FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

wireless remote with RCCDroidPro

Author
Tjeiken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 23 January 2008
Country: Denmark
Location: Odense
Status: Offline
Posts: 604
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tjeiken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: wireless remote with RCCDroidPro
    Posted: 16 August 2015 at 13:52
Hi.
Does anyone have experience with the new version of the camera app RCCDroidPro, which by the description should now have included both live view and wireless control via bluetooth?

What I am interested in, is how the connection with bluetooth will work. To my knowledge, my a77ii does not have bluetooth built in?
Sony a77II | SAL1650F2.8 | SAL16105 | SAL35F18 | Minolta 50F1.7 | Minolta 70-210 F4 (BC) | Samyang 8mm | Sigma wide CPL | Metz 58 AF-2 | Curiosity and ingenuity
 



Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2114
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 August 2015 at 23:18
Where do you see the control via bluetooth?
Ian
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 13762
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 August 2015 at 01:23
Originally posted by Tjeiken Tjeiken wrote:

What I am interested in, is how the connection with bluetooth will work. To my knowledge, my a77ii does not have bluetooth built in?

I think it is explained on page 16 of this user manual. You need two external devices connected by Bluetooth. The camera remains unaware of the situation.
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2114
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 August 2015 at 08:18
Thanks for puzzling that out. It is far from clear in the English text

If I understand it correctly, one Android device, running RCCDroid, is connected to the camera by the USB cable and functions as the bluetooth server. Another Android device runs RCCClient and is used as a bluetooth wireless remote control.
Ian
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2114
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 August 2015 at 21:36
I have now installed RCCClient on my rooted Kindle Fire, and it works as stated with RCCDroid Pro running on a Sony Experia phone.

Also, I can confirm that the server (the phone), but not the client, does now support live view with a77II. Imho, for the setup to be really useful, the client also needs the live view.
Ian
Back to Top
ratboy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 May 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: North East
Status: Offline
Posts: 1780
Post Options Post Options   Quote ratboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 December 2017 at 21:17
I know I am waking an old thread here but anyone using RCCDroidPro with their A77II ? If so, how was the experience ? Currently looking for options to control the camera without touching it e.g. change the aperture, do long exposures etc.
 



Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2114
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 December 2017 at 00:16
I tried it out of curiosity, but haven't used it further. As I said above, it really needs live view on the client.

Apart from that, it worked exactly as it is supposed to, so if you don't mind the above limitation, the experience is fine.
Ian
Back to Top
ratboy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 May 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: North East
Status: Offline
Posts: 1780
Post Options Post Options   Quote ratboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 December 2017 at 00:42
Thanks - think I'll give it a try anyway. Don't think I'll need an RCCClient just planning to hook it up to an Android tablet
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Other photographic topics

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.