FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Windows 10 (FREE) for Win 7 & 8 users

Page  123 17>
Author
Pirate View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Liverpool
Status: Offline
Posts: 5673
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pirate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Windows 10 (FREE) for Win 7 & 8 users
    Posted: 01 June 2015 at 12:37
Ahoy!

Microsoft are releasing Windows 10 and you can reserve a complete OEM installation if you're using Win 7 or 8 by clicking the taskbar icon to register for the upgrade which is a 1 year limited time offer and it seems it starts when new computers roll out with the OS installed from 29 July 2015. Read about it here.
 



Back to Top
Kilkry View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 August 2008
Country: Sweden
Location: ISO1600
Status: Offline
Posts: 2229
Post Options Post Options   Quote Kilkry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 June 2015 at 13:06
Think I'll give it a spin. I wonder about hw changes though, the current mainboard is rather old and within a year the setup will probably be replaced with something a bit more energy efficient. Being on Win 7 Pro I think now (retail box) it isn't a major hurdle as I understand it but once it has morphed into Win 10 does the lic type sort of carry over?
-
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Online
Posts: 13125
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 June 2015 at 13:42
Originally posted by Kilkry Kilkry wrote:

I wonder about hw changes though, the current mainboard is rather old and within a year the setup will probably be replaced with something a bit more energy efficient. Being on Win 7 Pro I think now (retail box) it isn't a major hurdle as I understand it but once it has morphed into Win 10 does the lic type sort of carry over?

Answers to such questions have been provided.
Back to Top
Kilkry View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 August 2008
Country: Sweden
Location: ISO1600
Status: Offline
Posts: 2229
Post Options Post Options   Quote Kilkry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 June 2015 at 14:58
Originally posted by sybersitizen sybersitizen wrote:


Answers to such questions have been provided.


Peace reigns,
the queries are null,
The universe is Void.
-
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Online
Posts: 13125
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 June 2015 at 17:46
Are you saying your question is unanswered there? I think your question was What licensing problems might I encounter if I change my main board before or after upgrading from Win7 to Win10?, but I was not sure.

My only answer to that one is that Win7 periodically and endlessly bugs me on the computer I use most often by putting up a message on the desktop saying something like my 'installation of Windows is not authorized'. I have guessed that it does this because it detects what it deems to be significant changes of some kind - hardware or software. I'm not even sure that theory is correct because I don't recall ever seeing it happen on my other computers (all of mine are unmodified HP models with Win7 installed from the factory). But it doesn't disable anything, and the message goes away (but only for a while) when I select Start Menu > Computer > Properties and/or run slui.exe. Maybe Microsoft just hates my main computer. Google says that others out there have had even more severe problems with such things.

Supposedly there are alternative permanent fixes that involve running some other program and/or calling a Microsoft phone number, but those approaches never got me anywhere either.

I note that, even if I understood your question, this probably hasn't helped you... and if I misunderstood your question, it certainly hasn't helped. But in your particular situation I think I would take this approach: Replace your hardware before doing any OS upgrade - but only after creating a full image backup of your working system. Play with the modified computer for a few days and see if the OS raises any objections. If there are none, you're home free and should be able to proceed with a future OS upgrade. If there is an issue, you can opt to fall back to your previous hardware and your previous image while actively seeking the definitive but elusive answer to your question before moving ahead with either a hardware or OS change.

Edited by sybersitizen - 01 June 2015 at 19:09
Back to Top
Roger Rex View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 September 2005
Country: United States
Location: North Florida
Status: Offline
Posts: 6591
Post Options Post Options   Quote Roger Rex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 June 2015 at 18:14
Warning - and just a personal history (anecdote). On but one occasion in the early days of release of a new Windows OS "upgrade" (might have been Windows 7) did I dive in - regret, regret. There were major problems that completely rendered my desktop unusable and worse, the desktop manufacturer (Dell) and Microsoft claimed the other was responsible for solving my problem. From that time forward I have NEVER permitted auto upgrade - I always give it at least a month or two for problems to be sorted out by others. Analogy - would you but the first few new model cars off the assembly line?
Every photograph is a self-portrait. http://rogerrex.zenfolio.com/
 



Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 June 2015 at 18:38
Conversely I had Windows7 from day one with no problems. Vista on the other hand is a different story...

There are beta/pre-release versions generally available to try out. It didn't take long to realise I didn't want windows 8. I don't know if beta/pre-releases versions are freely available at the moment, if they are you can try them out. Worst comes to worst just reinstall your previous OS, just make sure you have your data backed up properly.

I have always found issues come when I tried to "update" my OS (so I could keep my existing data) instead of doing a full clean install (btw this is anecdotal). It was the same with some linux distributions where updating caused problems but just doing a clean install turned out fine. So trying to update your OS may not be a good idea, just back up your data and go for a clean install.

Edited by nandbytes - 01 June 2015 at 18:43
my flickr
A7RII, A7 (full-spectrum), NEX-5n
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Online
Posts: 13125
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 June 2015 at 02:27
It would be wise to read and understand what is posted on this page to avoid being surprised by changes made to your antivirus software (Important Notes) and removal of existing capabilities in your current OS (Feature Deprecation Section).
Back to Top
nandbytes View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 2146
Post Options Post Options   Quote nandbytes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 June 2015 at 09:49
Thanks, I had skim read that before. I am more worried about losing minesweeper or them ruining it in their new version

And of course all my software might not work either! Like I said, I am more than happy to reinstall windows 7 if it doesn't work out.
my flickr
A7RII, A7 (full-spectrum), NEX-5n
Back to Top
artuk View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 July 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 3543
Post Options Post Options   Quote artuk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 June 2015 at 10:12
Originally posted by nandbytes nandbytes wrote:



And of course all my software might not work either! Like I said, I am more than happy to reinstall windows 7 if it doesn't work out.


The update to register for a free upgrade checks your PC and software for compatibility issues.

Microsoft state that if you don't Windows 10 and want to revert to your previous OS, it is possible to "undo" the update (my words) without having resort to a full factory re-install of your previous version of Windows.

I took an update from Windows 7 to 8 as a free upgrade and apart from the time it took (1-2 hours) there were no problems with hardware or software. Obviously, if you have much older hardware or very obscure old software, there could be more issues. That's why the Windows update checks your PC when you install it - be prepared for your anti virus to warn you that it is trying to access services on your PC.
Art
Back to Top
fogfire View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 16 July 2006
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 94
Post Options Post Options   Quote fogfire Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 June 2015 at 16:58
I skipped Windows 8 except for some testing.. Windows 8.1 is solid better than I thought once I realized that between the right click start menu and the start screen... was a pretty good system.
The new start menu hybrid looks pretty good.

BTW My main machine which is on 24/7 took updates and there was a little Windows Icon in the sys tray that was an offer to reserve my update to Windows 10.

Back to Top
Kilkry View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 August 2008
Country: Sweden
Location: ISO1600
Status: Offline
Posts: 2229
Post Options Post Options   Quote Kilkry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 June 2015 at 12:24
Thanks cyber, that is good advice.

Regarding "upgrading" vs "erase & install", seems it was confirmed yesterday that you can indeed opt to e&i After you have performed the upgrade:

http://anandtech.com/show/9334/microsoft-confirms-you-can-clean-install-windows-10-after-upgrading

-
Back to Top
fogfire View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 16 July 2006
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 94
Post Options Post Options   Quote fogfire Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 June 2015 at 15:57
If I upgrade my desktop I will be almost 6 years on the same initial install (Aug - 2009) of Windows Vista > 7 > 8.1 Still running well Core 2 Quad, clocked to 3.4 GHZ   Though I think next year I Might finally rebuild the desktop.
Back to Top
bogdanel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 01 July 2015
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote bogdanel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 July 2015 at 10:13
I wanna make the update myself. How do you recommend to do it ? Using gwx configmanager from windows ? OR how is the best way to do it? Thank you!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  123 17>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.