
Is there not any way to put in the contacts? Don't Sony sell spare parts or anything like that?

Maybe I'm just poking a stick at a dead horse but I'm desperate to use a vertical grip properly with my a65. Sony seemed to make grips available for the early SLR models and even up to the a580; I find it ridiculous that the consumer should have to compromise even when paying nearly L1000 for an a65 with a lens.
Back to Top
Peekayoh View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 January 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2605
Post Options Post Options   Quote Peekayoh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 April 2012 at 17:21
You can poke away but the horse, or Sony in this case, won't feel a thing.

Blame the marketing department, they differentiate enough that those with the cash will not be persuaded against the more expensive model and on the other hand, leave enough features to persuade the financially challenged or the bargain hunters that the cheaper model will do the job. If they have done a good job, the cheaper model will leave the purchaser almost satisfied but still hankering after the top model. Then they get two sales, but not for the price of one.

My advice is to buy the top model now (borrow or lie to the Wife if necessary), that way there will no lingering dissatisfaction, no excuse not to go out and take photographs and no loss when you finally persuade yourself that you really have to have that top model.
Back to Top
IvarsI View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 21 April 2012
Country: Latvia
Location: Riga
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote IvarsI Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 April 2012 at 11:31
I want to clarify some things:

1) is Meike grip for A200 and A500 the same?
2) screw on A500 grip dooes not match with screw hole on A65 body?
3) if cutting hole for battery door in grip, does it still allow to use 2 batteries in grip?
4) I don't understand how can with removed screw grip can hold firmly to camera .. :)

Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  <123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.

Links monetized by viglink VigLink