FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Dynax/Maxxum 7 with Sigma 24-105mm f4 DG HSM Lens?

Author
FraserG View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 14 November 2019
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote FraserG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Dynax/Maxxum 7 with Sigma 24-105mm f4 DG HSM Lens?
    Posted: 14 November 2019 at 16:52
I'm looking at getting a used (A mount) Sigma 24-105mm f4 DG HSM Art Lens for my Dynax 7.

My question is, does anyone know if the OS (Optical Stabiliser) springs back to life when mounted to the old film bodies?

I am aware this feature is disabled for the DSLR A mount cameras as they have body/sensor stabilisation.

That being said I have seen older posts suggest various Sony A Sigma lenses have the OS hardware built in ( electronically disabled) when on a sensor stabilised DSLR but enabled when mounted on the older film bodies.

Another hint to this being electronically disabled is that Sigma offer a Mount Conversion Service for this lens. I assume if you originally purchased a Sony mount lens then had it converted to Nikon or Canon they wouldn't just omit this feature?

Regards

Fraser
 



Back to Top
petesidewalk View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 December 2007
Country: United States
Location: Oklahoma
Status: Offline
Posts: 392
Post Options Post Options   Quote petesidewalk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 November 2019 at 17:26
Dear Fraser,

I don't yet own the 24-105 F4 Sigma, but, I do have a 24-70 HSM and and a 70-300 4-5.6 OS which work with my Maxxum 9 SSM, Maxxum 7, 5 & 70. However, the 12-24 4.5-5.6 DG HSM II that I own works on all the aforementioned cameras, EXCEPT the Maxxum 7 (HSM but no OS). It seems that the body must have SSM support for the OS to work, with the exception of the Maxxum 7 I bought, which will operate the 70-300 OS, but not some other HSM lenses, *sorry I know this part isn't directly related to your question*.

I hope you find this helpful,

Greg
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 2642
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 November 2019 at 19:34
None of the A-mount Sigma Global Vision (Art, Contemporary) lenses have OS. I don't know what they do with lenses converted to and from A-mount. I wonder if anyone has even tried.

The OS feature of older Sigma lenses is not electronically disabled on any A-mount camera. I have to manually flip the OS switch on the lens.

Edit: removed erroneous speculation.

Edited by QuietOC - 14 November 2019 at 22:34
Sony A7II A6000 A77II LA-EA3 LA-EA4 MC-11 MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2310
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 November 2019 at 19:54
Originally posted by FraserG FraserG wrote:

I'm looking at getting a used (A mount) Sigma 24-105mm f4 DG HSM Art Lens for my Dynax 7.

My question is, does anyone know if the OS (Optical Stabiliser) springs back to life when mounted to the old film bodies?

I am aware this feature is disabled for the DSLR A mount cameras as they have body/sensor stabilisation.




Welcome to the forum .

O/S hasn't been disabled in this lens .
It just hasn't been fitted to this A mount lens .
Therefor it will never work .

Sigma only made a handful of lenses in A mount that included O/S , as far as I know , if you can track one down (!) they do function correctly on the Dynax 7 and later bodies .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2310
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 November 2019 at 19:58
Originally posted by QuietOC QuietOC wrote:

None of the A-mount Sigma Global Vision (Art, Contemporary) lenses have OS. I don't know what they do with lenses converted to and from A-mount. I wonder if anyone has even tried.

The OS feature of older Sigma lenses is not electronically disabled on any A-mount camera. I have to manually flip the OS switch on the lens.

I am sure Sigma OS works on any 8-pin A-mount body as all it requires is power. I suppose I could verify this on my 600si. The HSM requires SSM support.


I'm not too familiar with Sigma lenses , but were any of the lenses that were screwdriven fitted with O/S ?
I thought all of the image stabilised lenses used HSM motors to focus .
If so then you might gain O/S on pre Dynax 7 cameras , but lose A/F .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3399
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 November 2019 at 22:00
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

I'm not too familiar with Sigma lenses , but were any of the lenses that were screwdriven fitted with O/S ?
I thought all of the image stabilised lenses used HSM motors to focus .
If so then you might gain O/S on pre Dynax 7 cameras , but lose A/F .


Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 DG OS looks to be the only OS scewdrive lens, according to the Dyxum database, but compatibility issues are notorious.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
 



Back to Top
petesidewalk View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 December 2007
Country: United States
Location: Oklahoma
Status: Offline
Posts: 392
Post Options Post Options   Quote petesidewalk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 November 2019 at 22:25

Gents,

Without SSM capability, the OS does not work.Even with SSM capability HSM lenses may not work on Maxxum 7 bodies. The only HSM lens that didn't work that I have encountered so far is the one I mentioned earlier.

Thanks,
Greg
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 2642
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 November 2019 at 22:29
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

Originally posted by QuietOC QuietOC wrote:

None of the A-mount Sigma Global Vision (Art, Contemporary) lenses have OS. I don't know what they do with lenses converted to and from A-mount. I wonder if anyone has even tried.

The OS feature of older Sigma lenses is not electronically disabled on any A-mount camera. I have to manually flip the OS switch on the lens.

I am sure Sigma OS works on any 8-pin A-mount body as all it requires is power. I suppose I could verify this on my 600si. The HSM requires SSM support.


I'm not too familiar with Sigma lenses , but were any of the lenses that were screwdriven fitted with O/S ?
I thought all of the image stabilised lenses used HSM motors to focus .
If so then you might gain O/S on pre Dynax 7 cameras , but lose A/F .

Well, I tried my Sigma 70-200 OS on my 600si--no OS function. So, I was wrong at least about that lens just needing power for OS. The 600si does supply power--the 28-105 xi works fine on it.
Sony A7II A6000 A77II LA-EA3 LA-EA4 MC-11 MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3399
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2019 at 12:38
The lens data protocol changed several times and the Sony A-mount version has an extra (bidirectional) comms protocol with a higher speed. The camera tries this and if the lens doesn't respond correctly it drops back to the (unidirectional) Minolta one.
You may have a chance with the Dynax 4, 5, 7, but I'm not surprised the 600si doesn't play.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
FraserG View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 14 November 2019
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote FraserG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2019 at 09:15
I picked up a used Sigma 24-105mm f4 DG HSM in the end.

Nice lens, AF works very well with my Dynax 7 & Dynax 60.

I removed the plate where the AF/MF & OS ON/OFF switches usually resides
(Plate only has AF/MF select on A mount variant).

And I see a missing spot on the flexible PCB where the OS ON/OFF SPDT slide switch should be.



I am going to solder a jumper wire to connect the left two (of the 3 forward most pins) hopefully this will enable the 'removed' OS from the lens.

If not I'll take down the lens some more to figure this out. I'm hoping it's not firmware based.

Does anyone know if OS is enabled in the viewfinder upon half-press of the shutter? Or is it only during the shot?

Cheers

Fraser
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > Film cameras

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.