FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

3.0 firmware update for A7 M3 (and A7R M3)

Author
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 1811
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 3.0 firmware update for A7 M3 (and A7R M3)
    Posted: 11 April 2019 at 19:56
Details at https://www.dpreview.com/news/2543218937/sony-adds-enhanced-real-time-eye-af-animal-eye-af-and-interval-shooting-to-the-a7r-iii-a7-iii, with A7 M3 update at https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/e-mount-body-ilce-7-series/ilce-7m3#downloads

Benefits of the upgrade include
    Adds real-time Eye AF for animals
    NOTES:
        It is not possible to detect human and animal eyes simultaneously
        Eye detection may not be possible and depends on the environment, animal type, and movement of the animal
    Allows you to operate the real-time EYE AF by half-pressing the shutter button or by pressing the AF-ON button
    Adds the Interval Shooting function
    Allows operation with the wireless remote commander RMT-P1BT (sold separately)
    Allows you to assign the [MENU] to a custom key
    Allows [MENU] tab operation with the Fn button
    Improves the overall stability of the camera

Also, I see the transfer and tag add-on app is said to be compatible with -M3 cameras https://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/app/transfer/en/
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
 



Back to Top
AudioDoc View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 January 2006
Country: United States
Location: SLC Utah
Status: Offline
Posts: 2494
Post Options Post Options   Quote AudioDoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 April 2019 at 02:21
I've installed in on my A7III. animal Eye AF tested with my cat (only for cats and dogs so far). Seems to work well! One odd thing I notice. Even with face and eye detect turned off, I can't use lock on flexible spot with animal eye AF on -- have to switch to human! What? I thought it was turned off.

Kind regards

Kelly
Back to Top
jkkyler View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2014
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 167
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkkyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 April 2019 at 02:10
A few notes to add about the update . upgrade:
new eye af -
Recommended to put it on one of the function button slots as this is the only way to readily change between human and animal eye af without opening up the actual menu (you have to select one or the other)- apparently no other way to assign it to custom button. Also the animal eye af seems to work on all mammals as opposed to just cats and dogs (squirrels, groundhogs, monkeys , possums) but can be fooled by color / contrast patterns on a pet. Also at times it seems to lock on an eyebrow, whisker or part of the snout/nose of a pet. As animal faces are elongated this can result in missed focus. Does not seem to work on birds at al. Second if you have trouble locking on you can move closer if possible then move back while locked on and it does pretty well holding the eye. *NOte - not discovered by me, got this from Tony Northrup but did verify it myself.

Second (this was huge for me). It has fixed problems with memory card recognition. A while back I bought four 128gb UHS-1 V30 memory cards and not a one of them worked with the camera in either slot. Camera (A7iii) would neither recognize nor format the cards. Since the upgrade they all work flawlessly.

Edited by jkkyler - 16 April 2019 at 02:48
Friends donít let friends shoot kit lenses
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount full frame

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.