FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A700 metering problem?

Page  123>
Author
macronut View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2012
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 812
Post Options Post Options   Quote macronut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A700 metering problem?
    Posted: 18 February 2022 at 01:31
Long story short, I just got an A700 in a bundle of stuff for cheap, with the caveat being the camera possibly has a problem. The other gear was worth the price I paid, so I’m not into the camera for any money really.

I have very little experience with this model, so I could be overlooking something that solves this issue. I formatted a memory card, attached a lens and fired away. The images are black. Can’t see the subject.   Putting the memory card into a computer yields the same black images. At first it Seemed like maybe the image in the viewfinder was not getting to the sensor, but What I eventually found was that images do look normal with +3 EV. Unless there’s something I can change in the settings to correct this, it leads me to wonder if the metering system is broken.

Any help is appreciated!
Only from the mind of Macronut.
 



Back to Top
bharnois View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 April 2006
Country: United States
Location: USA (RI)
Status: Offline
Posts: 4612
Post Options Post Options   Quote bharnois Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 01:46
Interesting problem. I've had 4 of them (still have 2). Take a look at the mirror box. might also be a bent aperture arm (closed aperture when a lens is mounted.
Just luvin' DYXUM.
Back to Top
Wētāpunga View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 September 2007
Country: New Zealand
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Posts: 6197
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wētāpunga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 03:09
Hmm, have you tried a camera "rest" in menu to factory default?
a7riii, a9- Voigtländer 15/4.5, 110/2.5 M; Zeiss Loxia- 21/2.8, 35/2, 50/2 & 85/2.4, Zeiss Batis- 85/1.8 & 135/2.8; Sony 24-105/4 G; Sigma 70/2.8 M; Tamron 150-500 f5-6.7; Sony SAL 135/2.8 STF
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2798
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 03:14
Never had that problem with my a700. How is it in full manual? Which metering mode is it in? Do you get the asterisk when you push the AEL button?
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2601
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 03:43
Check and make sure the lens aperture opens up fully when you mount a lens on it.
And if you can put it side by side with a known working camera with the same shutter, aperture and ISO dialed in...are the photos near identical or does the A700 still underexpose?
Back to Top
Wētāpunga View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 September 2007
Country: New Zealand
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Posts: 6197
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wētāpunga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 03:46
Originally posted by SnowFella SnowFella wrote:

Check and make sure the lens aperture opens up fully when you mount a lens on it.
And if you can put it side by side with a known working camera with the same shutter, aperture and ISO dialed in...are the photos near identical or does the A700 still underexpose?


Actually that's a good point about the aperture. I think I ran into that problem with my a700. The aperture lever didn't engage properly when mounting the lens. I had to reset it into the correct position by myself.



Edited by Wētāpunga - 18 February 2022 at 05:29
a7riii, a9- Voigtländer 15/4.5, 110/2.5 M; Zeiss Loxia- 21/2.8, 35/2, 50/2 & 85/2.4, Zeiss Batis- 85/1.8 & 135/2.8; Sony 24-105/4 G; Sigma 70/2.8 M; Tamron 150-500 f5-6.7; Sony SAL 135/2.8 STF
 



Back to Top
macronut View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2012
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 812
Post Options Post Options   Quote macronut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 03:46
Thank you everyone! I will try to revisit this tomorrow. I think I can borrow an A700 for direct comparisons
Only from the mind of Macronut.
Back to Top
macronut View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2012
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 812
Post Options Post Options   Quote macronut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 03:49
I did notice the camera has version 4 firmware installed. I have no idea how current that is.
Only from the mind of Macronut.
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2601
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 03:51
No need for an exact match, any other camera/lens combo should give next to exactly the same exposure. Just point them at a blank wall indoors.
Back to Top
macronut View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2012
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 812
Post Options Post Options   Quote macronut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 04:00
Originally posted by SnowFella SnowFella wrote:

No need for an exact match, any other camera/lens combo should give next to exactly the same exposure. Just point them at a blank wall indoors.


I get it. But if I can easily borrow one, I will. Maybe something different in The settings will jump out at me.   

Sometimes when I fire the shutter, it seems to sound abit odd. “Squeaky” if you will. Another reason I’d like to have a comparison A700. Maybe the aperture isn’t working correctly. +3 seems to be the magic number. All shots were indoors in dim lighting. Without the EV adjustment, sometimes the flash would produce a somewhat normal photo. But with neither flash nor exposure compensation, the pics are blacked out. Never experienced this problem before on my other models.
Only from the mind of Macronut.
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 2380
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2022 at 18:07
Have you tried setting the EV compensation to counter the +3 issue? If the metering is consistently out that much then one would hope that it would then expose correctly.

I'm not convinced it's an aperture control issue, but it's easy enough to test - just set the aperture to wide open - if the aperture is not closing the exposure will still be ok. As I say, I'm not convinced because the symptom is usually over-exposure, not under. I suppose it could be that the camera always sets the minimum aperture, but that would not show a consistent +3EV, it would vary according to the selected aperture.

I assume the lens is one you know to be in good condition?

Have your tried setting it in Manual to expose correctly using an external meter or another camera to measure the exposure. This takes the metering system out of the picture, if it's still dark then the problem is elsewhere.
Back to Top
SnowFella View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 21 April 2013
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Status: Offline
Posts: 2601
Post Options Post Options   Quote SnowFella Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 February 2022 at 23:53
Originally posted by Phil Wood Phil Wood wrote:



I'm not convinced it's an aperture control issue, but it's easy enough to test - just set the aperture to wide open - if the aperture is not closing the exposure will still be ok. As I say, I'm not convinced because the symptom is usually over-exposure, not under. I suppose it could be that the camera always sets the minimum aperture, but that would not show a consistent +3EV, it would vary according to the selected aperture.


The more I think about it the more I think you are correct and it can't be aperture related. Since you can shoot old adapted manual lenses without having exposure issues the camera cant' care about what aperture is set.

Wonder if it could be something like a slow 1st shutter? Might be worth testing different shutter speeds, a slow shutter will affect fast shutter speeds more than what a long exposure shot.
Back to Top
macronut View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2012
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 812
Post Options Post Options   Quote macronut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 February 2022 at 19:34
Originally posted by Wētāpunga Wētāpunga wrote:

Hmm, have you tried a camera "rest" in menu to factory default?


Reset didn’t help
Only from the mind of Macronut.
Back to Top
macronut View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2012
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 812
Post Options Post Options   Quote macronut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 February 2022 at 19:40
Originally posted by SnowFella SnowFella wrote:

Check and make sure the lens aperture opens up fully when you mount a lens on it.
And if you can put it side by side with a known working camera with the same shutter, aperture and ISO dialed in...are the photos near identical or does the A700 still underexpose?


I have the camera sitting next to another A700, both with the Sony 16-50 2.8 SSM attached.   Both dials are set on Auto. All other settings the same. The working camera chooses 1/30 2.8 and takes a normal photo. The other camera chooses 1/1000 f9 and takes a black photo. The setup is indoors with dim lighting. If I point the faulty camera outside directly into the sun, it chooses the same settings. the photo is much better, but still too dark.
Only from the mind of Macronut.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.