FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

7D problem

Page  12>
Author
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 1523
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 7D problem
    Posted: 14 June 2020 at 00:05
I post this in the hope that someone recognises the problem from their 7D days.

I bought a 7D + Min AF 50/1.7 for peanuts on ebay. The lens is fine and well worth all I paid for the pair.

So I tried the 7D - charged a battery and plugged it in and everything came to life.

Focus works well, menus, exposure, all seem fine. But the shutter will not fire.

Someone suggested doing a 'Clean CCD' to free up the shutter - as I had written off the camera as a dud shutter mechanism I was surprised when the mirror went op and the shutter opened for CCD cleaning. Sadly the camera still won't take pictures.

I have tried everything I can think off - different lenses, AS off, MF, M exposure, bulb, remote, shutter lock off.

When the AS is on the AS scale bar is all lit and flashing. Reading on the web it seems this is indicative of an AS module failure and that it was not uncommon back in the day.

Does anyone know if DIY AS module replacement is feasible? Does it require special equipment to realign the sensor or somesuch? I am tempted to give it a go if I can find a working AS module, but realise that it is probably a lot more sensible to buy another 7D - or forget about 7Ds altogether.

 



Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2197
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 02:49
Foolish question; Did you do the clean and blow out the mirror box?
What battery are you using? My 7D would stuff up and not fire with a bad battery.

Edited by LAbernethy - 14 June 2020 at 02:53
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 1523
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 16:15
I've tried several batteries, pretty sure that one or more were Sony.

I did not clean the sensor or blow out the mirror box. I have done the clean CCD a few times, each time the shutter opens as it should.

Another symptom is that it chunters a bit when switched on, I didn't think that much about this until I read about the AS module issue - of which this is another symptom.

The symptoms described here and elsewhere are: 1. Focuses etc but will not fire shutter, 2. Mechanical noise on power up, 3. All 5 green AS level bars blink, 4. Frames remaining counter shows zero.

My frame counter shows 81, not zero, but the other three symptoms are all there.

If this is the problem it needs a new AS module or 'tebure assembly' - which is probably not easy to source these days, or cheap. I'd like a working 7D, but not at any price.   Meanwhile I've got a nice ornament.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11607
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 17:50
You made me start up my 7D

You speak about a Sony battery, but I guess you mean a Konica-Minolta battery.
I guess you will need a donor body to get an AS system. Mine got the problem and was repaired under warranty by Sony because there was a design fault.

Maybe a strange one, did you try setting "priority setup" to "release"? But then, if the AS meter is continuously at full range, it is unlikely that this is the problem.

I guess you have read this information here on Dyxum. If you find a donor camera, the Tinkering pages from Pete Ganzel might be useful.

Mechanical noise at start up is not strange, my 7D does this as well. It is just initialising the AS system.

Maybe I should take it out for some fun.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2663
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 18:50
Edit ; double post .

Edited by neilt3 - 14 June 2020 at 18:53
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2663
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 18:52
The initial noise when switching on and off is ( iirc ) the anti dust thing shaking to help clear dust of the sensor .
It was a proper buzz on the Sony a100 as well .
Later cameras are much more discreet .

If it's refusing to take a shot , you could also try it in manual focus mode .
If it's in focus priority as Addy suggests it could be , MF will also re this out as the problem .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11607
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 19:19
I thought with the 7D it was just initialisation, could also be dust removal.

Just read through the manual, did you have a (supported) CF card in the camera?
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
dCap View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 August 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 6124
Post Options Post Options   Quote dCap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 19:50
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

... did you have a (supported) CF card in the camera?


^ this - there is probably a maximum size CF card (stated in the manual)

and my old habits were: format the card in camera before use

it could be something as simple as modern day formatted in PC/Mac not be accepted?

amazed to think a 7D is still be used
Walk out if it doesn't feel right
I can tell you're only lying
If you've got something better tonight
Then don't mess up my mind with your crying
Just Walk Out In The Rain
Eric Clapton, 1978
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2197
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 20:11
The KM NP400's are long past there best before, mine would power the electronics but not fire the shutter. When I switched to UP START's the issue cleared.
I had the "AS" "IS" go in a A200 and the camera would rattle over long on start up but still capture an off center image.
I did have an E-5 where the shutter / mirror flap broke in use (I seen it happen through the view finder and heard it snap) It would focus but not fire.
Sadly, I no longer have a 7D. I sold it earlier this year in an effort to rationalize my battery and charger formats along with my a100.

Edited by LAbernethy - 14 June 2020 at 20:29
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2663
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 21:32
Originally posted by dCap dCap wrote:

Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

... did you have a (supported) CF card in the camera?


^ this - there is probably a maximum size CF card (stated in the manual)

and my old habits were: format the card in camera before use

it could be something as simple as modern day formatted in PC/Mac not be accepted?

amazed to think a 7D is still be used


I still use my 7d quite often .
It's a nice camera to use and I like the results from it .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11607
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 21:54
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

The KM NP400's are long past there best before, mine would power the electronics but not fire the shutter.
I have two NP-400 batteries, one is fine, the other one is not.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
dCap View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 August 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 6124
Post Options Post Options   Quote dCap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 22:06
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

I still use my 7d quite often .
It's a nice camera to use and I like the results from it .


I was thinking of starting a studio project and considered grabbing a used Nikon D3 as I know the old D2H workhorse well. Similar era. So, I can totally respect the use of a 6mp file. My only studio macro keeper from back then was shot with my 7D - lovely clean file. Super camera too!
Walk out if it doesn't feel right
I can tell you're only lying
If you've got something better tonight
Then don't mess up my mind with your crying
Just Walk Out In The Rain
Eric Clapton, 1978
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3815
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 June 2020 at 22:54
If anyone wants a donor, I have two 7Ds with broken memory card connectors. At least one of them was working fully before it broke. I guess I should put them on eBay but I've been a bit lax with that lately. I have a hoard of stuff piling up that needs to be got rid of.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 1523
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 June 2020 at 00:11
Okay - I have tried a few of the very welcome suggestions.

Manual - I set everything to manual (focus & exposure) - no joy. Also tried with AS off - still no joy.

I tried several batteries - which all run my 5D without problems - no joy.

I reformatted the CF card (250MB) - no joy.

But I see that I do have all the symptoms of the AS module problem - I was looking at the frame counter on the LCD, now that I realise that there is another in the viewfinder I see it is at zero.

Do I want a donor? I'm not sure, I suspect the repair involves realignment of the sensor, which down't sound that simple without any test kit. A memory card socket replacement seems less problematic - perhaps I should view mine as the donor?
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.127 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.