FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Windows 10 (FREE) for Win 7 & 8 users

Page  <1 151617
Author
Cliff View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 November 2006
Country: United States
Location: Richmond Va
Status: Offline
Posts: 578
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cliff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 April 2017 at 13:26
Originally posted by IanL IanL wrote:

[QUOTE=petesidewalk]

I encountered a similar Win 10 problem with my Graphics Driver, which I use to feed a large TV screen. Previously, I could use the ATI utility to set a custom resolution to get a good fit to the screen. No more - stuck with a very limited set of resolutions, none of which are quite right.

However, a Google search led me to the freeby Custom Resolution Utility, which works beautifully. Perhaps there is something similar for your problem.


One thing I do like about Win10 is the ability to set multiple monitors at different settings. On my desktop I use a 28" monitor turned vertically for OS, icons, email, etc and a larger, 42" 4k screen for photos. Prior versions of Windows set the monitors at their defaults and that was that. Now I can customize resolution, font size, icons, etc for each. Pretty nice really.

FWIW, I'm using an AMD Firepro adapter, It was not terribly expensive and does a nice job with 4k and handling both screens. Sometimes it is time to give up older (expensive) beloved hardware that we know intimately when new stuff does what we need and more easily.

Time to the dumpster can be shorter than mean time between failures, and that hurts. But, it is sorta like Nikons, Canons and the A9. It ain't going to be backwards compatible with a mirror. "The latest and greatest" often is. Moore's Law derivatives are still in the IT driver's seat.
ContaxRF, Min7000i, Sony A100, A65, Nex5T, A7ii, A6500. 2 many lenses, mostly ordinary Minolta & 3rd party A, MC/D, other mf, vintage Vivitars & cats, LA-EA2,3,4 E16-50&55-210mm
 



Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 10423
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 12:48
Re: automatic updates. Yesterday I fire up the laptop and there's a notice about restarting to install updates. Which I did and now I've got to fix it. With Internet Explorer opening a new tab would bring up Google and my most visited sites, now it's a link to the neverending Microsoft Live page and is totally useless.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1|MFC-1000w/1200AF Metz54MZ-4i SonyF60
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 22568
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 13:18
Rob, rather then fixing it maybe just switch to Mozilla Firefox

Two big advantages:
- I till brings up the page with links to your most visited sites
- It's properly colour managed

I've been using it for several years now, and for me it's been virtually hassle free (and financially free)
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 1981
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2017 at 09:12
Originally posted by stiuskr stiuskr wrote:

Re: automatic updates. Yesterday I fire up the laptop and there's a notice about restarting to install updates. Which I did and now I've got to fix it. With Internet Explorer opening a new tab would bring up Google and my most visited sites, now it's a link to the neverending Microsoft Live page and is totally useless.


You should be able to find the google home page, enter the 'tools/internet options' tab in IE, then select 'use current' in the general tab as your home page. I'd recommend using either Chrome or Firefox, though, and Firefox has better privacy arrangements. I use both.
A58, 5d, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 10423
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2017 at 12:50
It was in the Internet Options>General>Tabs>Tabbed Browser Settings and it had changed from Open a New Tab to Open a New Tab in my News Feed. I do have Chrome installed but am used to IE and am aware of Firefox but never felt a need for it. But that might have changed.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1|MFC-1000w/1200AF Metz54MZ-4i SonyF60
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 1981
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 09:03
Glad you found it!
A58, 5d, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
 



Back to Top
Pirate View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Liverpool
Status: Offline
Posts: 5659
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pirate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 June 2017 at 20:31
Ahoy!

I received an email message from Build 2017 the developer of the Windows 10 Creators Edition OS to advise there will be a new release in the autumn/fall (depending on where on the planet you are) called the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update which you read about here to see what it's all about, so it's just some heads-up should you be interested (or not)

If not already signed-up, it might be a good idea to register for the Windows Insider Programme so you get a notification message advising when it's available either by direct download or using the Windows Update and Security option in the PC Settings of Windows 10.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  <1 151617

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Find us on Google+

Feel free to contact us if needed.