FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A7Rii + Pocket Wizard

Author
waltlange View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 23 June 2016
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote waltlange Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A7Rii + Pocket Wizard
    Posted: 23 June 2016 at 22:17
I'm going to attend a photo workshop that says they'll be using Pocket Wizards to trigger their studio flash setups. I'm an A7Rii owner but I don't have a PW to test ahead of time. They'll loan me one there.

Has anyone here attached a Pocket Wizard trigger to an A7Rii camera to use with studio flashes? I've searched a number of forums and have received ample "speculation" as to what could/would/should or might happen, but what I'm really looking for is someone who's actually attached a Pocket Wizard to an A7Rii with the intent of triggering studio flashes. If anyone has actually done this, please let me know, let me know what settings may be relevant specific to the Pocket Wizard, and of course let me know how well it worked. I'm hoping this should save me some trouble before I enter the studio.

Thanks in advance
 



Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14192
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 June 2016 at 22:28
Originally posted by waltlange waltlange wrote:

I've searched a number of forums and have received ample "speculation" as to what could/would/should or might happen ...

There are several different varieties and generations of Pocket Wizards - none of which are expressly made for Sony cameras in general or the A7RII in particular - so speculation is unavoidable without specifics. Have you seen this from the ultimate experts?
Back to Top
waltlange View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 23 June 2016
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote waltlange Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 June 2016 at 22:54
Unfortunately I don't have the specifics on which generation of Pocket Wizard and that's on me though I didn't know to ask. I have in fact seen your link to the Pocket Wizard Wiki and it most certainly does not answer the question I'm posing. In fact I would think that there'd be no need for speculation whatsoever if someone had actually used an A7Rii with a Pocket Wizard and could speak to me from their experience. Nonetheless, thanks for responding to my post.

Originally posted by sybersitizen sybersitizen wrote:

Originally posted by waltlange waltlange wrote:

I've searched a number of forums and have received ample "speculation" as to what could/would/should or might happen ...

There are several different varieties and generations of Pocket Wizards - none of which are expressly made for Sony cameras in general or the A7RII in particular - so speculation is unavoidable without specifics. Have you seen this from the ultimate experts?
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14192
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 June 2016 at 23:05
There might not be anyone in this forum who has used a PW of any kind with an A7RII ... so, if that turns out to be the case, there's always this statement from the company: 'Current PocketWizard radios can be used with Sony cameras and flashes in manual mode only, up to X-sync, without TTL. You may need to use an adapter, depending on which style of Sony hot shoe your camera or flash has.' I can tell you that an adapter will not be needed with the A7RII.
Back to Top
waltlange View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 23 June 2016
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote waltlange Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 June 2016 at 03:06
If no one here can speak from experience regarding A7Rii and Pocket Wizard, then so be it. I was thinking that since many studios and workshops have adopted PW as a standard that there might be a pro photog with some studio experience that could step forward. Apparently I'm on the bleeding edge without company out here. Worst case is I'll have to revert to on-camera flash (horror upon horror) and let the fancy studio flash go to waste.
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11333
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 June 2016 at 12:46
Not many people here use Pocket Wizards (I do) because there are better options. With any Sony camera, no matter if an adapter is needed or not, PW's are just simple flash triggers with no control over flash output, you'll need to set the flash power manually and use the camera in Manual mode to get a correct exposure. A light meter that can trigger PW's helps out a lot also.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
 



Back to Top
DFadel View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 30 October 2006
Status: Offline
Posts: 71
Post Options Post Options   Quote DFadel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 June 2016 at 18:18
I have the Plus IIs and they work fine as flash triggers. Triggering the camera with them is another story - I've yet to find a compatible cable setup.
Back to Top
waltlange View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 23 June 2016
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Post Options Post Options   Quote waltlange Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 June 2016 at 19:51
I'm an infrequent attendee of photo workshops, so my first concern was to verify from someone with actual experience that the A7Rii does work with Pocket Wizard. Sounds to me like you're saying that specific combination has worked for you. Can you tell me anything about which model PW you use? I've also read "speculation" as to whether the hot shoe firing pin is best aligned for A7Rii, have you seen any trouble from your experience? And of course, thank you very much for responding.

BTW, I'm not so much worried about controlling lights remotely from the camera. At previous workshops I optically triggered studio lights with fixed settings. I'm perfectly happy with that mode of photography.

Originally posted by stiuskr stiuskr wrote:

Not many people here use Pocket Wizards (I do) because there are better options. With any Sony camera, no matter if an adapter is needed or not, PW's are just simple flash triggers with no control over flash output, you'll need to set the flash power manually and use the camera in Manual mode to get a correct exposure. A light meter that can trigger PW's helps out a lot also.
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11333
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 June 2016 at 00:10
I have a MultiMax and a couple Plus IIs using them on an a99, a different camera but the exact same hot shoe as the a7RII. It is a sloppy fit, the locking ring on the PW's won't lock it tight and it doesn't take much effort to wiggle it off but I've never had one fall off. But even though there's enough of a gap along the sides that it can wiggle it's still centered over the pin and will fire every single time you want it to.

Originally posted by DFadel DFadel wrote:

I have the Plus IIs and they work fine as flash triggers. Triggering the camera with them is another story - I've yet to find a compatible cable setup.


I have the PW camera trigger cable that works OK. It's tricky to use as it locks the camera into half-press shutter mode and is only good for one shot at a time no matter how you have the camera set, and for some reason you have to use the Flash port instead of the Camera/flash port but it works for me and I can even use the MultiMax's intervalometer mode for time lapse.

http://www.pocketwizard.com/products/cable_accessory/cameracables/s-rms1am-acc/
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
WilmarcoImaging View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 12 January 2018
Country: United States
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Posts: 33
Post Options Post Options   Quote WilmarcoImaging Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 January 2019 at 00:29
Hello all,

Trying to get a Dynax 9 to trigger a PocketWizard Plus II.   

I have Minolta FS-1100 and it fits mechanically perfectly on the Dynax 9 body.   With this setup, I can trigger a Minolta 4000AF. I cannot trigger the PocketWizard Plus II. This tells me the FS-1100 is working.

Furthermore, I can trigger a Sunpak 622 Pro with the dedicated Minota module MX-1AF, through the FS-1100 on the Dynax 9. All good so far.

Additionally, I can trigger the Minolta 4000AF on a Canon AE-1 Program body.

The PocketWizard documentation suggests a Flash Zebra item which appears to be the Minolta FS-1100 shoe adapter.   I am confident my hardware is as recommended by PocketWizard.

What is the flaw in this system? Can anyone speak from experience using a Dynax 9 and a PocketWizard Plus II? Thanks for any comments.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3348
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 January 2019 at 09:54
Does your Dynax 9 have the later software update?
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
WilmarcoImaging View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 12 January 2018
Country: United States
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Posts: 33
Post Options Post Options   Quote WilmarcoImaging Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 January 2019 at 02:01
Miranda F, not sure, how do I check this?   It has SSM.
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3348
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 January 2019 at 21:29
Then it has.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lighting

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.