FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A700 metering problem?

Page  <123
Author
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2789
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 February 2022 at 03:27
Originally posted by macronut macronut wrote:

Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

Originally posted by macronut macronut wrote:



I have the camera sitting next to another A700, both with the Sony 16-50 2.8 SSM attached.   Both dials are set on Auto. All other settings the same. The working camera chooses 1/30 2.8 and takes a normal photo. The other camera chooses 1/1000 f9 and takes a black photo. The setup is indoors with dim lighting. If I point the faulty camera outside directly into the sun, it chooses the same settings. the photo is much better, but still too dark.

If you set the "Bad" camera to "M" and take a photo at 1/30 2.8; what do you get?
Is the AEL button functioning freely and correctly (not stuck)?
In cleaning mode "Menu" "wrench" "3" fourth down (mirror lock up); look at the sensor with a flash light. What colour is it?


Both camera sensors appear the same greenish color and look clean. AEL button seems normal.

and on manual, metered externally? No changes from Multi-segment, Center-Weighted, and Spot? No "frost" or haze on the sensor?


Edited by LAbernethy - 23 February 2022 at 03:48
 



Back to Top
macronut View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2012
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 811
Post Options Post Options   Quote macronut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 February 2022 at 01:49
Nope, no changes when I select between the choices.

Sensor looks normal.

Iíve not tried any external metering
Only from the mind of Macronut.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2789
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 February 2022 at 03:31
Well, short of the manual settings experiment, which will expose a sensor fault or software; I would put the blame, as a best guess, on a firmware installation interruption.
Back to Top
Hobgoblin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 1508
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hobgoblin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 February 2022 at 18:45
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

Well, short of the manual settings experiment, which will expose a sensor fault or software; I would put the blame, as a best guess, on a firmware installation interruption.


I think I might agree. V4 is still available for download, might be worth trying a re-install of it.
Back to Top
macronut View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2012
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 811
Post Options Post Options   Quote macronut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 February 2022 at 01:14
Originally posted by Hobgoblin Hobgoblin wrote:

Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

Well, short of the manual settings experiment, which will expose a sensor fault or software; I would put the blame, as a best guess, on a firmware installation interruption.


I think I might agree. V4 is still available for download, might be worth trying a re-install of it.



When I get the time, Iíll try that and report back. Thanks everyone!
Only from the mind of Macronut.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.