FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

m42 adapter modification

Page  <1 2345>
Author
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 25692
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2007 at 17:34
Originally posted by Conny1 Conny1 wrote:

Hi guys,

this offer on German ebay might be interesting for you too:

http://cgi.ebay.de/MINOLTA-ADAPTER-CONVERTER-2x-MD-AUF-DYNAX-AF-NEU-OVP_W0QQitemZ280149536714QQihZ018QQcategoryZ80382QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItem

Regards
Conny


This one is an original MD/AF Minolta converter - I'd not seen one that was a 2X before (I've got a generic one that is 1.2X), but the price seems a little OTT... I think my generic one was L20.
 



Back to Top
Conny1 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2006
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 1591
Post Options Post Options   Quote Conny1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2007 at 12:07
@ Bob
Expensive,no doubt. On the other hand there might be people out there, willing to pay that price. It was just an info from me.
Back to Top
Wayne View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 March 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wayne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 December 2007 at 05:59


"This one is an original MD/AF Minolta converter - I'd not seen one that was a 2X before (I've got a generic one that is 1.2X), but the price seems a little OTT... I think my generic one was L20."

This adapter works very well. Unfortunately, it is a 2x converter, making most of my old MD lenses way too long. I tried an old Minolta MC 300mm f5.6 lens with the adapter - this is a 900mm equivalent lens - despite the very dim finder, it works just fine provided you have a good tripod (even AS can not compensate for the long lenses).

Wayne
Back to Top
ankit View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 November 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 194
Post Options Post Options   Quote ankit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 December 2007 at 21:56
Any idea if this would fit (and give infinity focus) on the A700 without any sanding/other modifications:

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-M42-Minolta-AF-Lens-Adapter_W0QQitemZ140188986513QQihZ004QQ

If not, any feedback on what has worked on the A700? The list on the first page in the other thread seems a little dated with so many sellers on ebay now.

Edited by ankit - 12 December 2007 at 21:58
For Sale: 100-300mm/4.5-5.6 D APO
http://ankit.smugmug.com
Back to Top
polyglot View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 June 2007
Country: Australia
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Posts: 3622
Post Options Post Options   Quote polyglot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 December 2007 at 00:57
ankit: that is the exact same adapter from the exact same seller that I bought. It fits perfectly on my A100 and focuses to infinity. It should fit the A700 with zero issues.
C&C always welcome
ex-Pic-A-Day
on flickr
Back to Top
ankit View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 November 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 194
Post Options Post Options   Quote ankit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 January 2008 at 22:49
I got an adapter from jinfinance on ebay. It doesnt have the "A" part as discussed here, and has an excellent fit on the camera (if anything, it is just a tad lose). Also seems to focus to infinity without any problems.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=350006806450
For Sale: 100-300mm/4.5-5.6 D APO
http://ankit.smugmug.com
 



Back to Top
taz002dev View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 February 2007
Country: Romania
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Posts: 400
Post Options Post Options   Quote taz002dev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 May 2008 at 14:20
I also have some problems with a peleng and adapter.
And wrote here click , and nowbody answered, so I'm posting again because I'm in need of an urgent advice.
The shot was taaken at f/8 so...stopping it down was not the problem
Thanks
Back to Top
LECHER View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 May 2008
Country: United States
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Status: Offline
Posts: 1591
Post Options Post Options   Quote LECHER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 August 2008 at 05:31
Does the adapter have glass or not?

Jack
From the Mind of LECHER.



Back to Top
thePiRaTE!! View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 31 January 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 204
Post Options Post Options   Quote thePiRaTE!! Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 March 2009 at 01:59

Hi all. I've bought a Topcon Topcor 58/1.4 in Exakta/Topcon mount and am attempting to create my first custom adapter.

Right now, I've cleared the back of the existing bayonet back plate on the Topcon of all protrusions, and I'm using a James Lao M42-Alpha adapter. I understand that there is .2mm of leeway between the Exa registration distance and the Sony to play with. When placing the Lao adpater on the camera, and the lens up to the adapter, I'm not quite reaching infinity so I need to 'shave' the adapter. I don't have any calipers so I'm not sure exactly by how much I am off, but it is very little amount, a fraction of a mm.

Does anyone know of a reliable way evenly remove a slight amount of surface from the existing adapter? I was thinking of putting a belt sander in a vice grip upside down and physically pressing the adapter to it, a very little at a time... crazy?

Thanks in advance for advice.


Kelly.
Back to Top
woodrim View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 October 2009
Country: United States
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Offline
Posts: 1711
Post Options Post Options   Quote woodrim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 March 2010 at 21:42
Kelly: The adapter flange should be 1mm thick. One I measured came out to more like .9mm. If you try to shave .7-.8mm off, you won't be left with much more than foil thickness. Then there is no substance to hold it to the lens. The lens flange itself needs to be trimmed to accept the adapter lower.
Regards,

woodrim
Back to Top
thePiRaTE!! View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 31 January 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 204
Post Options Post Options   Quote thePiRaTE!! Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 March 2010 at 05:57
Originally posted by woodrim woodrim wrote:

Kelly: The adapter flange should be 1mm thick. One I measured came out to more like .9mm. If you try to shave .7-.8mm off, you won't be left with much more than foil thickness. Then there is no substance to hold it to the lens. The lens flange itself needs to be trimmed to accept the adapter lower.


Hey Woodrim, thanks for the answer - though it has been a year and I completed the mod.

Topcon Topcor to A mount

I tapped the adapter and screwed it in place of the original mount, thus I was left with extra room to play with. The amount of shaving required turned out to be very little as a result.

K.

Back to Top
woodrim View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 October 2009
Country: United States
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Offline
Posts: 1711
Post Options Post Options   Quote woodrim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 March 2010 at 17:25
Well, it was late and I saw March 4, but it hadn't occurred to me it was not yet March 4. I suppose I should pay attention to the year as well. Not much activity on M42 at all lately.
Regards,

woodrim
Back to Top
CountZero View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 14 May 2011
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote CountZero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2011 at 19:40
Old thread I know, but it is about modifying adapters..

The M42 lenses I have seen all have a small boss around the threads, approximately 0.1-0.2mm high. Is it this or the area outside that is supposed to make contact with the camera flange? I.e. which one is supposed to control the distance from the sensor?

Hope I have explained it well enough otherwise I might draw something in napkinCAD ;)
Back to Top
Pete Ganzel View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: Little Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 941
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pete Ganzel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2011 at 20:14
Originally posted by CountZero CountZero wrote:

Old thread I know, but it is about modifying adapters..

The M42 lenses I have seen all have a small boss around the threads, approximately 0.1-0.2mm high. Is it this or the area outside that is supposed to make contact with the camera flange? I.e. which one is supposed to control the distance from the sensor?

Hope I have explained it well enough otherwise I might draw something in napkinCAD ;)


All the Takumars I have are perfectly flat. Some manufacturers may be reducing the contact area so that the "flat" is not dragging in it's entirety as you tighten the lens thread. The boss area "depth" controls the distance from the film/sensor.

Pete
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > Other mount lenses Page  <1 2345>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.