FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77 Menu Button non-responsive - help!

Author
glad2badad View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 665
Post Options Post Options   Quote glad2badad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A77 Menu Button non-responsive - help!
    Posted: 26 December 2018 at 16:48
Hi. Menu button on my A77 stopped being responsive a couple days ago. Frustrating. No way into the menu options that I know of otherwise - is there? Anyone else seen or heard of this happening on an A77? Googled it and didn't find anything that appeared related. Any chance of this getting fixed (for a reasonable amount - say less than $150)?

I guess in the meantime I'll have to dust off the A700 for backup use (it's currently my "water" use camera, i.e. kayak).
http://www.misterbsphotography.com, A7II, A77II, A77, A700, Lens ... too many to list. :-)
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14126
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 December 2018 at 19:15
Originally posted by glad2badad glad2badad wrote:

No way into the menu options that I know of otherwise - is there?

Nope. You've tried numerous blasts of compressed air? A tiny bit of spray contact cleaner if that didn't work?
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11217
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 December 2018 at 21:02
Does the button move normally when depressed? Cleaning it like syber suggested might fix it, if not you won't be able to get it fixed for that cost, flat rate fees are more than that alone and the part itself (rear cover switch block) will run you $70 on it's own. But it does look like the rear cover is easily removed and if you can source the switch block it should be a fairly easy DIY fix.

https://www.searspartsdirect.com/model-number/slta77vq/0996/0500140.html
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
glad2badad View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 665
Post Options Post Options   Quote glad2badad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 December 2018 at 23:06
Thank you both for the responses ... I'm going to try the compressed air suggestion first (I need to run into town tomorrow to get some).

Not sure what "contact cleaner" is. ???

The DIY Fix (switch block access) will be the last option. Hopefully one of the above will do the trick.

As for the button and movement; it does depress when pressed and feels 'normal'.
http://www.misterbsphotography.com, A7II, A77II, A77, A700, Lens ... too many to list. :-)
Back to Top
glad2badad View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 665
Post Options Post Options   Quote glad2badad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 December 2018 at 23:09
Ok, have to add a WOW! I never knew you could get those parts thru Sears. That's pretty awesome. Thanks!
http://www.misterbsphotography.com, A7II, A77II, A77, A700, Lens ... too many to list. :-)
Back to Top
mirthseeker View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2011
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 678
Post Options Post Options   Quote mirthseeker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 December 2018 at 23:22
Contact cleaner - the important thing is zero residue. Widely available.
 



Back to Top
glad2badad View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 665
Post Options Post Options   Quote glad2badad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 December 2018 at 00:46
Originally posted by mirthseeker mirthseeker wrote:

Contact cleaner - the important thing is zero residue. Widely available.

Thanks. Never used it before.
Additional note; one of the kids had compressed air ... just tried it - no luck. Trip to the hardware store tomorrow for the contact cleaner (I know we don't have any of that on hand). :-)
http://www.misterbsphotography.com, A7II, A77II, A77, A700, Lens ... too many to list. :-)
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11217
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 December 2018 at 02:06
Originally posted by glad2badad glad2badad wrote:

Ok, have to add a WOW! I never knew you could get those parts thru Sears. That's pretty awesome. Thanks!


I looked that site up not sure if it was still active because I knew they provided exploded diagrams, but as far as I know they no longer sell Sony camera parts but I could be wrong. A couple years ago Sony designated Encompass Parts as their parts distributor and list them in user manuals for replacement parts. But I did click on that switch block to Add to Cart and all seemed normal so I'm not sure, maybe it redirects to Encompass or it could be old stock still available through Sears, and years ago I did buy the a700 switch block from Sears to replace the skipping wheels.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
glad2badad View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 October 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 665
Post Options Post Options   Quote glad2badad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2018 at 04:34
Picked up the contact cleaner. Tried it 3 different times and no luck - menu button is still non-responsive. Crud.
http://www.misterbsphotography.com, A7II, A77II, A77, A700, Lens ... too many to list. :-)
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.