FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A580 Strange Behaviour

Page  12>
Author
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2125
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A580 Strange Behaviour
    Posted: 13 December 2021 at 23:38
I recently got an A580 in very nice condition, as regards appearance, and all seemed well. However, it now behaves oddly on occasion. In AF-S (and other AF modes) it will indicate focus found, but when the shutter release is pressed, it does not release, and the focus motor runs the lens to infinity. In MF, no release, but obviously the focus motor does not run. Other times it functions faultlessly.

Another odd behaviour sometimes encountered - the Live View will go to black, no shutter release, and when pressure is removed from the release button, the image returns after a couple of seconds, slowly brightening.

Any advice gratefully received.
Ian
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Online
Posts: 12955
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 00:16
Let's do some basic trouble shooting:
Try another lens. Clean lens and camera contacts.
Remove battery for some time.
Try another battery.
Try another memory card.

I noticed you cannot set between release and focus priority with the A580.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Hobgoblin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1508
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hobgoblin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 07:48
Does this happen with any lens or is there a particular lens it happens with.

Does the odd behaviour happen randomly or can you pin it down - for example it only happens after I just changed a lens.

Have you tried a factory reset?


Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2883
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 08:30
If you set the camera to "release without lens" and take the lens off , will the shutter fire every time the button is pressed , instead of locking up ?
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2125
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 12:20
Thank you all for your prompt replies. I have tried everything suggested - some I had already done, but I repeated everything. The problem persists. The only one which is revealing (I think) is Release Without Lens, which is also subject to the same random failures. Does that mean big money to fix, so cut your losses?

I have also tried Cleaning Mode - that always works, so the mirror mechanism seems ok.
Ian
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 27043
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 15:05
Is it possible that the AF sensor in the base of the camera needs cleaning?
 



Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2125
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 15:22
Yes, I tried that, without success, but I don't think that would stop release without lens, would it?
Ian
Back to Top
Hobgoblin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1508
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hobgoblin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 15:43
could be some issue with the shutter button. Do you have a cable release you could try it with?
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2125
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 17:06
YES !!!!!

Mastermind. 20 consecutive releases with no passes.   Actually more like 40. I'm delighted.

Very many thanks. Now, how do I get it fixed?
Ian
Back to Top
Hobgoblin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1508
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hobgoblin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 19:28
was that a comment on using a cable release?

If so likely that the shutter release has got gummed up with dust and grime.
Might try blowing it with compressed air, hold camera upside down and spray button with electrical contact cleaner and leave that way for a couple of hours.
Neither guaranteed cures.
Otherwise talk to a camera repair centre likley just needs a clean.
Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2125
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 19:37
Yes, the cable release was the cause of the 40 or so faultless operations. I then went back to the ordinary shutter, and the problem returned, so your diagnosis was spot-on.

Apparently, the one and only camera repairer in Jersey has retired, but I do have some electrical contact cleaner (without lubricant, so hopefully no residue) and was contemplating that measure, so thanks for the encouragement. I've also got a can of compressed air, so I'll try both.

Edited by IanL - 14 December 2021 at 19:46
Ian
Back to Top
Hobgoblin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1508
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hobgoblin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 December 2021 at 19:58
Well if nothing else you can use it on a cable release or something more sophisticated.

Just be careful anything you squirt/spray at it doesn't get too deep inside.


Back to Top
Hobgoblin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1508
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hobgoblin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 December 2021 at 08:49
Did the fix work?


Back to Top
IanL View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 December 2010
Country: Great Britain
Location: Jersey,C.I.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2125
Post Options Post Options   Quote IanL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 December 2021 at 09:20
It has had an effect, in that the shutter release has become much more reliable. However, what now happens is that the the camera goes into "continuous auto focus" when the camera is moved, without the button being pressed at all, and the lens hunts continually until first pressure on the button, at which time it behaves normally. So the camera is useable, but the wear on the mechanisms of camera and lens is a worry.

I think there must be a bit of foreign matter which intermittently bridges the focus contacts and needs to be moved away. I don't even know whether the contacts are sealed into a sub-assembly, which would need to be replaced (but Sony tells me spares are no longer available), or open to access to allow cleaning. I've searched for images showing that detail, without success so far, but I haven't given up hope. If I could get an A560 or A580 cheaply for parts, I'd have a go at it myself.

UPDATE: I have downloaded (free!) the A580 Repair Manual. It is heavy on illustrations but light on descriptive matter. It looks like there are three parts of interest:

CT RELEASE BUTTON (M) ASSY, which looks like the silver button and maybe the on/off switch "handle". The (M) could mean mechanical, i.e. no electrical contacts.

CT POWER LEVER CLICK PLATE, which fits below the button, and presumably provides detents to retain the on/off switch position.

SWITCH BLOCK, CONTROL (TK86500), which looks like an agglomeration of bits which are stimulated by the buttons, etc on the RHS of the top plate, plus a ribbon connector to take the signals away. My thought is that this contains the actual switches, probably separated from the buttons by rubber diaphragms. The absence of disassembly instructions for the part suggests that repair is by replacement of the assembly, but it could perhaps be opened up for cleaning - there's just no hint of that in the manual.

Added to that, when I asked Sony if they could repair (having described the problem) they just said that the parts were no longer available. I've since found it listed on the Sony US site for "professionals" at $82.12 but "on back order".

The manual gives good information on what to remove to gain access, showing all screws and their sizes, and what order to it in, so, if I had the spare part, I could probably pull it off. It's the sort of job that would probably cost more than the camera is worth to get done commercially, so more of a challenge and for the satisfaction.

Edited by IanL - 22 December 2021 at 14:40
Ian
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.061 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.