FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A-Mount Teleconverters Guide

Page  <1 23456 31>
Author
eccl View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Joined: 07 December 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 757
Post Options Post Options   Quote eccl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 February 2006 at 01:43
If it is not labelled with MC7 or 7E than it is only 4 elements. Also TC with 7 elements in most cases is thicker than TC with 4 elements.

Hope this help.
eccl
 



Back to Top
X-R-M View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 August 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 667
Post Options Post Options   Quote X-R-M Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 February 2006 at 05:30
There is comparison Tamron AF 1.4x TC and Kenko Teleplus Pro 300 here
Test was done with Tamron 100-400 lens in Canon mount.

There are also sample pictures of:
Sigma 10-20/4-5.6 EX DC HSM vs. Canon 10-22/3.5-4.5 USM
Sigma 24-70/2.8 EX DG Macro vs. Canon 24-70/2.8 L USM
Sigma 30/1.4 EX DC HSM
Back to Top
Rambler358 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United States
Location: Torrance, CA
Status: Offline
Posts: 224
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rambler358 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 March 2006 at 07:45
Originally posted by eccl eccl wrote:

Minolta AF system requires a minimum aperture of F6.3 (except 500/8 AF) to function. The following chart listed the aperture you should have on your original lens to have AF working in the resulting combination. If the resulting aperture is slower than the aperture listed, you will have to use manual focus.

F4.5     1.4X or 1.5X TC
F4.5     1.7X TC
F4       2X TC
F2.8     3X TC

Some really great info here! I've just recently acquired a rare Tokina AT-X 340 AF II 100-300mm f/4 lens and was looking for a good 2x TC. From what's stated above, and since this is a constant f/4 lens I should be able to use a 2x TC.

However, Tokina's website states the following for their Kenko PRO 300 2.0x TC:
"Full AF operation with PRO 300 2.0x is possible when using camera lenses with maximum aperture of F2.8 or brighter."

So now I'm a little confused - can anyone shed some light if I'll in fact be able to use a 2x TC and still have AF? Or will I need to drop down to a 1.4x TC in order to retain AF? Many thanks in advance!
~Ron
Torrance, CA
Back to Top
eccl View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Joined: 07 December 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 757
Post Options Post Options   Quote eccl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 March 2006 at 04:14
Originally posted by Rambler358 Rambler358 wrote:

Some really great info here! I've just recently acquired a rare Tokina AT-X 340 AF II 100-300mm f/4 lens and was looking for a good 2x TC. From what's stated above, and since this is a constant f/4 lens I should be able to use a 2x TC.

However, Tokina's website states the following for their Kenko PRO 300 2.0x TC:
"Full AF operation with PRO 300 2.0x is possible when using camera lenses with maximum aperture of F2.8 or brighter."

So now I'm a little confused - can anyone shed some light if I'll in fact be able to use a 2x TC and still have AF? Or will I need to drop down to a 1.4x TC in order to retain AF? Many thanks in advance!


The Pro 300 2X will AF with your 100-300/4 lens since it will AF with a 70-210/4 lens. Since the effective aperture is F8, AF will only work in good light and subject with high contrast.
Hope this help.
eccl
Back to Top
Jac. View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 15 March 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jac. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 March 2006 at 13:00
Great work, EECL, nice thread.

Maybe one addition that I think nobody else mentioned yet:
The Minolta APO converters also work with the 200mm f4 APO macro lens.

Rgds. Jac
Back to Top
eccl View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Joined: 07 December 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 757
Post Options Post Options   Quote eccl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 March 2006 at 21:35
I believe 200/4 was mentioned in the TC guide:

"Minolta APO teleconverters are designed specifically for certain Minolta lenses only, all of the Minolta AF Telephoto G lenses such as 135/2.8 STF, 200/2.8, 300/2.8, 300/2.8 SSM, 300/4, 400/4.5, 600/4, 200/4, 70-200/2.8 SSM. "

Regards,
eccl
 



Back to Top
H_K_F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 August 2005
Country: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Posts: 1171
Post Options Post Options   Quote H_K_F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2006 at 12:58
After using a Minolta APO 2X converter on a 300mm 2.8, there are noticable loss of sharpness with a bit of shake, and reduction of contrast.

Since I have not use such combo before, I recognize my techniques is not good enough. Any recommendation / reading for this newbie in "teleland"?
Dynax 7,9,A2,5D
Sony A700,A900,A99
17-35G, 24-70Z, 28-70G, 70-200G, 35G, 50D, 85G, 100D, 300/2.8G, 600G
NEX5,5R,A7Rii
10-18, 16, 18-200, 24-70Z, 35/2.8Z, 55/1.8Z, 85/1.8Z, 70-200/4
Back to Top
eccl View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Joined: 07 December 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 757
Post Options Post Options   Quote eccl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 March 2006 at 23:49
Are you using a tripod or at least monopod with your 300/2.8 + APO 2X combination? Handheld is alrady difficult for 300/2.8, add a 2X it will be even tougher. You'll need a HEAVY DUTY tripod with a good ball head or heavy duty head. Mount the lens onto the tripod instead of the camera as you don't want the camera (mount) to support the weight of the heavy lens.

Picture quality will be degraded with a 2X TC but the result should not be too bad (at least 70-75% of original).

Hope this help.
eccl

Edited by eccl - 18 March 2006 at 23:50
Back to Top
H_K_F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 August 2005
Country: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Posts: 1171
Post Options Post Options   Quote H_K_F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 March 2006 at 08:39
With AS, I found using 1.4X with 300/2.8 handheld managable; 2X handheld still workable, result is a bit marginal. The following was handheld shot with enough light.



I mounted the lens combo on a Gitzo G1228 MKII and a Acratech Ultimate Ballhead. I did not tighten/secure the ballhead with AS on, since the subject floated on water and moved slightly.



100% crop



Another 100% crop



The result is not bad, at least 80% of original or with 1.4X. Just wondering if the result is normal and if any better gear (Gimble head), or technique should be involved from your experience?
Dynax 7,9,A2,5D
Sony A700,A900,A99
17-35G, 24-70Z, 28-70G, 70-200G, 35G, 50D, 85G, 100D, 300/2.8G, 600G
NEX5,5R,A7Rii
10-18, 16, 18-200, 24-70Z, 35/2.8Z, 55/1.8Z, 85/1.8Z, 70-200/4
Back to Top
spiritx View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 24 October 2005
Location: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 41
Post Options Post Options   Quote spiritx Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2006 at 15:58
Hi all,

i would know your opinion on the use of a kenko Teleplus 300 1,4x with a sigma 135-400 4,5/5,6 ?

I think i'll lost AF (maybe can i keep it by hidding 3 pins ?) but what about the image quality ?

What is your opinion on this ?
Thanks,
Anthony
Back to Top
eccl View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Joined: 07 December 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 757
Post Options Post Options   Quote eccl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2006 at 16:30
AF will work (at least try to lock focus on an object) since Kenko PRO 300 1.4X is simply passing through the signal. Your EXIF data will not be correct.

Quality wise you'll get about 80-90% of your original image but bear in mind your 135-400 is pretty big so adding a 1.4X will make it even longer and heavier. You'll probably need a monopod or tripod or high ISO for best result.

Hope this help.
eccl
Back to Top
ballfresno View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 02 January 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 102
Post Options Post Options   Quote ballfresno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2006 at 23:30
eccl, thanks very much for a very informative posting (especially for those of us new to the Minolta world).

One small question for you or anybody else that can help me: on the Minolta Yahoo! group, I found out about the Canon FD lens adaptor which would be perfect for me and you've alluded to it as well. However, the only link I've been given for actually acquiring such an adapter has been to BHPhoto in the US. I was wondering if anybody knows where in the UK one might get such an adaptor as the shipping charge from the US is as much as the adaptor itself.

cheers,
eric

PS - Link to BHPhoto product page
eric
KM 5D, various others from Canon, Kodak, Minox & Olympus.
Flickr gallery
Back to Top
eccl View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Joined: 07 December 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Posts: 757
Post Options Post Options   Quote eccl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 April 2006 at 20:57
Can't help you here as I do not know of any photo dealer/retailer in UK that carries this FD->Min AF adapter. You can also try your luck on ebay but price can be higher than B&H + shipping to UK.

eccl
Back to Top
ballfresno View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 02 January 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 102
Post Options Post Options   Quote ballfresno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 April 2006 at 00:03
Thanks eccl. My findings so far have been that there does not seem to be anybody in the UK that deals with such. BHPhoto it will have to be. I guess the shipping costs are not that bad...

eric
eric
KM 5D, various others from Canon, Kodak, Minox & Olympus.
Flickr gallery
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Lens Talk > Adapters and converters Page  <1 23456 31>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.