FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77 and HVL-F42

Author
a77owner View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 May 2016
Country: Greece
Location: Peristeri
Status: Offline
Posts: 41
Post Options Post Options   Quote a77owner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A77 and HVL-F42
    Posted: 17 January 2019 at 17:14
Hello
I have a camera A77 mark I and a flashgun Sony HVL F-42.I have the following problem.Sometimes the flash fired,sometimes not...I don't know why.I use it with A mode,or S mode or P mode but the problem remaining...
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14225
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 January 2019 at 17:43
Make sure the contacts on the camera shoe and the flash foot are clean. Probably a damp soft cloth would do the job. Also, sometimes there's too much physical slop in the mount, so you can try applying pressure in various ways to see if there's a particularly good or bad position.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1472
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 January 2019 at 19:01
not knowing in which situations the flash does not fire, it would be hard to guess at a diagnosis. that said; on the a77 flash control is it set to auto, fill, rear sync ? what are the flash controls on the flash set to? what batteries are in the flash?
Back to Top
a77owner View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 May 2016
Country: Greece
Location: Peristeri
Status: Offline
Posts: 41
Post Options Post Options   Quote a77owner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 April 2019 at 10:33
Hello
I tried with non rechargable bateries,and with rechargeable and the result is the same...The flash is set to fill.

Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 1472
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 April 2019 at 12:21
And the flash controls? make sure the flash mode is in the second (light bolt) position, level auto, zoom auto. With the flash attach and turned off, turn off the camera. turn on camera (first) turn on flash (second) should work fine but you'll need to adjust the flash comp. for A.

the flash attached power off/on is a throwback to the Minolta protocol. If not powered up correctly the camera will not fully recognize the flash.

If in S avoid sync speed problems.



Edited by LAbernethy - 29 April 2019 at 12:33
Back to Top
michelb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 August 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Montréal
Status: Offline
Posts: 614
Post Options Post Options   Quote michelb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 April 2019 at 12:24
What i am seeing from the LCD picture is that you are in A-Mode with flash recycled and ready but the shutter speed showing is 1/40sec which i find to be an odd shutter speed with flash. This tends to confirm some contacts between flash and body may not be good.
Cleaning of the contacts both on the body and flash would probably solve the issue.
Also to be checked: is there any major movement when you try moving the flash when it is installed on top of the body ?
Michel B
 



Back to Top
a77owner View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 May 2016
Country: Greece
Location: Peristeri
Status: Offline
Posts: 41
Post Options Post Options   Quote a77owner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 April 2019 at 16:13
Thank you for your answers
The flash is set to auto.I tried to clean the contacts with rubbing alcohol,i tried to test it again with camera and works.Maybe was need clean.I hope to continues to work!
Thank you again and sorry for my English!
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.