FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77ii firmware update issue with focus

Page  <123>
Author
crysania View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 March 2015
Country: United States
Location: New York state
Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Post Options Post Options   Quote crysania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 December 2020 at 15:36
Originally posted by neilt3 neilt3 wrote:

Originally posted by crysania crysania wrote:



Mine is the difference between the dog's eyes and their ears.


Great Dane or Pug ?


LOL in between those. Border Collie and a mix with a similiar face. I've been able to correct it by just picking a microadjust that pulls the focus forward a bit, but I've not done it with any precision. So it should be fixable. Just...annoying.
 



Back to Top
crysania View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 March 2015
Country: United States
Location: New York state
Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Post Options Post Options   Quote crysania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 December 2020 at 15:43
Like I fixed it here by moving the focus a little bit forward.



That's one of the dogs I usually take photos of.
Back to Top
Matt View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 30 November 2005
Country: Netherlands
Location: Limburg
Status: Offline
Posts: 662
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 December 2020 at 17:49
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:


Were your micro focus adjustments before or after the firmware update? I don't use the mark 2 much and haven't bothered with going through and doing the adjustments.

After.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2678
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2020 at 01:03
Originally posted by crysania crysania wrote:

Like I fixed it here by moving the focus a little bit forward.



That's one of the dogs I usually take photos of.


Lovely dog .
And with that ear to eye ratio a bit of AF micro adjust on your lenses should solve the problem .
Set up a ruler diagonally to the sensor and a stood up at the centre point to lock focus on .
The ruler tells you how far your out front or back .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2319
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2020 at 03:03
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

Focused on the Sony logo and the plane of focus on the ISO button is a big difference..... Doubt micro adjust covers that. But it is worth a try.

Micro adjustment -14 for the Minolta AF 135mm F2.8.
Now just 27 lenses to go. Thanks SONY. Awesome "improvement" on a camera that was just fine.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11792
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2020 at 08:33
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

Focused on the Sony logo and the plane of focus on the ISO button is a big difference..... Doubt micro adjust covers that. But it is worth a try.

Micro adjustment -14 for the Minolta AF 135mm F2.8.
Now just 27 lenses to go. Thanks SONY. Awesome "improvement" on a camera that was just fine.
I read some sarcasm here, but I think you were just somewhat unlucky as my and others lenses are just fine. Just 27 lenses to go and you can enjoy the improvements of firmware version 2.0. Lucky you
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
 



Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2319
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2020 at 11:43
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

I read some sarcasm here, but I think you were just somewhat unlucky as my and others lenses are just fine. Just 27 lenses to go and you can enjoy the improvements of firmware version 2.0. Lucky you

I tapped out at an even dozen, surprised that the DT lenses I thought were fine actually weren't. Maybe now I'll use it more than just having it as a back-up to a back-up to a back-up
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11792
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2020 at 16:38
Back-up to a back-up to a back-up to your main camera
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
crysania View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 March 2015
Country: United States
Location: New York state
Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Post Options Post Options   Quote crysania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2020 at 16:47
Jealous that this is someone's backup camera. This IS my main camera. I can't afford anything better at this point, so I need this thing to work!
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11792
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 December 2020 at 17:56
Do the micro adjust. It seems doable, it might take some time, but your camera will work fine again.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2319
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2020 at 00:38
Originally posted by crysania crysania wrote:

Jealous that this is someone's backup camera. This IS my main camera. I can't afford anything better at this point, so I need this thing to work!

I still have issues with EVF's; the term "loath" has been bandied about. I received the a77II as a Christmas gift not to be abused, paired with an a99 because of the hot shoe. An a700, a850 and a77 mark 1 are still in use.
The a77II is a good camera with decent specs in a form factor that I like. I'm sure once you've worked the micro adjustments yours will be just fine.


Edited by LAbernethy - 18 December 2020 at 23:05
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3830
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2020 at 13:55
Just use f8. You won't notice the AF error then.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
crysania View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 26 March 2015
Country: United States
Location: New York state
Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Post Options Post Options   Quote crysania Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2020 at 14:00
Originally posted by Miranda F Miranda F wrote:

Just use f8. You won't notice the AF error then.


LOL except the focus is BEHIND where I focus, so the ears and everything back would be in focus, but not the eyes!

Would suck for pictures in the woods too. LOL
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2678
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 December 2020 at 14:03
Originally posted by crysania crysania wrote:

Originally posted by Miranda F Miranda F wrote:

Just use f8. You won't notice the AF error then.


LOL except the focus is BEHIND where I focus, so the ears and everything back would be in focus, but not the eyes!

Would suck for pictures in the woods too. LOL


So focus on the dogs nose and it's eyes will be pin sharp .
Jobs a good 'un !
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  <123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.