FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77ii and micro adjusting

Author
glefebvre View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 August 2009
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 176
Post Options Post Options   Quote glefebvre Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A77ii and micro adjusting
    Posted: 17 January 2022 at 19:52
Recently I purchased a Minolta 100-400 f/4.5-6.7 APO tele-zoom lens. When it is attached to my A77ii I'm unable to do a micro adjusted to it even though the micro adjustment is turned on the menu the item to make the adjustment is greyed out. After this I tried the rest of my lenses and found the Minolta 35-70 f/4 zoom and Minolta 500 f/8 RF lens are the same as the 100-400 on the A77ii, the micro adjustment items is greyed out.

Has anyone with an A77ii noticed this with these lens or others? Any ideas as to why this might be happening?

It is interesting that all of my A-mount lenses are micro adjustable on my A900, A99ii and the A7R/LA-EA4 combo. Therefore I know the lenses are working fine and the are adjustable.
a99m2 a7r a900 a77m2 a700 7D A2 9 7 7xi 9000 XK X700x4 XE-7x2 XD-11 M645 Pro TLx2 & a boat load of lenses.
 



Back to Top
Maccroft View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 11 December 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Tyne & Wear
Status: Offline
Posts: 93
Post Options Post Options   Quote Maccroft Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 January 2022 at 20:50
Not got the 100-400 or 35-70. Do have the Minolta 500 f/8 which on my A77ii the AF micro adjust is not greyed out.
Do you have any other lenses to try on your A77ii?
Back to Top
glefebvre View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 August 2009
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 176
Post Options Post Options   Quote glefebvre Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 January 2022 at 16:02
I think I might have figured out why the micro adjustment is greyed out. When I enter the Clear option it indicates that 30 adjustments will be cleared. My A77ii was purchase as a used camera and therefore if might have already had some lenses setup for micro adjustment. I'll have to attach all of my lenses, write down their adjustments, Clear all the adjustments and then attach the three lenses list above to see if the micro adjustment is still greyed out or not. Of course I'll have to attach all of my lenses and reinput their adjustment.
a99m2 a7r a900 a77m2 a700 7D A2 9 7 7xi 9000 XK X700x4 XE-7x2 XD-11 M645 Pro TLx2 & a boat load of lenses.
Back to Top
glefebvre View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 August 2009
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 176
Post Options Post Options   Quote glefebvre Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 January 2022 at 17:55
After writing down all the lens micro adjustments for all my lenses and selecting the Clear option and clearing out all micro adjustments the micro adjustment option for 35-70, 100-400 and 500 are no longer greyed out. I've got too many lenses (33) to add them all in. Now I have figure out which lenses I want to add back in and which lenses I don't.
a99m2 a7r a900 a77m2 a700 7D A2 9 7 7xi 9000 XK X700x4 XE-7x2 XD-11 M645 Pro TLx2 & a boat load of lenses.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13086
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 January 2022 at 19:18
Problem solved
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 2401
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 January 2022 at 20:22
Originally posted by glefebvre glefebvre wrote:

After writing down all the lens micro adjustments for all my lenses and selecting the Clear option and clearing out all micro adjustments the micro adjustment option for 35-70, 100-400 and 500 are no longer greyed out. I've got too many lenses (33) to add them all in. Now I have figure out which lenses I want to add back in and which lenses I don't.


Do all your lenses need adjustment? Most of mine are fine without so I haven't hit the limit yet. My biggest problem is owning multiple copies of a lens - eg the 50/1.7 and 50/1.7 RS (which the cameras see as the same lens}, even though one needs adjustment and the other doesn't.                     
 



Back to Top
glefebvre View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 August 2009
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 176
Post Options Post Options   Quote glefebvre Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 January 2022 at 20:43
Yes, all of the lenses need some adjustment. Most are to the negative side of things with a few that need a positive adjustment. The only duplicate lens I have is the Minolta 24-105mm f/3.5-4.5 and the Sony version of it (they are pretty dups of each other in adjustment).

One day I may go back are re-evaluate all of the lens adjustment not only for A77ii but also the a99ii, A900 and A7R/LA-EA4.

It is interesting that the A99ii and A900's adjustments are +/- but close to 0 whereas the A77ii has some that are close to 0 and then other that are -10+. Haven't gone through my lenses with the A7R/LA-EA4 adapter yet, that next on the list.
a99m2 a7r a900 a77m2 a700 7D A2 9 7 7xi 9000 XK X700x4 XE-7x2 XD-11 M645 Pro TLx2 & a boat load of lenses.
Back to Top
TomV View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 29 September 2015
Country: United States
Location: Annapolis MD
Status: Offline
Posts: 55
Post Options Post Options   Quote TomV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 January 2022 at 06:41
My son and I each have the a99ii. We also have a couple of lenses that have fairly different MFA values, the others being relatively close.
Most, though not all, of my longer lenses have non-0 values.
TomV
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.