FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A350/A500/A550 first frame underexposing

Author
Sandyw View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2006
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Devon
Status: Offline
Posts: 379
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sandyw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A350/A500/A550 first frame underexposing
    Posted: 30 January 2011 at 23:58
I just got myself an A350 and have been reading up generally on the cameras idiosyncrasies and came across a number of posts in other forums that refer to an issue where the first frame is under exposed after the camera is turned off for c. 24hrs. This is despite reporting correct shutter and aperture readings. I also found posts regarding some A5xx and other A3xx cameras also displaying this to a similar or more extreme extent with a first black frame.

So guess what, this is exactly what my newly acquired A350 is doing. It is a problem I can live with I guess, but wanted to ask three questions of the good folks of Dyxum.

1) How many of you have this issue, in particular with the A350, but interested in other models as well?

2) Does this behavior become progressively worse or does it remain with just the first shot only?

3) Is there a clever fix other than sending it back to Sony.

BTW this camera was not gained from anyone on here but through a reputable Camera chain. I actually want to keep the camera but may negotiate deal with the shop provided that the problem is not likely to get much worse/extensive. Although not infallable, the Camera only registers just over 900 actuations (but I suspect may have been through a reset or two due to the previous owner trying to fix the issue).

Any input much appreciated.

Edited by Sandyw - 31 January 2011 at 00:00
A700 A900 A77 A99 & a bunch of Sony & Minolta AF Lenses

NEX-5n NEX-7 [Canon EOS 5D] plus a menagerie of MF lenses



 



Back to Top
jvandegr View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 07 April 2008
Country: United States
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Posts: 1004
Post Options Post Options   Quote jvandegr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 January 2011 at 00:35
One of my A350 bodies began over-exposing (not under) a few months ago. First frame only. Remaining frames are perfectly exposed, and show the same aperture and shutter speed as the first. My other A350 bodies are fine. All have over 10,000 clicks. I haven't heard of any fixes but to be honest, I don't even think about it. As I teach in my photography classes, bracketing is critical. Doing so means I've never missed a shot because of this issue, even in fast-paced street shooting. Every manufacturer and every model has its issues, and this is the only one I've encountered with the A350, despite a couple years of heavy use. I wouldn't recommend sending it back to Sony - it's just not worth the cost and time lost to fix one frame in a shoot.

Jon
Jon Van de Grift
Photojournalist and Educator
Back to Top
Sandyw View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2006
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Devon
Status: Offline
Posts: 379
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sandyw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 January 2011 at 18:46
Jon,

Thanks for the input, I agree it's not worth the fix with Sony (if I had to pay).

However, it does give me some leverage to reduce the purchase price from the shop if I don't insist they repair the camera hence saving them the hassle..... win win.
A700 A900 A77 A99 & a bunch of Sony & Minolta AF Lenses

NEX-5n NEX-7 [Canon EOS 5D] plus a menagerie of MF lenses



Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.