FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A550 First Black Frame

Page  123>
Author
davydd View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 June 2010
Country: Australia
Location: S.E. Queensland
Status: Offline
Posts: 436
Post Options Post Options   Quote davydd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A550 First Black Frame
    Posted: 05 July 2011 at 06:01
I've had my 550 for over a year and have never experienced the FFB problem.
 



Back to Top
alpsoandso View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 14 February 2008
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 61
Post Options Post Options   Quote alpsoandso Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2011 at 23:16
I have had this problem as well, since I had the 550. I bought it 11 09 2009 (m/d/y). Quite often the first image taken after the camera is switched on will be totally useless (dark/black).
Back in the 1st week of June 2011, it gave several black images during one outing (I count 8 black/dark images out of 92 shots). I cannot recall whether the camera was switched off between each occurance or not. This happened with a 70-200 mm lens attached.

Then yesterday, 28 june, during another outing where I was testing my sony 300 2.8 (just back from repair), I got so many of these dark frames that I gave up testing the lens and just shot with my Nikon equipment.
I noticed that not all the dark frames are as black as the usual problem generates, which leads me to suspect it might not be the same problem. However several frames WERE black/v dark. And no, I did NOT turn the camera off between each black frame occurrence. Some of the black frames happened with single shots, some during and mixed in with multiple shots (hold the shutter down).

After about 193 shots this stopped happening and everything seemed to work ok again.
However.... This puts the gear in doubt. Will I miss my next great shot because of this problem?

I'll continue testing and if there is a problem I'll have to take it in.

Alp


Back to Top
Leike1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 18 August 2009
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 31
Post Options Post Options   Quote Leike1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2011 at 14:54
It's back but not repaired under warrenty. This time they replaced 3 items:
1) beeldfixatie sectie (I think the Steadyshot module, no part list)
2) partnr. 148752611, camerasection, SHUTTER UNIT(CX85700(AFE-1952)
3) partnr. A1741366A, camerasection, SLIDER UNIT FOR D.CAMERA

The second part was replaced a year ago.
So, people who get the camera fixed, do you get the same replacements?
Mine was a total of 260,- repaircosts, but because it was the second time, just outside warrenty, it was approx. 76,00.

So as a replacement I bought the A580.

Leike is shooting again....
Back to Top
Jaryn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 30 April 2010
Location: Japan
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jaryn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 June 2011 at 14:46
I had to send my a550 off to Sony (here in Japan) to get the shutter button repaired. They checked the shutter record at the same time and discovered a shutter error, so they're replacing the whole shutter unit. I'm wondering whether the shutter error could be the FFB?? The work is being done under warranty, which Sony at first said they wouldn't do.
Back to Top
dca1213 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 December 2008
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Posts: 3780
Post Options Post Options   Quote dca1213 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 22:36
I never experienced this problem with my 550, but I only had it for 6 months before I sold it and bought a 580, no problem with the 580 either.
Dennis
Back to Top
trainerKEN View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 16 May 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Vancouver
Status: Offline
Posts: 3801
Post Options Post Options   Quote trainerKEN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 22:15
I have this issue with both my a350 and a550. I've noticed that if I just let the camera fall asleep, and I wake it up from touching the shutter button, I never get the FFB. Its the only way I can assure myself not to miss a shot.

I have NOT read anywhere of a560/a580 owners having this issue. Maybe Sony has solved the issue without ever officially admitting to the problem

Edited by trainerKEN - 20 June 2011 at 22:18
 



Back to Top
sonya300 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 02 March 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Surrey
Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Post Options Post Options   Quote sonya300 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 21:23
Had A300 for 3 years and just got an A580 and never had an issue with black frames ;-)
Back to Top
maraten View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 23 February 2011
Country: Netherlands
Location: The Hague
Status: Offline
Posts: 211
Post Options Post Options   Quote maraten Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 21:15
I've just gotten a good deal on an used a450, please tell me if it has FBF issues. Would be a big turn down for me.
Sony a99 and some old-school lenses
Back to Top
Leike1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 18 August 2009
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 31
Post Options Post Options   Quote Leike1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 19:11
The A500 is now more than 3 weeks into repair. The store said it would be 2 to 6 week before it returns. When it still has issues, I wil get a A580. Than the VG wil work, batteries and cards still can be used. The 500 wil get the macrobody, and the A100 will be sold.

So, until than I have to wait , and wait...
Back to Top
cruzerpics View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 March 2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 704
Post Options Post Options   Quote cruzerpics Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 18:51
+1 My a500 has the FBF issue and I sent it while under warranty to Precision Camera and unfortunately when it was returned to me it still had the issue
Back to Top
matthiaspaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 940
Post Options Post Options   Quote matthiaspaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 16:57
Originally posted by Sandyw Sandyw wrote:


My A350 does it, and I have seen reports of it doing it on A300/A450/A500/A550.

Most of the reports I have seen were in regard to the DSLR-A550 and DSLR-A500, but there have been sporadic reports for the DSLR-A100, DSLR-A200, DSLR-A230, DSLR-A300, DSLR-A330, DSLR-A350 and DSLR-A700 exhibiting this problem as well.

I have yet to see any report for the DSLR-A290, DSLR-A380, DSLR-A390, DSLR-A450, DSLR-A560, DSLR-A580, DSLR-A850 and DSLR-A900 so far.

Since you mentioned that you have seen reports for the DSLR-A450, can you point me to one, please?

Thanks and greetings,

Matthias
--

Minolta-Forum (MiFo) - German forum for the Minolta, Konica, Konica Minolta and Sony world of photography: http://www.mi-fo.de
Back to Top
matthiaspaul View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2006
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 940
Post Options Post Options   Quote matthiaspaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2011 at 16:40
I tried to keep track of user reports on this problem in various forums in order to find out if the number of occurances of this fault is still within acceptable limits or if we are seeing the wake of a problem on a similar scale as with the Dynax 5D and 7D. Perhaps this list of links to other threads is helpful to some:

http://www.mi-fo.de/forum/index.php?showtopic=27066&view=findpost&p=263015

Greetings,

Matthias

Edited by matthiaspaul - 20 June 2011 at 16:41
--

Minolta-Forum (MiFo) - German forum for the Minolta, Konica, Konica Minolta and Sony world of photography: http://www.mi-fo.de
Back to Top
markce View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 27 May 2007
Country: Netherlands
Location: N.Br.
Status: Offline
Posts: 300
Post Options Post Options   Quote markce Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 June 2011 at 15:00
Originally posted by Jaryn Jaryn wrote:

I have an a550 that does the black frame thing, often after a lens change. It doesn't seem to do it with the 18-55 kit zoom, but always does it with my Minolta 50 1.4 and Minolta 100-200. Annoying, but so regular that I pop off a double shot as a mater of course.


Funny, when FFB started with me, changing lenses helped to stop it.
Another thing that helped was activating sensor cleaning.

Edited by markce - 15 June 2011 at 15:01
Back to Top
Jaryn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 30 April 2010
Location: Japan
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jaryn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 June 2011 at 14:48
I have an a550 that does the black frame thing, often after a lens change. It doesn't seem to do it with the 18-55 kit zoom, but always does it with my Minolta 50 1.4 and Minolta 100-200. Annoying, but so regular that I pop off a double shot as a mater of course.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.