FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Alpha/Maxxum/Dynax 7 Rewind at 36 exposures

Page  <123>
Author
Manuel Iniesta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 November 2018
Country: Argentina
Location: Buenos Aires
Status: Offline
Posts: 25
Post Options Post Options   Quote Manuel Iniesta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 November 2018 at 20:20
I rather use digital for flash photography, unless Im at the studio, but yes, the Minolta 5 packs a lot for the price.
I use my 70-400mm SSM and the 85mm f2,8 with my film cameras, so my camera election gravitates a lot around the most recent A mount film cameras.

Maybe I should get another 7, but for that money I think I rather buy a 5 plus a hand light meter.

I still miss my stolen Nikon FM2. I can't stand needle exposure meters, I need leds!
 



Back to Top
Manuel Iniesta View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 08 November 2018
Country: Argentina
Location: Buenos Aires
Status: Offline
Posts: 25
Post Options Post Options   Quote Manuel Iniesta Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 November 2018 at 20:48
Finally I shot a roll with the Cust. Func. 2-2 set.
And the camera rewound it by the 36th pic. Sigh...

Thinking in adding another camera, maybe it doesn't have this odd behaviour. Would you recomend Minolta 5 over Dybax 60/Maxxum 70 or viceversa? (I know, this shopuld be another thread altogether).
Back to Top
vitor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 10 August 2006
Country: Portugal
Location: Lisbon
Status: Offline
Posts: 1926
Post Options Post Options   Quote vitor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2018 at 07:00
Check this thread here
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3496
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2018 at 08:38
Originally posted by Manuel Iniesta Manuel Iniesta wrote:

Finally I shot a roll with the Cust. Func. 2-2 set.
And the camera rewound it by the 36th pic. Sigh...

Thinking in adding another camera, maybe it doesn't have this odd behaviour. Would you recomend Minolta 5 over Dybax 60/Maxxum 70 or viceversa? (I know, this shopuld be another thread altogether).


The biggest snag with the 5 is that it's silver ... You can get the 60/70 in black which looks a bit more modern. Though, to be fair, it seems like silver is coming back into fashion again, so maybe you can be ahead of the game
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 25820
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2018 at 10:22
I'd not thought of trying to hack the DX code to tell the camera that the film has 48 shots before... however I'm aware that even if you can tell the camera that it is a different value, the camera might only recognise 12, 24 or 36.

One way of finding out would be to prepare a film cassette and have the 7 set to countdown to zero for exposures - I think it winds all the film off the cassette to start with (going from memory here as I haven't used by 7 in too long...) and then winds it back in as you shoot.
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 25820
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2018 at 15:18
The internet reckons that if you remove the black paint from the bit of the DX code below where the arrow is pointing to, DX should recognize the cassette as holding 48 shots... note that the DX code is read by an electrical contact, so scratching off the panel with a cross bladed screwdriver, should work.



As I've said, whether the 7 or any other A mount Minolta film cameras will treat it differently is another matter...
 



Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 3496
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 November 2018 at 15:38
Presumably you could glue a bit of kitchen foil across the width instead.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras . . .
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Online
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 November 2018 at 15:57
Originally posted by Miranda F Miranda F wrote:

Presumably you could glue a bit of kitchen foil across the width instead.


Not sure that would work .
The silver area seen is all one piece , parts are insulated with paint(?) so they don't make contact with the pins in the camera body .
Depending which areas are left clear , in the above picture 7 of them , connects up certain pins on the body together and tell the camera what ISO it is and how many exposures per roll .
Unless the foil makes an electrical connection with another silver panel , then it is still insulated from the panel and won't make part if the circuit .

Or at least that's ,my understanding .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
LeReilly View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 14 January 2020
Country: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote LeReilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2020 at 17:08
Hi,

I know this is an old topic but I have the same issue.
I just tested my Dynax 7 with a Kodak Gold and it rewinded at 36exp.

Has anyone figured out a way to go to 37-38?
I'm planning a trip and this can end up making a big difference over 10 rolls.

(it also rewound mid-roll at 18 frames, no idea why. I put it back and shot 18 frames with the cap on and was able to finish the roll)
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Online
Posts: 10490
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2020 at 19:24
What Bob said. Or make the whole DX code unreadable. It is the DX code that tells the camera that there is a 36 picture roll in there.

That 18 pictures, maybe the camera thought there was an 18 picture roll in there.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Online
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 June 2020 at 20:08
With any roll of film , when it reaches the end it is put under tension .
The camera senses this and automatically rewinds the roll .
Which is fine with non-DX coded film

Sometimes the camera might be a bit sensitive if a film is put in whose centre section is a bit stiff , an a false rewind can happen .

With DX coded film , it tells the camera how many exposures are on it and rewinds on 24 or 36 .

So as already said , covering the DX code and manually entering the ISO is the only way to get any extra out if a roll .
Faffing about trying to trick the DX reader seems more effort than it's worth .

I've never noticed on my Dynax 7 if it'll shoot over 36 shots anyway .
I believe some cameras , not necessarily Minolta , only count to 36 and rewind at that point .
But I can't remember which , or I might just be wrong ....

Edited by neilt3 - 20 June 2020 at 20:15
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
LeReilly View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 14 January 2020
Country: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Post Options Post Options   Quote LeReilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 June 2020 at 01:52
I'll try scratching the cannister then.
Super weird that there is no manual option for this on such an high-end camera...
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Online
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 June 2020 at 01:57
Originally posted by LeReilly LeReilly wrote:

I'll try scratching the cannister then.
Super weird that there is no manual option for this on such an high-end camera...


DX coding is for automation .
What cameras are there that you know of that allow you to reprogram how it functions with this to make the Dynax 7 weird ?
I'm not aware of any that allow you to totally disregard the information with the exception of ISO .

If you want to ignore the DX coding , just tape it over .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Online
Posts: 10490
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 June 2020 at 07:41
It is not that strange, I think. When your a professional photographer, say at a wedding, you want your system to be predictable. If you think picture 36 is the last one and there is another, and another, and when the kiss happens your camera is rewinding, you're in trouble.

Also, like Neil said, the other system is reacting to tension in the film. But this will put strain in the winding motor. For a hobbyist this might not be a big deal, shooting two rolls a week - but if your shooting ten rolls per wedding and maybe a few at another event, it might influence the reliability of your camera.

I do not know if this was the thinking, but these seem good reasons to have the camera automatically rewind after a fixed number of rolls.

Here is the Wiki page on DX-codes.
Here is a video on changing the DX code on your film.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > Film cameras Page  <123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.