FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Big Sur anyone?

Author
bonneville View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: East Midlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 2004
Post Options Post Options   Quote bonneville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Big Sur anyone?
    Posted: 24 January 2021 at 13:46
I have a 2019 Macbook Pro 16" and my OS presently is still ten (or X) (or Catalina). I used to have it set to automatically update but after the controversy surrounding the launch of OS11 (Big Sur) I decided to hang on.

Even though they seem to have overcome the initial roll out problems there are still numerous sites on the web saying hold off upgrading as so many programs are failing in the new system. I believe it is because the latest upgrade is a total rewrite of the Mac OS, and primarily for the latest Mac M1 chipped computers.

So is there anyone here who has upgraded on an Intel based machine, and if so have you encountered any problems, especially with speeds and other party software?
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12166
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 January 2021 at 15:41
At least adhox moved to Big Sur, as he stated here.

Just check experiences with your most used programs. If they are fine, what is stopping you?
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
QuietOC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 28 February 2015
Country: United States
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Posts: 3428
Post Options Post Options   Quote QuietOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 January 2021 at 15:41
APFS has made it pretty easy to install multiple versions of Mac OS. There is no need to dedicate drive space to each version. So I recommend keeping Catalina when you install Big Sur. It is possible to install many programs just once and use with all the OS versions.

I had High Sierra, Mojave, and Catalina installed together on my iMac without issues. I was going to install Big Sur, but the iMac died before the Public Beta was available. High Sierra is the last version of Mac OS that has subpixel text rendering for low resolution displays and the first to support APFS. I have Adobe CS6 which will only run under High Sierra and Mojave. I believe some Sony software is the same.
Sony A7RIV NEX-5T HVL-F45RM LA-EA5 Metabones-IV Sigma MC-11 Yongnuo EF-E II TLT ROKR MD-NEX KR-NEX DA-NEX
Minolta Maxxum 600si
Pentax Q7 5-15 15-45/2.8 8.5/1.9 11.5/9 AF-P/Q
Back to Top
bonneville View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: East Midlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 2004
Post Options Post Options   Quote bonneville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 January 2021 at 16:31
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

At least adhox moved to Big Sur, as he stated here.

Thanks. I haven’t been following that thread so I missed that reference.
Back to Top
bonneville View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: East Midlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 2004
Post Options Post Options   Quote bonneville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 January 2021 at 16:38
@QuietOC. Interesting, and food for thought. While my (now) only computer is running as well as any I have ever had I shall not rush to update when there is no real requirement. And keep my eyes on the ongoing debates about it.

Thank you for your comments
Back to Top
Tue Romanow View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 12 September 2006
Country: Denmark
Location: Middelfart, Fyn
Status: Offline
Posts: 959
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tue Romanow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2021 at 07:44
I installed Big Sur on my 2015 Macbook Pro back in november. The only problems I've encountered is a few plug-ins for music production that weren't quite ready for Big Sur but they've all been fixed now. I don't seem to have lost any speed or capacity after upgrading.
There's no such thing as too many lenses.
 



Back to Top
Tricky01 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 08 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Woodley, Berks.
Status: Offline
Posts: 3102
Post Options Post Options   Quote Tricky01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2021 at 08:41
Big sur on 2016 mbp working fine here with capture one 21. No problems at all
Site
A7iii, A7Riii, A7R (full spectrum) 12f2.8, 15f2, 16-35f4, 35f1.8, 50 1.8, 85f1.8, 135GM, 100-400GM, 200-600G, 1.4xTC // A mount: Sig90f2.8, Sig180f3.5 Macros
Back to Top
Snegren View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 November 2011
Country: Netherlands
Location: Zuid Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 5451
Post Options Post Options   Quote Snegren Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 January 2021 at 10:31
I use it on an Intel Mac book Pro. Photoshop now and then crashes when closing a file. I launch it from Lightroom and then launch NIK from Photoshop. But I suspect that is due to memory not OS because it sometimes happened on earlier versions of OS.
“People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.” Søren Kierkegaard
My Flickr
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 3432
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 March 2021 at 12:45
I haven't taken the leap yet, but I'm close to it. I see Sony haven't updated Imaging Edge yet so I'm not the slowest in the race!
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
samfieldhouse View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 January 2021
Country: United Kingdom
Location: South
Status: Offline
Posts: 26
Post Options Post Options   Quote samfieldhouse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 March 2021 at 11:42
I'm on Big Sur - had to ditch Adobe CS6 and move to CC, but it all seems fine. Luminar hangs occasionally.
Back to Top
bonneville View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 19 May 2007
Country: United Kingdom
Location: East Midlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 2004
Post Options Post Options   Quote bonneville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2021 at 11:24
Update. Thank you for all comments. So yesterday, following 11.2.3 release, I took the plunge and installed MacOS11 (Big Sur) without any hitches and it seems to be running beautifully. I'm not sorry I waited for the initial bugs to be sorted and it has certainly brought the Apple products closer together with a look, which I like, very much like the iPad and iPhone icons and colours.

I did say in my earlier post that my MacBook Pro was my only computer but I have since bought a refurbished Windows 10 PC (mainly to get the most out of StereoPhoto Maker) and I also have several versions of Raspberry Pi running, mostly headless and controlled with VNC through my Mac. Now my study is back to looking more like NASA mission control and I really must stop coding for a bit and take some photos!

Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.