FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A99 firmware

Author
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2913
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A99 firmware
    Posted: 16 February 2018 at 20:25
I have an A99 on firmware 1.00 and trying to update to 1.02, but having downloaded it from both sony.com.sg and sony.co.uk for mac OSX, my Macbook pro on OSX Sierra say:

'You can't use this version of the application "FirmwareUpdater" with this version of macOS'

Has anyone got any idea how to get round this? There's a post about the issue here

UPDATE:
Remembered I have an old iMac running El Capitain upstairs which is supported. Downloaded the updater, but it fails at the first hurdle. Connects to the camera but then says it needs to abort. Searching online it seems to be because the updater can't handle 64 bit mode. Tried booting in 32 bit mode (holding 3 and 2 keys on boot) but that didn't work. Now having an online chat with sony support...

Server Message: 22:52:22

Please wait one moment...

Carlo (C8DT): 22:53:21

Welcome to Sony DI and Alpha Chat Support. My name is Carlo. Please allow me a moment to review your concern.

Carlo (C8DT): 22:54:26

I understand that you're unable to update your camera firmware using your MAC OSX 10.12.6 version. Is that correct?

You: 22:54:37

Yes that's rigt

You: 22:54:41

*right

Carlo (C8DT): 22:55:10

I understand your concern. Let me assist you with this issue.

Carlo (C8DT): 22:58:40

Actually, we are having problem with MAC version. You can try to install a driver loader but we can't guarantee that this will work. The driver loader is for 10.10 and 10.11 but you can still use it on your computer. Let us try if this will work.

You: 22:59:08

I think I tried that, but can you give me the links / instructions on how to do it

Carlo (C8DT): 22:59:56

Okay. Please check the link provided below.

Carlo (C8DT): 23:00:03

https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/swu-download.pl?mdl=ILCE6000&upd_id=10143&os_group_id=3

Carlo (C8DT): 23:00:08

Please copy and paste the link provided on a different browser window, so that we can continue this chat session. Let me know if you can access the link provided.

You: 23:00:41

(FYI, Mac sierra came out on 20th September 2016 - that's 16 months ago. It's poor form it's taking this long to provide a fix)

Carlo (C8DT): 23:01:12

I understand that. Actually, it is MAC security authentication that causes this issue.

Carlo (C8DT): 23:02:47

Are you able to access the link provided?

You: 23:04:04

Yes. Have downloaded it, copied it into a folder on my desktop, but when I double click the DriverLoader (or right click and select open), it flashes as if to show it's starting up, but nothing appears

Carlo (C8DT): 23:05:15

You may need to restart the computer and try it again.

You: 23:05:37

Ok. Can I have a case number or something so I can pick up the chat where we've left off?

Carlo (C8DT): 23:06:32

We don't have case number here. Don't worry, we can back track the previous session here so that you don't need to start over again.

Edited by Tricky01 - 16 February 2018 at 22:07
A7iii, 15f2, 16-35f4, 24-105G, 35f1.8, 85f1.8, 135f1.8GM, 100-400GM, 1.4xTC // A mount: Sig180 3.5 Macro, Gitzo Traveller, Flashes+PixelKings website
 



Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11376
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 February 2018 at 23:53
Anybody close to you with a Windows machine, or one at work to use?
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2913
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 February 2018 at 23:58
Unfortunately work computer is locked down to prevent executables. Was tempted to bootcamp Windows xp but seems a bit over kill! Think youíre right, just need to find a nearby friend or neighbour to use their Mac. Ridiculous that thatís what is required though.
A7iii, 15f2, 16-35f4, 24-105G, 35f1.8, 85f1.8, 135f1.8GM, 100-400GM, 1.4xTC // A mount: Sig180 3.5 Macro, Gitzo Traveller, Flashes+PixelKings website
Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 2913
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2018 at 20:35
After a lot of online chat with Sony, nothing would work. Not the old iMac running OS X 11 or the MacBook Pro on Sierra (or then high Sierra after updating). Crazy that Sony donít have a solution for firmware updates on Mac - and seems to be a lot of cameras affected. Anyway, in the end I pulled a 10 year old windows laptop out of the attic just to update the firmware. Now all sorted.
A7iii, 15f2, 16-35f4, 24-105G, 35f1.8, 85f1.8, 135f1.8GM, 100-400GM, 1.4xTC // A mount: Sig180 3.5 Macro, Gitzo Traveller, Flashes+PixelKings website
Back to Top
owenn01 View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 20 May 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Kent
Status: Offline
Posts: 10639
Post Options Post Options   Quote owenn01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2018 at 21:20
Hi Simon,

Thanks for documenting your trials and tribulations for the Members to share; I have a specific interest in having an a99 and a Mac! I will, therefore, be using my wife's Win 10 pc for any future firmware updates - and yes; unbelievable that Sony seem to ignore a major 'player' in the home and professional computing world...

Best regards, Neil.
My Mantra: "Comment on other's work as you would wish to have yours commented upon". Go on - it's fun!
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3458
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 February 2018 at 18:35
Well, that makes a pleasant change! As a windows phone user I'm continually faced with apps that work on everything *except* windows. Good to see some Mac users getting the same treatment!
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
 



Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 913
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 August 2019 at 20:48
I have seen an A99 for sale - a Japanese market model, reportedly limited to Japanese language. If I bought it could I use a firmware update to convert to the multilanguage export version?
Back to Top
stiuskr View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Joined: 01 September 2006
Country: United States
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
Posts: 11376
Post Options Post Options   Quote stiuskr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2019 at 00:47
If it's a Japan only market camera there are no other language options available, firmware updates are universal for Japan and International bodies and wouldn't add a language selection.
Rob Suits Jr.
a99M2 a99 a77 a700 KM7D|Min24/2.8 Min35/2 So50/1.4 So50/2.8 Min85/1.4G Tam90/2.8 Tam180/3.5|Tam17-50 CZ24-70G2 KM28-75D So70-200G1 So70-300G So70-400G1| SonyF60 AD200R2
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 913
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2019 at 10:58
Thanks stiuskr - in that case I'll give it a miss.
Back to Top
adhox View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 September 2016
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 249
Post Options Post Options   Quote adhox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2019 at 16:21
It could be the excuse you've been needing to finally get around to learning Japanese.

Despite how often I holiday in Japan, my Japanese language skills remain poor; I wonder whether my wife would understand my need to buy a cheaper Japanese version of a camera is just so that I improve my Japanese
A99ii + 16-35Z | 24-70Z | 24-105 | 70-200G | 100-300 | 70-300G | 70-400G
20 | 28 | 50 | 300 | 500
A6600 + 10-18 | 16-70Z | 18-135 | 70-200/4G | 70-350G | 200-600G
28 | 56 | 85
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 913
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2019 at 17:38
Originally posted by Atom Ant Oz Atom Ant Oz wrote:

It could be the excuse you've been needing to finally get around to learning Japanese.

Despite how often I holiday in Japan, my Japanese language skills remain poor; I wonder whether my wife would understand my need to buy a cheaper Japanese version of a camera is just so that I improve my Japanese


Judging by your kit list you already have a very understanding wife.
Back to Top
adhox View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 September 2016
Country: Australia
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Posts: 249
Post Options Post Options   Quote adhox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2019 at 18:21
Originally posted by Phil Wood Phil Wood wrote:

Judging by your kit list you already have a very understanding wife.

The advantage of A-mount - my A99ii is the only A-mount equipment I have that I purchased new; my A77ii and all of my lenses were all purchased second hand, some of them at embarassing prices.

Whereas I've had to rely on good sales discounts for my E-mount -only two of lenses were purchased second hand, although I've done pretty well for prices on for most of the new stuff.

My wife has only recently shown interest in photography and asked whether I had a spare camera that she could have instead of relying on her phone. (I did, so she now has a camera).

But yes, she's understanding. At a recent photowalk she had to caution one of my friends about them dropping me in it for having a new lens - she said that he should be more discreet until he knew whether she already knew about the latest toy.
A99ii + 16-35Z | 24-70Z | 24-105 | 70-200G | 100-300 | 70-300G | 70-400G
20 | 28 | 50 | 300 | 500
A6600 + 10-18 | 16-70Z | 18-135 | 70-200/4G | 70-350G | 200-600G
28 | 56 | 85
Back to Top
Maccroft View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 11 December 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Tyne & Wear
Status: Offline
Posts: 79
Post Options Post Options   Quote Maccroft Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 August 2019 at 20:48
There is an article online were someone gives instructions in how to convert a Japenese version to English language.
Not for the faint hearted as they do give a warning about don't blame them if you brick the camera. As you need to know how to edit code.

So probably be better off trying to get a proper international version with English already built in.
Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 913
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 August 2019 at 01:14
Originally posted by Maccroft Maccroft wrote:

There is an article online were someone gives instructions in how to convert a Japenese version to English language.
Not for the faint hearted as they do give a warning about don't blame them if you brick the camera. As you need to know how to edit code.

So probably be better off trying to get a proper international version with English already built in.


Had a google and found this - quite a complex hack! I'll give it a miss.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount full frame

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.