FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77 tethering support ?

Page  12>
Author
Adrian Harris View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 July 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 292
Post Options Post Options   Quote Adrian Harris Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A77 tethering support ?
    Posted: 06 September 2011 at 18:51
Although Sony say that the forthcoming A77 will not have tethering capability. Has anyone got any thoughts on whether it would be possible to write some software to hack in via either the USB, hdmi, or some other port ?

...or would Sony have that 'blocked off' via firmware?

I have never written software for cameras, so please excuse if my question seems naive.
Adrian

www.t1000.co.uk
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14392
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 September 2011 at 19:18
I'm not aware that anyone has ever hacked Alpha camera software for any purpose. I suppose it can be done, though.
Back to Top
travelshots View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 December 2007
Country: Germany
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 1052
Post Options Post Options   Quote travelshots Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 September 2011 at 20:00
Buying an external timer that can be connected to the remote control socket is a much easier solution.
Back to Top
jkp1 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2005
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 2285
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkp1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 September 2011 at 20:02
What about the SD wifi card ?
Unused stuff in stock: A700, 24-105, 28-135, Sony A100, beercan, 100-200, Sony 70-200f2.8 + teleconverter
Back to Top
Fuzzphoto View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 2546
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fuzzphoto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 September 2011 at 20:11
If the camera won't let itself being controlled over USB (HDMI will never allow this), then that't the end of the story. Only a firmware update could ever add tethering. With the current size and complexity of camera firmwares, hacking is becoming less and less a possibility.

Joris' Fuzzphoto gallery | A77II, A700+VG, NEX-5, other gear
Back to Top
Adrian Harris View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 July 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 292
Post Options Post Options   Quote Adrian Harris Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2011 at 12:23
Originally posted by travelshots travelshots wrote:

Buying an external timer that can be connected to the remote control socket is a much easier solution.


Sadly that won't help a lot when you are trying to show the client the images via a laptop - which photographer even do in the shopping arcades now when taking peoples or their childs photo.
Adrian

www.t1000.co.uk
 



Back to Top
Adrian Harris View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 July 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 292
Post Options Post Options   Quote Adrian Harris Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2011 at 12:25
Originally posted by Fuzzphoto Fuzzphoto wrote:

If the camera won't let itself being controlled over USB (HDMI will never allow this), then that't the end of the story. Only a firmware update could ever add tethering. With the current size and complexity of camera firmwares, hacking is becoming less and less a possibility.



Important pints - thank you.

The M4/3 owners are lucky in this respect, there are some very bright guys doing an excellent job of hacking and adding features to some of the Panasonics.
Adrian

www.t1000.co.uk
Back to Top
Serdar A View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 29 January 2009
Country: United States
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Status: Offline
Posts: 7128
Post Options Post Options   Quote Serdar A Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2011 at 14:44
I think it was a poor decision not to integrate the alphas with Sony branded computers, smartphones, tablets, etc. I would have ditched my iPhone for am Xperia if the latter enabled me to control the alpha remotely or offered remote live view (when the articulated LCD of the camera is not enough).
Back to Top
Sick View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 15 July 2009
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 1200
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2011 at 19:09
Originally posted by Serdar A Serdar A wrote:

I think it was a poor decision not to integrate the alphas with Sony branded computers, smartphones, tablets, etc. I would have ditched my iPhone for am Xperia if the latter enabled me to control the alpha remotely or offered remote live view (when the articulated LCD of the camera is not enough).
Ya I said this a hundred times as well.
But it's always the same with those huge companies.
They realize they need to have their products work together.
Than they make some products that actually connect.
But the next generations don't do any longer.
And 5 years later the company again realizes that they need to have their product departments interact.
And again it is a big announcement that they will have technologies interact better....
Back to Top
Serdar A View Drop Down
Emeritus group
Emeritus group

Joined: 29 January 2009
Country: United States
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Status: Offline
Posts: 7128
Post Options Post Options   Quote Serdar A Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2011 at 19:37
Seems the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing.
Sony's F65 CineAlta camera now has a price tag to match its name -- and its girth. The imager, which was first unveiled at this year's NAB Show, has now been officially released ahead of this week's IBC conference in Amsterdam. The newest member of the CineAlta family captures images in 4K (4096 x 2160) resolution and features a speedy 20.4 megapixel, Super 35mm CMOS sensor, capable of reaching up to 72fps at 4K resolution and 120fps on 2K. The F65 also comes boasts 16-bit RAW output at 19Gbps on 4K and WiFi connectivity that allows you to manipulate it from the comfort of your tablet. The shooter won't start shipping until January, but filmmakers or production houses with lots of disposable income can order one now, for a mere $65,000. More details await you in the press release, after the break.
Back to Top
Photosopher View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 13 June 2010
Country: United States
Location: St. Louis Mo
Status: Offline
Posts: 4190
Post Options Post Options   Quote Photosopher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2011 at 20:00
It's just absurd there is no tethering support. Inexcusable actually... both NEX and SLT Sony's are really dropping the ball here. We live in a computer age. A photographer should have NO ISSUES when it comes to controlling a camera. Ridiculous Sony.
Back to Top
Adrian Harris View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 July 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 292
Post Options Post Options   Quote Adrian Harris Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 September 2011 at 08:11
Yes I agree with all points above - and what really annoyed / annoys, me about sony, is that in their latest presentation all they go on about is how all their products integrate seemlessly with each other. Which is something sony has always spectaculary failed to do !

Sony and Integration reminds me of an old saying: They talk the talk, but don't walk the walk!
Adrian

www.t1000.co.uk
Back to Top
Johnc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 06 November 2007
Country: Australia
Location: Brisbane
Status: Offline
Posts: 131
Post Options Post Options   Quote Johnc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 September 2011 at 02:50
Will also join the chorus and have to say this, amongst other concern, is a feature that is stopping me buying the A77.

It is imo a basic requirement (A700 has it) and I believe Sony has really dropped the ball here and I have to wonder at their wisdom - or lack of it.

I have used and owned Sony gear from the 707, 717, 728, R1 etc and currently own the A700 and A850. I enjoy the results they produce and not the pixel peeping that seems to transfix so many folk today.

I don't wish to be negative, but....I have for the first time decided to stop any further investment in cameras, lens and accessories - till I get a better feel on where Sony may be going. May never find the answer the question, but I feel its time I take a big breath...
a99ii, A7R2, α99, A6000 & Nex5
Back to Top
Tubal View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 02 June 2011
Status: Offline
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tubal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 September 2011 at 03:13
Why not connect it to a monitor via HDMI? Then a remote trigger will fire the shutter.
a100|a700 x2|a77|Sony 18-200mm|Min 50mm f1.7|Sony 28mm f2.8|Sony 500mm f8|Sony 70-200mm|CZ 24-70mm|Sony 70-400mm|Viv 7mm|CZ 85mm|Sony 16-50mm
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.