FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77 hiss on video recording

Author
MoonGazer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 February 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote MoonGazer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A77 hiss on video recording
    Posted: 25 May 2021 at 17:57
Is a hiss on the sound track a known problem for the A77? If so what is the cure?
 



Back to Top
Dopol View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 17 May 2007
Country: Netherlands
Location: Utrecht
Status: Online
Posts: 7493
Post Options Post Options   Quote Dopol Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2021 at 18:46
no known problem to me.
I'm not a video shooter, but the times I did: no problem
Be yourself; everyone else is already taken
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11906
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2021 at 18:54
Built in microphone or not?
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
MoonGazer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 February 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote MoonGazer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2021 at 19:04
Thanks Dopol.
addy landzaat: built-in and external!

Back to Top
MoonGazer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 February 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote MoonGazer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2021 at 19:08
I was looking to upgrade from an a33. Came across an A77 (not the ii) and it said it had hiss on video was a known problem. Otherwise camera looked clean with low shutter count.

Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11906
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2021 at 19:52
This Dpreview thread has some remarks that might be useful. It seems that it is around, but not a "known problem". Maybe they had a batch of bad capacitors or something that resulted in some more recording noise.

this site is in Dutch but you can find some videos with sound - as you can find on this site in English as well. There is some recording noise. You decide how it compares to your camera. No review I read or watched mentioned a hiss.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
MoonGazer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 February 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote MoonGazer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2021 at 20:16
Thanks addy. Very interesting. I haven't tried the Dutch one yet.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2394
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 2021 at 02:06
Not a problem that I've encountered. I know it's the teck support equivalent of "Is it pluged in?", but; Is the Wind Noise Reduction "On" or "Off"? And I might also ask; "audio record level?" If this is an a77II.

Edited by LAbernethy - 26 May 2021 at 02:17
Back to Top
MoonGazer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 February 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote MoonGazer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 May 2021 at 15:33
Thanks guys. I'm still waiting to hear from the present owner.I rarely do video so it may not matter. On the other hand it might mean I can't even if I wanted to.

I'm uncertain if I will appreciated the extra performance and functionality of the a77 but it would open up possibilities not possible before.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.