FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A550 First Black Frame

Page  <123
Author
trainerKEN View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 May 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Vancouver
Status: Offline
Posts: 3801
Post Options Post Options   Quote trainerKEN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 22:15
I have this issue with both my a350 and a550. I've noticed that if I just let the camera fall asleep, and I wake it up from touching the shutter button, I never get the FFB. Its the only way I can assure myself not to miss a shot.

I have NOT read anywhere of a560/a580 owners having this issue. Maybe Sony has solved the issue without ever officially admitting to the problem

Edited by trainerKEN - 20 June 2011 at 22:18
 



Back to Top
dca1213 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 December 2008
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Posts: 3780
Post Options Post Options   Quote dca1213 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 22:36
I never experienced this problem with my 550, but I only had it for 6 months before I sold it and bought a 580, no problem with the 580 either.
Dennis
Back to Top
Jaryn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 30 April 2010
Location: Japan
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jaryn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 June 2011 at 14:46
I had to send my a550 off to Sony (here in Japan) to get the shutter button repaired. They checked the shutter record at the same time and discovered a shutter error, so they're replacing the whole shutter unit. I'm wondering whether the shutter error could be the FFB?? The work is being done under warranty, which Sony at first said they wouldn't do.
Back to Top
Leike1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 18 August 2009
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 31
Post Options Post Options   Quote Leike1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2011 at 14:54
It's back but not repaired under warrenty. This time they replaced 3 items:
1) beeldfixatie sectie (I think the Steadyshot module, no part list)
2) partnr. 148752611, camerasection, SHUTTER UNIT(CX85700(AFE-1952)
3) partnr. A1741366A, camerasection, SLIDER UNIT FOR D.CAMERA

The second part was replaced a year ago.
So, people who get the camera fixed, do you get the same replacements?
Mine was a total of 260,- repaircosts, but because it was the second time, just outside warrenty, it was approx. 76,00.

So as a replacement I bought the A580.

Leike is shooting again....
Back to Top
alpsoandso View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 14 February 2008
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 61
Post Options Post Options   Quote alpsoandso Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 23:16
I have had this problem as well, since I had the 550. I bought it 11 09 2009 (m/d/y). Quite often the first image taken after the camera is switched on will be totally useless (dark/black).
Back in the 1st week of June 2011, it gave several black images during one outing (I count 8 black/dark images out of 92 shots). I cannot recall whether the camera was switched off between each occurance or not. This happened with a 70-200 mm lens attached.

Then yesterday, 28 june, during another outing where I was testing my sony 300 2.8 (just back from repair), I got so many of these dark frames that I gave up testing the lens and just shot with my Nikon equipment.
I noticed that not all the dark frames are as black as the usual problem generates, which leads me to suspect it might not be the same problem. However several frames WERE black/v dark. And no, I did NOT turn the camera off between each black frame occurrence. Some of the black frames happened with single shots, some during and mixed in with multiple shots (hold the shutter down).

After about 193 shots this stopped happening and everything seemed to work ok again.
However.... This puts the gear in doubt. Will I miss my next great shot because of this problem?

I'll continue testing and if there is a problem I'll have to take it in.

Alp


Back to Top
davydd View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 June 2010
Country: Australia
Location: S.E. Queensland
Status: Offline
Posts: 436
Post Options Post Options   Quote davydd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 July 2011 at 06:01
I've had my 550 for over a year and have never experienced the FFB problem.
 



Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.