FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A77ii intermittent camera error

Page  12>
Author
jb92346 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 October 2021
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote jb92346 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A77ii intermittent camera error
    Posted: 25 October 2021 at 07:22
Hi all.

Out of the blue after only 24.000 clicks, my A77ii started showing a camera error.
The weird thing is it happens in less than a minutes after I turn the camera on: there is a shutter sound, and then the camera error. I have to remove the battery and restart.

BUT

if I take a couple photos just after turning it on, there is no camera error.

Everything else works perfectly, no ibis error, first curtain on/off doesn't have any influence, ibis or ss on or off doesn't have any influence either, tried all my batteires, different SD cards, factory reset: no change.

It's just if I don't take a photo just after it's turned on, I get the camera error.

Any idea? should I get ready to mourn it?
 



Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2788
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 October 2021 at 13:26
Most likely a capacitor or regulator. The error code might be in error, like the check engine light in your car.
Try this:
1) remove lens / secure body cap
2) remove battery and SD card
3) place SILICA GEL DESICCANTS or KRAFT BAG CLAY DESICCANTS / 1 or 2 bags depending on size in battery compartment
4) place in large zip-lock freezer bag / remove air
5) place in refrigerator overnight
6) move from refrigerator to freezer for 14 days
7) return to refrigerator overnight
8) remove from refrigerator / leave in bag for 2 days
9) remove from freezer bag, remove silica or clay bag
10) put in fresh charged genuine battery.

the length of time and cold is to rundown all residual power in the camera.
Back to Top
jb92346 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 October 2021
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote jb92346 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 October 2021 at 15:29
well, that sounds like black magic but why not.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2788
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 October 2021 at 15:49
Not really. There are very few moving parts in the a77II. Barring an insect getting in while changing lens and gumming up the shutter for example the problem is electrical. Even most of the moving parts are electrical in nature. If you remove the battery you don't lose your settings time date etc. There is an internal battery and power in the capacitors. If it is a code error this will clear it. If it is a faulty unit it will not. Your problem seems on again off again more like faulty wiring, but it is worth a try. If you have many of the silica packs put a couple in the bag outside the camera, you do not want any frost inside or outside the camera.

Edited by LAbernethy - 26 October 2021 at 00:22
Back to Top
jb92346 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 October 2021
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote jb92346 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 October 2021 at 16:14
I will definitely give it a try. I have a few other cameras I can use.
Back to Top
jb92346 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 October 2021
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote jb92346 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 October 2021 at 06:22
before putting it in the refrigerator, I noticed something else.
the flash is not working. I never even tried to use it before, so I don't know for how long it has been going.

In summary:
- turning on, doing nothing: camera error in 10 to 30sec.
- turning on, taking a photo: no camera error, and the camera can operate normally until the battery dies.
- turning on, taking a photo, then later trying to use the flash: after 20 sec, there is a camera error.

 



Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2788
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 October 2021 at 02:45
well then, the camera error is legit, and sounds like a fuse is popped too. get ready to mourn it.
Back to Top
jb92346 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 October 2021
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote jb92346 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 05:58
well, the refrigerator did nothing.

I downloaded the services manuals, opened the camera: on visual inspection, nothing wrong.
I tested the flash capacitor: it's good.
I tested the flash bulb: it's good.
I tested the 7 fuses on the mainboard: all are good.
I tested the voltage regulators: all good and steady.

without the service software and more details on the boot process and self checks, nothing more I can do.
Back to Top
amrep View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 February 2015
Country: Norway
Status: Offline
Posts: 294
Post Options Post Options   Quote amrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 07:42
Originally posted by jb92346 jb92346 wrote:

The weird thing is it happens in less than a minutes after I turn the camera on: there is a shutter sound, and then the camera error. I have to remove the battery and restart.

"there is a shutter sound" - I think this is an important clue!

First, try to make sure the sound really is from the shutter (the aperture motor and the focus motor clutch can make similar sounds). Look carefully, any signs of movement of the shutter?

You may also try to operate the AF clutch and aperture (there is a stop down button opposite of the AF selector) immediately after the camera turns on (to see if they can work as an alternative to taking a picture "for bringing the camera back on track").
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2788
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 11:32
Originally posted by jb92346 jb92346 wrote:

well, the refrigerator did nothing.

I downloaded the services manuals, opened the camera: on visual inspection, nothing wrong.
I tested the flash capacitor: it's good.
I tested the flash bulb: it's good.
I tested the 7 fuses on the mainboard: all are good.
I tested the voltage regulators: all good and steady.

without the service software and more details on the boot process and self checks, nothing more I can do.

the internal battery? no flash and the fuse and bulb are good? It still sounds like a break in the line or a short. you're getting power where it shouldn't be and power not where it should be.


Edited by LAbernethy - 09 November 2021 at 11:48
Back to Top
jb92346 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 October 2021
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote jb92346 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 12:29
Originally posted by amrep amrep wrote:


"there is a shutter sound" - I think this is an important clue!

First, try to make sure the sound really is from the shutter (the aperture motor and the focus motor clutch can make similar sounds). Look carefully, any signs of movement of the shutter?

You may also try to operate the AF clutch and aperture (there is a stop down button opposite of the AF selector) immediately after the camera turns on (to see if they can work as an alternative to taking a picture "for bringing the camera back on track").


I checked: it is indeed a shutter sound: the shutter moving just before I get the camera error.

I tried to operate the AF clutch and the DOF preview button: I still get the camera error.


Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

the internal battery? no flash and the fuse and bulb are good? It still sounds like a break in the line or a short. you're getting power where it shouldn't be and power not where it should be.


The internal battery delivers 2.9v. There is no indication of what the normal voltage should be in the service manual.

It could be indeed a break or a short somewhere.

My current thinking is, during boot up, the camera is self checking for a lot of stuff, and returns a camera error. But if I take a photo, it might sorta be force aborting those self tests.

It must definitely be related to the flash function, because if I try to turn on the flash, nothign happens and after 10/20 secondsI get a camera error again. (I tried all the possible flash settings in the menu, makes no difference)


That thing is about to become a rabbit hole. It's quite stupid because I don't really need (or even really ever liked) that camera. I just need to understand what is wrong with it.

Back to Top
jb92346 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 October 2021
Country: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote jb92346 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 12:33
additionnal details: that camera never fell, never was exposed to rain, and I always used genuine Sony batteries.
I took it with me for a walk earlier, it worked absolutely flawlessly exactly as if it was brand new: I just had to take a photo after turning it on.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2788
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 15:29
You say that removing the battery reset the camera with the error, just turning it off does not, correct? Activating shutter at start up, no error. Can you turn off the camera and turn it back on in the no error state? Or does it awake from power saver mode with no error? Not that any of this will make a lick of difference, camera error = finished, the fix and parts is usually not worth it with consumer electronics. A perplexing problem though.

Edited by LAbernethy - 09 November 2021 at 16:21
Back to Top
amrep View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 February 2015
Country: Norway
Status: Offline
Posts: 294
Post Options Post Options   Quote amrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 November 2021 at 17:28
Originally posted by jb92346 jb92346 wrote:

I checked: it is indeed a shutter sound: the shutter moving just before I get the camera error.
I tried to operate the AF clutch and the DOF preview button: I still get the camera error.

OK! I think this clearly indicates that the shutter is part of the problem.

I don't know if it's exactly the same, but your A77 problem reminds me of the frequent A55 (and A33) "aging shutter problem". To my understanding, the worn A55 shutter (charger motor ?) starts to draw more power, and some protection circuit in every genuine Sony NP-FM500H somehow senses this and triggers the error. When using a non Sony battery (not *info* lithium) the problem may go away until the shutter is completely worn out.

You may want to read about the A55camera error. Here is one link (but this is a known A55/A33 problem and you may search for more links):

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3595697
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.