FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77 no longer recording GPS data

Author
alanfrombangor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 December 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bangor, Wales
Status: Offline
Posts: 3946
Post Options Post Options   Quote alanfrombangor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A77 no longer recording GPS data
    Posted: 09 May 2018 at 12:28
My A77 would normally get a fix fairly quickly, now it no longer responds.
1 minute timeout setting was sufficient, but I altered it to 30 min, left the camera out in the open for 20 min, still no fix.

GPS settings are correct:
GPS On/Off = On
GPS Auto Time Corr = On
Use GPS Assist Data = On
Valid period 2018-05-08 to 2018-06-07

I've concluded that the GPS unit has failed, has anyone else had this issue or can suggest anything else to try?
 



Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 24923
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2018 at 13:54
I've sometimes found that GPS units can get confused if the last place they mapped to was a long way away from where they are currently - works a bit better with mobile phones as they can be set to get an approximate fix from the signal tower or the internet... Where were you when the last photo you took with a fix was taken?
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Online
Posts: 14130
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2018 at 15:48
Originally posted by alanfrombangor alanfrombangor wrote:

I've concluded that the GPS unit has failed, has anyone else had this issue or can suggest anything else to try?

It happens. I once bought a second-hand A55 in mint condition, but I discovered pretty quickly that GPS didn't work. I knew what it should do because I already owned a properly working A55. I returned the camera to the seller and bought another one from someone else. (That one turned out to have a back-focus issue (which I fixed), but no problem with GPS.)
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Online
Posts: 11224
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2018 at 17:42
Is this a first time recent event? It's a remote possibility that space weather could be the culprit. Seems like the internet has been slow at times here the last couple days, I just now checked the SpaceWeather.com site and it seems we've been in a solar storm the past 5 days and are about to exit it, so maybe with the a77's weak GPS performance it can't lock on right now so maybe check again in a few days.
I also see there are 25 sun spots reported, little ones scattered about but enough for me to break out the solar filter.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
alanfrombangor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 December 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bangor, Wales
Status: Offline
Posts: 3946
Post Options Post Options   Quote alanfrombangor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2018 at 18:21
Last photo with a fix was Feb 24th, only about 8 miles from here.
Next photo I took was April 6th, no GPS data on this or subsequent photos.
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 24923
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2018 at 18:24
Originally posted by alanfrombangor alanfrombangor wrote:

Last photo with a fix was Feb 24th, only about 8 miles from here.
Next photo I took was April 6th, no GPS data on this or subsequent photos.


So much for my 'distance has confused it' theory..
 



Back to Top
alanfrombangor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 December 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bangor, Wales
Status: Offline
Posts: 3946
Post Options Post Options   Quote alanfrombangor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2018 at 09:45
Thanks for your observations, it's looking like it's failed.
Back to Top
Heavy-NL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 August 2018
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote Heavy-NL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 August 2018 at 15:01
Hi, I bought a second hand A77 and found out that if the gps assist file is out of date it takes forever to get a gps link. Just plug the camera to your PC with a USB cable after you installed the support software from SONY or do it manualy. Then gps works again.
Back to Top
alanfrombangor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 December 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bangor, Wales
Status: Offline
Posts: 3946
Post Options Post Options   Quote alanfrombangor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 August 2018 at 14:49
Hi Ruud, that's not it, assistme.dat is auto-updated when I plug the card reader into the PC to grab the images.
Back to Top
Heavy-NL View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 27 August 2018
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote Heavy-NL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 August 2018 at 15:15
Oh dear, that sucks big time. Maybe you can try one last thing, switch the camera on and wait outside in a open area until it get a fix. Sometimes gps takes much longer then normal to get a fix when it's not used for a while.

It may sound like "is there gas in the car?" advice but you never know.

Back to Top
alanfrombangor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 December 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bangor, Wales
Status: Offline
Posts: 3946
Post Options Post Options   Quote alanfrombangor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 January 2019 at 16:19
Problem solved, I bought a replacement from LCE for only £229, cheap because there's slight damage to a corner of the LCD, shutter count only 11000. Previous owner had GPS switched off, not everyone values it.

So now I have to decide whether to pay Sony £113 to fix the GPS on my original camera or to put it on ebay. I'm leaning towards the latter as I'm concerned Sony may post it back saying they can't fix it.
Back to Top
minolta_mutley View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 August 2010
Country: Belgium
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Posts: 528
Post Options Post Options   Quote minolta_mutley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 January 2019 at 20:11
One small detail that may be important. Time issues can give problems on pc's (https - AD and tons of other programs may act wierd).
When the clock is running seconds behind it's no problem to get https working, when the clock runs too fast (even 1 sec.) it's enough to get into trouble - and time-sync won't always work.
Just have a look at the internal clock of the camera.
Maybe do a complete system reset and check all settings (it's a lot of work, i know).
Back to Top
alanfrombangor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 05 December 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bangor, Wales
Status: Offline
Posts: 3946
Post Options Post Options   Quote alanfrombangor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 January 2019 at 15:47
Thanks for the suggestion, I tried an initialize then switched GPS on and set timeout to 5 minutes but it's still dead, the little dots below the GPS display weren't flashing so I'm pretty sure it's stopped working.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.