FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A few quick questions about the a7R mkiv

Page  12>
Author
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2879
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A few quick questions about the a7R mkiv
    Posted: 07 August 2021 at 18:03
I'm about to buy an a7R mkiv , but just need to check a few things .
I've read the reviews , I've checked on Sony's compatibility pages and FAQ's .
Terminology's got me beat !

The memory card stated for this camera is a "UHS-II SD card" , so will a big standard SD card like I put in my a77ii and other cameras fit and work ?

It seems to me that it's just a high speed card and certain video mode won't work with a standard card as they can't be written too quick enough .
This isn't an issue to me as I don't use video , and stills are taken on single shot mode , so the buffer should keep up .

Secondly , I'm sure it's not compatible with my wired remote release . Can I use my Sony I.R remote release still ?
It seems that I have to use an APP thingy on a phone to fire the shutter without touching the camera , or use the self timer .
This would be a PITA !

Lastly , with the LA-EA5 attached I believe I can mount all my screwdriver Sony and Minolta lenses and AF will work fine with all of them except the Zoom Xi lenses and Minolta teleconverters .

I think I'm right in all my above assumptions , but would like to confirm first .

TIA .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
 



Back to Top
mambo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Winnipeg
Status: Offline
Posts: 1982
Post Options Post Options   Quote mambo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2021 at 18:53
1 Any SD card will work with your new toy. The issue is that non"UHS-II" cards have slower write speeds and therefore it will take longer to clear the camera buffer.

2. I do not shoot video. I have noted a difference in performance between the UHS-II cards to the older ones in my bird photography.

3. It is not compatible with the Minolta remote release.

4. Yes, I use my Minolta 200 HS G on it using the LA-EA5. The screwdriver lenses will work.

Enjoy the new toy.

instagram | website | A6300 | A6400 | A7Riii | A7Riv | A99 |plus an assortment of glass |
Back to Top
Hezu View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 October 2007
Country: Finland
Location: HKI/KSNK
Status: Offline
Posts: 3495
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hezu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2021 at 18:53
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

I'm about to buy an a7R mkiv , but just need to check a few things .
I've read the reviews , I've checked on Sony's compatibility pages and FAQ's .
Terminology's got me beat !

The memory card stated for this camera is a "UHS-II SD card" , so will a big standard SD card like I put in my a77ii and other cameras fit and work ?

It seems to me that it's just a high speed card and certain video mode won't work with a standard card as they can't be written too quick enough .
This isn't an issue to me as I don't use video , and stills are taken on single shot mode , so the buffer should keep up.
UHS-II card slots accept any sort of SD cards, but obviously for the best speeds you need the new, fast UHS-II cards (the difference between older UHS-I type cards and UHS-II is the second set of contacts on the card). Your shooting habits sound such that you may not necessarily need the faster cards for shooting, although of course if you take many shots during a photo session the faster read speeds can be useful when transfering files from the card to the computer. Remember that the increased resolution and thus file sizes slow down file operations.
Back to Top
waldo_posth View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 01 August 2012
Country: Germany
Location: Potsdam
Status: Offline
Posts: 6196
Post Options Post Options   Quote waldo_posth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2021 at 19:03
Nothing to add to the answers already given - but watch out for the ILCE-A7RM4A - that's the most recent model. The A is signifying a LCD with higher resolution.
"Stare, pry, listen, eavesdrop. Die knowing something. You are not here long." (Walker Evans)   http://www.flickr.com/photos/waldo_posth/
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2879
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2021 at 20:22
Thanks for the quick answers .
After typing this question I went to have another look at it and it had ready sold !

It's a used one I'll be buying , so not the latest version .
There's another two I'm looking at that I've sent emails off to to check on a couple of things first .

No hurry , I've been thinking of getting a full frame E mount ever since the a7ii came out . Well , you can't rush into these things , I'm still using my a900 & a77ii .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2879
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2021 at 20:32
Originally posted by mambo mambo wrote:





3. It is not compatible with the Minolta remote release.






Is it also not compatible with the Sony RMT-DSLR1
IR remote controller , either version 1 or 2 ?

I can't remember if my NEX 7 us as I've only really used it hand held .
The a7R mkiv would be being used on a tripod quite a bit , and a controller that I can just press a button on would be much better than needing to use a mobile phone !
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
 



Back to Top
Wētāpunga View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 September 2007
Country: New Zealand
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Posts: 6149
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wētāpunga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2021 at 23:03
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

I'm about to buy an a7R mkiv , but just need to check a few things ...

Secondly , I'm sure it's not compatible with my wired remote release . Can I use my Sony I.R remote release still ?
It seems that I have to use an APP thingy on a phone to fire the shutter without touching the camera , or use the self timer .
This would be a PITA !



Your a77ii uses the same micro-USB wired release as the a7 range. Your a900 uses the older 3-pin Minolta release which is not compatible.

I've had limited success with the I.R. remote release that comes with the A-mount cameras, but it might do just enough to work for you.

a7riii, a9- Voigtländer 15/4.5, 110/2.5 M; Zeiss Loxia- 21/2.8, 35/2, 50/2 & 85/2.4, Zeiss Batis- 85/1.8 & 135/2.8; Sony 24-105/4 G; Sigma 70/2.8 M; Tamron 150-500 f5-6.7; Sony SAL 135/2.8 STF
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2879
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 August 2021 at 23:25
Originally posted by Wētāpunga Wētāpunga wrote:

Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

I'm about to buy an a7R mkiv , but just need to check a few things ...

Secondly , I'm sure it's not compatible with my wired remote release . Can I use my Sony I.R remote release still ?
It seems that I have to use an APP thingy on a phone to fire the shutter without touching the camera , or use the self timer .
This would be a PITA !



Your a77ii uses the same micro-USB wired release as the a7 range. Your a900 uses the older 3-pin Minolta release which is not compatible.

I've had limited success with the I.R. remote release that comes with the A-mount cameras, but it might do just enough to work for you.



Thanks , I thought they had dropped support for wired remote releases , I do have one of those micro USB releases , so that's perfect .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Rudolf_K View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 January 2021
Country: Slovakia
Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rudolf_K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 August 2021 at 02:38
At least support is saying that there is fully support of remote IR for the photography kind of things.
https://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www/cscs/accessories/compatibility.php?area=us&lang=en&mdl=ILCE-7RM4&cat=31


And save this link. Support link for A7R IV.
https://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www/cscs/accessories/?area=us&lang=en&mdl=ILCE-7RM4


Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2879
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 August 2021 at 09:07
Originally posted by Rudolf_K Rudolf_K wrote:

At least support is saying that there is fully support of remote IR for the photography kind of things.
https://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www/cscs/accessories/compatibility.php?area=us&lang=en&mdl=ILCE-7RM4&cat=31


And save this link. Support link for A7R IV.
https://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www/cscs/accessories/?area=us&lang=en&mdl=ILCE-7RM4




Thanks for the links .
It's strange that when I looked I could only find a reference to remote control being done via an app on your phone , rather than that being in addition to the usual wired or wireless release .

The simple wired shutter release with a single button suites my needs best , and turns out to be fully compatible .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2879
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 August 2021 at 09:32
Just done a good deal for one with a shutter count of only 2028 !

And picked up an LA-EA5 at a fair price too .
Now I just need a new , spare battery .
I'll check out WEX or somewhere for that and a couple if the new type SD cards .

I was confusing the ones for this cameras for the XQD (?) Cards , which won't fit and cost a fortune .
The faster cards than I have for this camera are a much more reasonable price.

Thanks for the help .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Wētāpunga View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 September 2007
Country: New Zealand
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Posts: 6149
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wētāpunga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 August 2021 at 02:40
Roughly 2000 shots is a great deal @neilt3!

Fwiw, I got a spare battery for my a7Riii and even when shooting events for a couple of hours, have never had to switch batteries. The new NP-FZ100 battery is pretty amazing.
a7riii, a9- Voigtländer 15/4.5, 110/2.5 M; Zeiss Loxia- 21/2.8, 35/2, 50/2 & 85/2.4, Zeiss Batis- 85/1.8 & 135/2.8; Sony 24-105/4 G; Sigma 70/2.8 M; Tamron 150-500 f5-6.7; Sony SAL 135/2.8 STF
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2879
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 August 2021 at 07:00
Yes I got lucky with this one .
The one I originally was looking at had a count about thirty plus thousand , and another , with seventy thousand .
I paid an extra £75 for this one , which is worth it for an almost new camera .

I'll be picking up a spare battery from WEX in town when I finish work today , I might never need a spare when I'm out , but it's always better to not need one than not have one when you do !

I travel around a lot in my campervan and I can be out in the hills for ten or more hours at a time .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Online
Posts: 2594
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 August 2021 at 07:13
I got 2 spare batteries for mine when I bought it, never had a need for a spare even during long walks with several hundred shots taken. But then I do have the sleep setting at a rather short interval and configured the camera to keep the rear LCD off for battery saving.
Handy setting that keeps the screen off (and EVF off unless I have it up to my eye) but wakes the screen up if I press things like the Menu, Fn or image review buttons.

And I'm still using the same 32Gb SD cards as I used in my A99ii, never had an issue with buffer as I tend to shoot short bursts rather than go all spray & pray. 500 odd images to a card is usually more than enough for my kind of shooting.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > E-mount full frame Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.