FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

All about Minolta RD-175

Page  <123
Author
Strangways View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 March 2022
Country: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote Strangways Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2022 at 17:24
If nobody else can help, I don't mind waiting, and I truly appreciate your help!
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2958
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2022 at 20:46
I have the original discs for the RD-175 that I could copy and let you have .
IIRC though you had to set the card up in camera with the cable connecting them .
Rather than just formatting a card in the PC .

I might be able to copy my current card and you could try transfering it to a card in a PC ?

I'm on holiday at the moment so it will be a week or so before I can do anything .
The software only worked on Windows XP and earlier plus the then current Mac , plus you needed the correct cable and a PC old enough to have the fittings .
I do as I keep an antique PC for running film scanners and these cameras .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Strangways View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 March 2022
Country: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote Strangways Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2022 at 20:58
I appreciate your help, Neil. Someone else in the forum was able to supply me with the software that can process the raw files, as well as I believe communicate with the camera, if I had the correct SCSI setup, which I don't. That is indeed the only way to format a card, but someone was able to make that step unnecessary by creating an exact image of a card, a byte-by-byte duplicate, that could be written to a CF card, and it was posted at the site below. There were both 160 MB and 256 MB card images. The links are now dead, so I was hoping someone had saved it, along with the EaseUs software that was known to work.
http://thecameracollectors.blogspot.com/2011/05/how-to-clone-minolta-rd-175-cards.html
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2958
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2022 at 21:17
The software I use to import off my CF card I use in the camera ( via an adapter ) is Picajet , free to download from here ; https://www.picajet.com/en/index.php?page=featuresit converts the Minolta RAW to a standard format to process in any image editor .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2958
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2022 at 21:24
What are you using for memory in your camera , is it a CF card in the adapter or the original big bulky harddrive ?

I'll see if I can duplicate my card onto another card and let you know how I get on .
I'm m not sure if it would be the same as a cloned card .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Strangways View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 March 2022
Country: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote Strangways Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2022 at 22:44
I'm trying to use a small, older CF card in a PCMCIA adapter. A basic file copy would not work, it would have to be cloned image, which is why Easeus Todo Backup had been recommended for that function.
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2958
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 July 2022 at 00:14
If someone can explain ( in simple terms ) how to clone a card and share it , I can do that no problem .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2958
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 July 2022 at 08:57
Originally posted by Strangways Strangways wrote:

I'm trying to use a small, older CF card in a PCMCIA adapter. A basic file copy would not work, it would have to be cloned image, which is why Easeus Todo Backup had been recommended for that function.


Did you get any further with this?
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Strangways View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 09 March 2022
Country: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote Strangways Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 September 2022 at 23:51
I managed to find a copy of "Easeus Todo Backup" from the time that TheCameraCollector site got things working. So it should just be a matter of installing the free version and creating a sector-by-sector backup of a working card, saving it as a .PDB file.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1nUTEu5BbRHX3XgdbxC4k25G9RX4F4oNN/view?usp=sharing
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Dyxum Community > Knowledge Base Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.