FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Panorama Applications -- what to choose

Page  12>
Author
Roger Rex View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 September 2005
Country: United States
Location: North Florida
Status: Offline
Posts: 7228
Post Options Post Options   Quote Roger Rex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Panorama Applications -- what to choose
    Posted: 22 March 2012 at 20:04
I am considering getting a panorama application and have done a search here and other places and haven't found sufficient reviews or information to guide me. Other than the photomerge pano function within Photoshop, what program can you recommend and why? Thanks for any help you can provide.

Edited by rovhazman - 13 November 2013 at 01:37
Hatred corrodes the container it is carried in. http://rogerrex.zenfolio.com/
 



Back to Top
ratboy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 May 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: North East
Status: Offline
Posts: 1780
Post Options Post Options   Quote ratboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 March 2012 at 20:09
Microsoft ICE - you'll find it if you Google it.

It's free and easy enough to use.

Back to Top
slm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 April 2007
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 155
Post Options Post Options   Quote slm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 March 2012 at 20:10
I find the results form using Hugin fantastic. There's really no need to purchase a commercial app (it's that good imo).

Cheers
Steven
Back to Top
Zack View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 23 June 2006
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 475
Post Options Post Options   Quote Zack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 March 2012 at 21:47
+1 for Hugin.
www.zackerythomas.com   a900/200 2.8G HS/100 2.8/28-75 2.8/50 1.4/CZ16-35 2.8/12-24 EX/HVL-56AM/KM5D/18-70/75-300D
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11352
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 March 2012 at 22:01
Sounds like you have a couple of free choices, I'm not familiar with Hugin but the ICE program does work well.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
Octupi View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group
Knowledge Base Contributor

Joined: 28 August 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 5601
Post Options Post Options   Quote Octupi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 March 2012 at 22:46
I have used Photoshop, don't like it.

I stick to PTGui for my stitching efforts. I only have version 7.1 but just checked and 9.1 is available. I like the quality I get from it and have used it for many years, so I'll stick with it. User friendly (to me) and have never had an issue stitching even difficult scenes.
 



Back to Top
Roger Rex View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 September 2005
Country: United States
Location: North Florida
Status: Offline
Posts: 7228
Post Options Post Options   Quote Roger Rex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 March 2012 at 09:42
Thanks all for the help.
Hatred corrodes the container it is carried in. http://rogerrex.zenfolio.com/
Back to Top
alpha_in_exile View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 September 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 2660
Post Options Post Options   Quote alpha_in_exile Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 March 2012 at 14:00
RE: Microsoft ICE, beware that the license to use it, says you cannot use any derivative work for sale or commercial use. It is for personal entertainment only. But it works well.

In the past, Hugin often worked poorly for me, or when it worked well it took way too much manual input from me (IMO) - but then it was two years ago I tried it out, & haven't given it a chance lately. I've tried PTGui, and it is better but I couldn't afford to buy - and I won't use ICE b/c I could face a legal challenge over selling my own artwork. There might be a paid version of ICE, but I have no money for this sort of thing.

Hence I have no pano's amongst my landscape photos...
-- Matt
A900, Min 24/2.8, Min 50/1.4, Tam 90/2.8 Macro, Tam 70-200/2.8 | Nex5N & some MF lenses
my web gallery
Back to Top
horizon View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 September 2010
Country: Australia
Location: Coral Coast Qld
Status: Offline
Posts: 986
Post Options Post Options   Quote horizon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2012 at 04:08
I went to have printed one of my panoramas that I stitched using CS5 and when I made the doc size to 60" for a large print, I noticed that photomerge made a mistake that I didnt see until I went over it looking carefully to ensure that I wouldnt be disappointed with the final print. Once I saw the error in the stitch (photomerge made two errors, was could be cropped out, the other could not).

I downloaded PTGui Pro to try and see if this error would be fixed in another application, PTGui fixed the error that photomerge goofed on, but made the same error that photomerge made that was able to be cropped.

I also tried Hugin, as another alternate if the others made mistakes and it could be resolved using another piece of software. However, Hugin failed this stitch so miserably, that after many attempts to get it to stitch and a few hours of frustration, I finally decided to completely remove from my system, including the exe file, which I have rarely done in the past.

Hugin failed so miserably that the stitch could not be recognised for what it should be. No matter what settings I selected. And I also followed the docs to ensure I gave it a fair go.

PTGui Pro got it correct without any efforts.

Statement regarding Hugin retracted.

Ummm, I have also tried multiple attempts for photomerge to actually get that goof correct, but it made it either the same or worse. However, I made need to try and manually fix that error, until I have the $$ for PTGui Pro.

Edited by horizon - 29 March 2012 at 08:41
Please dont edit my photo's
Wildlife Horizons
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14218
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2012 at 04:21
horizon's story is interesting, but it doesn't make sense to recommend that others stay away from a program because it goofed up on one set of pano images. Eveybody will have positive and negative experiences with any of the tools out there. I use ICE.
Back to Top
rpo7 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 09 January 2006
Country: Czech Republic
Location: Ostrava
Status: Offline
Posts: 335
Post Options Post Options   Quote rpo7 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2012 at 07:17
+1 for Hugin
Radim
Flickr
Back to Top
jkp1 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2005
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 2272
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkp1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2012 at 07:48
Why not turn the mode dial to panorama setting ? It actually works....
Unused stuff in stock: A700, 24-105, 28-135, Sony A100, beercan, 100-200, Sony 70-200f2.8 + teleconverter
Back to Top
brettania View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum factotum

Joined: 17 July 2005
Country: New Zealand
Location: Auckland
Status: Offline
Posts: 20650
Post Options Post Options   Quote brettania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2012 at 08:35
Have you tried the mode dial on an a900?

I have just had a long look through the specs and it does not mention a pano setting. However with the available resolution you would still get an excellent "original" if you cropped the pic.
Back to Top
horizon View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 September 2010
Country: Australia
Location: Coral Coast Qld
Status: Offline
Posts: 986
Post Options Post Options   Quote horizon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2012 at 08:39
G'day jkp1,

I did try every setting there was, and most of the time it was trying to stitch basically, was displaying that it could not find control points, even when I went through and identified them, the result was terrible.

I'm personally not one for knocking Opensource software, I personally think it's a great alternative, but for me, this one didnt work.

I wont say here what the preview result looked like, as I dont want to give people the impression that Opensource software is no good. Maybe I came on a little strong in my previous post, and I will retract my statement, but I'm usually pretty good at figuring these things out in a very short time as I've done this type of testing on other software for 15 years. But I was getting no joy with it no matter what I tried. It basically went from bad to worse with the image I was trying to stitch that photomerge and PTGui could. Maybe I was a bit unfair on it but not trying it on other stitch attempts. But in my I.T work, if a piece of software was not successfully able to do something that other industry software can, then for me, it's not fully functional.

However, I will give it another go and see if I can make it work on other stitches that I have done. I suppose I most likely had my I.T hat on when I did my testing with Hugin, as for me, if the software wont work correctly for me while evaluating it, it's gone.

On the up side of my afternoon, PTGui was able to stitch a pano that photomerge was completely failing to stitch as it kept failing on one image, but PTGui, just did it.

I dont mind if I can get Hugin to work correctly for me, as it would give me another alternative should the stitch not work in another application and then I could still get it to work.

So I will give it another try, with other stitches and the same attempt to give it a more than a fair try.
Please dont edit my photo's
Wildlife Horizons
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Dyxum Community > Knowledge Base Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.