FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Adobe Lens Profiles

Page  <12345 7>
Author
PHCorrigan View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 March 2010
Country: United States
Location: Portland,Oregon
Status: Offline
Posts: 308
Post Options Post Options   Quote PHCorrigan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 November 2010 at 06:54
I cannot get Lightroom to recognize lens profiles I have downloaded with the new lens profile downloader. The downloader puts them in my personal appdata folder (C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\CameraRaw\LensProfiles\1.0\Downloaded) and I have copied them to C:\ProgramData\Adobe\CameraRaw\LensProfiles\1.0\Sony.

What am I missing?

Thanks.
Patrick

A77, A200, So50_1.4, So18-200, M35-105, M50 2.8 RS Macro, M100_2.8 macro, So35 2.8 macro, Beercan, Big Beercan, M75-300 new, Rokinon 85 1.4, Tamron 16-300, HVL-F42AM, 5600 HSd, Sekonic L-358
 



Back to Top
el_floz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 19 January 2008
Country: Sweden
Location: Uppsala
Status: Offline
Posts: 135
Post Options Post Options   Quote el_floz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 November 2010 at 10:02
Don't know... sometimes there's something wrong with the profiles themselves (I've had this before). Try to ask over in the corresponding Adboe forums, they usually are very helpful and knowledgeable!
Back to Top
tjack View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 19 November 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Status: Offline
Posts: 61
Post Options Post Options   Quote tjack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 December 2010 at 21:52
I've uploaded a number of Sony/Minolta lens profiles (all full-frame [A850] RAW format) for "older" lenses that can be accessed through the Adobe Lens Profile Downloader. They are:

Tokina 17mm F3.5 AT-X
Tamron 20-40mm F2.7-3.5 SP
Minolta 24mm F2.8
Minolta 28-135mm F4-4.5
Minolta 70-210mm F4 (Beercan)
Minolta 80-200mm F2.8 APO (Black)
Tamron 90mm F2.8 SP Macro
Tokina 100-300mm F4 AT-X (Red Band)
Back to Top
Edlet View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 25 May 2009
Location: Singapore
Status: Offline
Posts: 34
Post Options Post Options   Quote Edlet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 04:37
Originally posted by tjack tjack wrote:

I've uploaded a number of Sony/Minolta lens profiles (all full-frame [A850] RAW format) for "older" lenses that can be accessed through the Adobe Lens Profile Downloader. They are:

Tokina 17mm F3.5 AT-X
Tamron 20-40mm F2.7-3.5 SP
Minolta 24mm F2.8
Minolta 28-135mm F4-4.5
Minolta 70-210mm F4 (Beercan)
Minolta 80-200mm F2.8 APO (Black)
Tamron 90mm F2.8 SP Macro
Tokina 100-300mm F4 AT-X (Red Band)


Wow, that's a fantastic contribution!
Back to Top
camelriders View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 31 December 2005
Country: United States
Location: South East
Status: Offline
Posts: 2434
Post Options Post Options   Quote camelriders Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 04:59
Originally posted by PHCorrigan PHCorrigan wrote:

I cannot get Lightroom to recognize lens profiles I have downloaded with the new lens profile downloader. The downloader puts them in my personal appdata folder (C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\CameraRaw\LensProfiles\1.0\Downloaded) and I have copied them to C:\ProgramData\Adobe\CameraRaw\LensProfiles\1.0\Sony.

What am I missing?

Thanks.


If it's not registered properly or if it's a demo license, then it will not work. Not sure if that is your issue but figured I would toss that in just in case.
Regards,
Bruce.
Back to Top
PHCorrigan View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 March 2010
Country: United States
Location: Portland,Oregon
Status: Offline
Posts: 308
Post Options Post Options   Quote PHCorrigan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 05:55
Originally posted by camelriders camelriders wrote:

Originally posted by PHCorrigan PHCorrigan wrote:

I cannot get Lightroom to recognize lens profiles I have downloaded with the new lens profile downloader. The downloader puts them in my personal appdata folder (C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\CameraRaw\LensProfiles\1.0\Downloaded) and I have copied them to C:\ProgramData\Adobe\CameraRaw\LensProfiles\1.0\Sony.

What am I missing?

Thanks.


If it's not registered properly or if it's a demo license, then it will not work. Not sure if that is your issue but figured I would toss that in just in case.


Not a demo, fully licensed, fully registered. I can download all updates from Adobe without a problem.
Patrick

A77, A200, So50_1.4, So18-200, M35-105, M50 2.8 RS Macro, M100_2.8 macro, So35 2.8 macro, Beercan, Big Beercan, M75-300 new, Rokinon 85 1.4, Tamron 16-300, HVL-F42AM, 5600 HSd, Sekonic L-358
 



Back to Top
kefkafloyd View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 July 2006
Country: United States
Location: Massachusetts
Status: Offline
Posts: 2453
Post Options Post Options   Quote kefkafloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 06:06
Just leave them in downloaded, that should be fine.

The format of the image does matter. Is it a RAW or JPEG image, and is the profile RAW only or JPEG only?
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 29557
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 09:02
@PHCorrigan, what's your problem, doesn't Lightroom automatically apply the correct profile when you check the box "Enable Profile Corrections" in the Profile section, or can't you even choose them from the drop down lists below.   
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
PHCorrigan View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 March 2010
Country: United States
Location: Portland,Oregon
Status: Offline
Posts: 308
Post Options Post Options   Quote PHCorrigan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 18:00
Originally posted by kefkafloyd kefkafloyd wrote:

Just leave them in downloaded, that should be fine.

The format of the image does matter. Is it a RAW or JPEG image, and is the profile RAW only or JPEG only?


The images are RAW and the profiles are RAW. The camera is an a100 and the profiles are for other APS-C bodies.
Patrick

A77, A200, So50_1.4, So18-200, M35-105, M50 2.8 RS Macro, M100_2.8 macro, So35 2.8 macro, Beercan, Big Beercan, M75-300 new, Rokinon 85 1.4, Tamron 16-300, HVL-F42AM, 5600 HSd, Sekonic L-358
Back to Top
PHCorrigan View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 18 March 2010
Country: United States
Location: Portland,Oregon
Status: Offline
Posts: 308
Post Options Post Options   Quote PHCorrigan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 18:01
Originally posted by pegelli pegelli wrote:

@PHCorrigan, what's your problem, doesn't Lightroom automatically apply the correct profile when you check the box "Enable Profile Corrections" in the Profile section, or can't you even choose them from the drop down lists below.   


The only profile that appears is the embedded profile for the 18-200mm. The downloaded profiles do not appear in the list.
Patrick

A77, A200, So50_1.4, So18-200, M35-105, M50 2.8 RS Macro, M100_2.8 macro, So35 2.8 macro, Beercan, Big Beercan, M75-300 new, Rokinon 85 1.4, Tamron 16-300, HVL-F42AM, 5600 HSd, Sekonic L-358
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 29557
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 20:10
Patrick, did you look under other brands as well. I put some profiles (eg. the 17-35/2.8-4 and the 80-200) in the Sony folder, but they still only show up if I choose the Minolta brand.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
seevve View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 June 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Russian Federation
Status: Offline
Posts: 104
Post Options Post Options   Quote seevve Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 20:43
tjack, Thank You!!!
One question, may be You know. Why profiles places in different Maker?
Minolta, Sony, Tokina in LR 3.2
(f.e. Tokina 17 in Tokina branch, and Tokina 100-300 in Sony branch, 28-135, 70-210/4 in Minolta brach), while in all these files Make set as SONY.

2 all
And also be aware: Tokina 100-300 have same LensID as Minolta 70-210/4 and Tokina 17/3.5 same as 28-85mm F3.5-4.5. Potentially problem if you have some lens with same lensID.
Sorry for my English.
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 29557
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 21:02
I think the brand or maker is an entry field for the person who provides the profile, and doesn't depend on the folder name.

Still haven't figured out how to have all lenses be recognised automatically, but as long as I can change it manually it's fine by me.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
seevve View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 04 June 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Russian Federation
Status: Offline
Posts: 104
Post Options Post Options   Quote seevve Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 December 2010 at 21:15
pegelli
of course folder name no sufficient here.
lcp file is simple xml file, You can edit it in any text editor notepad for example) and change there a850 => a900. If there is profile for a850 and lens, that You have; but no profile for a900 and this lens.

But in all these lcp files contains string:
<stCamera:Make>SONY</stCamera:Make>
i think that sorting in LR must rely on this field in lcp (xml) file. But it seems that i'am wrong, or there is bug in LR, because Adobe Lens Profile Downloader shows profiles in right sections (for example all profiles from tjack, available via Sony section (and not Tokina or Minolta ections)). I see inconsistent behavior in two programs from Adobe.
But yes this is not big problem.


Edited by seevve - 05 December 2010 at 21:16
Sorry for my English.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  <12345 7>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.