FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Nikon D750 and studio flash.

Author
BenHer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 07 February 2020
Country: Sweden
Location: Molndal
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote BenHer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nikon D750 and studio flash.
    Posted: 08 February 2020 at 19:30

Has anyone a good solution to how to connect my studio flashes to my camera. They use a ´PC´ plug. Up until now I have been using the built in flash to trigger the studio flashes via their built in ´photocell´. I don´t mind that I have to set the exposure manually.
I know there are a few ´hot shoe´ adapters available, i.e. the Metz TSC20, with a PC socket, but I am a bit scared to connect the studio flash trigger circuit to the electronics of the camera. I have read the modern DSLR is sensitive to high voltage from the flash trigger circuits.
Any suggestions?

Regards
Bengt H
 



Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 28617
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 February 2020 at 20:58
Welcome to Dyxum. Probably the best suggestion for your problem is to ask the question on a Nikon forum. Dyxum is a forum for Sony (and Minolta) cameras and while we have a few members using multiple systems my guess is you won't get a lot of responses here.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3458
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 February 2020 at 21:13
Welcome!
Have you checked the manual for the studio flash (on-line if necessary)?
Between that and the manual for the D750 you ought to be able to get some idea.
Not sure what you mean by a PC plug - do you mean a micro USB?

ANyway, there are some reosurces on the web, such as this one which seems to cover the area you are interested in.

Edited by Miranda F - 08 February 2020 at 21:16
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
Michael Johansson View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 May 2006
Country: Sweden
Location: Gullaskruv
Status: Offline
Posts: 695
Post Options Post Options   Quote Michael Johansson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 February 2020 at 21:25
If you are afraid of connecting the flashcord to the PC-plug un yor camera there is always the radio triggers to consider. Of course you probably also need a receiver connected to the flas as well as the transmitter on the camera.

(The PC-plug is the round connector that you find on old large format lenses and every old SLR as well as some new cameras often used in studios and the Sony a7R iv.)
a7RII ~ V5.6/10mm ~ V4.5/15mm ~ S1.8/20mm ~ S4/24-105mm ~ V1.4/35mm ~ CZ1.8/55mm ~ V2/65mm ~ S2.8/90mmMacro ~ S1.8/135mm ~ 5600HS(D) ~ HVL43AM ~ Ring+Macro TwinFlash
Back to Top
BenHer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 07 February 2020
Country: Sweden
Location: Molndal
Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote BenHer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 February 2020 at 13:31
Hi thank you for a prompt reply.
The ´PC contact´ I was referring to is the old traditional coaxial plug used to syncronize an external flash to the camera. This was designed in the 1930s for purely mechanical contacts and they are not sensitive to the applied voltage or current.
In modern digital cameras however, except some professional ones, the PC contact is not implemented and a model specific modern ´hot shoe´ is used.
My concern is to avoid connecting an unknown, and maybe dangerously high, ´trigger voltage´ to my DSLR.
I know there are many IR- and radiobased remote flashtriggers, but the cost is rather high considering my infrequent use.
Regards
Bengt H
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11378
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 February 2020 at 17:38
You could probably test that yourself with a multimeter, connect the leads to the PC sync cable and test fire the strobe and look at the voltage, anything less than 5v will be safe to use.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
 



Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2361
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 February 2020 at 19:44
I'm not sure what your budget is or what you consider expensive , but wireless triggers only cost about £15 .
These are dumb triggers not TTL compatible .
But if your triggering via a PC sync socket I presume your exposing manually anyway ?
One trigger that goes on your hotshoe and a couple of receivers would likely do you .
The receivers can be used with either an off camera flash via the shoe or with the supplied PC sync lead plugged into the studio flash .
For eg ; https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/143414224184 for £13.70 .
Trigger and two receivers .

I've been using a set of these things for years for both film cameras and digital .
Very simple to use , just plug and play .
Even used with lights of low trigger voltage they make more sense than messing around with long cables .

Edited by neilt3 - 09 February 2020 at 19:49
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lighting

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.061 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.