FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Can White Balancing be turned OFF with the a900/a8

Page  12>
Author
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 162
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can White Balancing be turned OFF with the a900/a8
    Posted: 19 December 2021 at 17:33

Seems like a simple Yes or No question to me.

Can White Balancing be turned OFF with the a900/a850?
http://www.subclub.org
http://www.subclub.org/minman
http://www.subclub.org/minchin
 



Back to Top
michelb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 August 2009
Country: Canada
Location: Montréal
Status: Offline
Posts: 693
Post Options Post Options   Quote michelb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 17:45
Turned off ?
Why would you want to turn it off. Colors will be unpredictable

It can be set to different pre-set settings (dayligth,tungsten, flash etc) or customized to a fixed temperature in degrees kelvin
Michel B
Back to Top
Snegren View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 November 2011
Country: Netherlands
Location: Zuid Holland
Status: Offline
Posts: 5651
Post Options Post Options   Quote Snegren Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 17:52
If you store RAW it doesn't matter, it changes the preview not the data. But it cannot be turned off, you have to pick a setting.
“People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.” Søren Kierkegaard
My Flickr
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12965
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 17:54
Without white balance there is no picture..... so, no.
If you want to turn off auto white balance, you can use pre-sets or use Kelvins.

Not a simple yes/no question. Why do you want "white balancing off"?
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 33803
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 19:02
Originally posted by Snegren Snegren wrote:

If you store RAW it doesn't matter, it changes the preview not the data. But it cannot be turned off, you have to pick a setting.
+1

If you shoot jpg it does matter, then it's best to pick a setting that matches how you want the output to look whitebalancewise.
You can see the April Foolishness 2021 exhibition here Another great show of the talent we have on Dyxum
Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 162
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 19:08
So the answer appears to be "No". That's what I thought. I just wanted some confirmation.
http://www.subclub.org
http://www.subclub.org/minman
http://www.subclub.org/minchin
 



Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12965
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 19:26
Originally posted by XKAES XKAES wrote:

So the answer appears to be "No". That's what I thought. I just wanted some confirmation.
I still do not understand what you meant.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2884
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 19:40
Originally posted by XKAES XKAES wrote:


Seems like a simple Yes or No question to me.

Can White Balancing be turned OFF with the a900/a850?


Do you mean ; Can AUTO White Balancing be turned OFF with the a900/a850?

If so , then yes . You can turn off Auto WB and either go to pre-sets or set a manual figure .

As far as I know there is no camera that can have any form of WB control switched off .
Shooting in RAW it's effectively off , to view the image you still have to select a WB , either you decide or you leave it to automatic .
But everything has to have a light colour , otherwise you haven't got an image to see .

It seems we are not quite understanding your question ?

What would be your desired goal of switching all WB control off ?

Edited by neilt3 - 19 December 2021 at 19:46
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2798
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 19:53
as a contrarian I will say "yes". Menu/camera pictogram, column 1 option 6 creative style: option 6 B/W enter
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 33803
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 20:08
Originally posted by LAbernethy LAbernethy wrote:

as a contrarian I will say "yes". Menu/camera pictogram, column 1 option 6 creative style: option 6 B/W enter


To some extent this is true as the output is a monochrome jpg, but not entirely, the white balance setting (or AWB) will still determine how light/dark blues and yellows show in the final B&W image.
You can see the April Foolishness 2021 exhibition here Another great show of the talent we have on Dyxum
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 12965
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 20:21
Leica has true Monochrom cameras - maybe Joe wants one of those
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2884
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 20:59
Originally posted by XKAES XKAES wrote:

So the answer appears to be "No". That's what I thought. I just wanted some confirmation.



Presumably this question is being asked on the back of this thread , using an a850 for infrared ?

If it's so you can review the images on the LCD and can't tell what's going on with a red image , the answers easy .

1 ; set the camera to shoot B&W JPEG's .
2 ; Now set to record images in RAW .

the preview images will be in black and white so you can gauge the images , but the RAW file will keep all the information to process the final image .

White Balance is irrelevant as your shooting RAW .

I'd be interested to know if the a850 can capture IR , as the a900 doesn't .
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
XKAES View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 September 2021
Country: United States
Location: Colorado
Status: Offline
Posts: 162
Post Options Post Options   Quote XKAES Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 December 2021 at 23:21
The picture I showed above is with an unmodified a850 with a 720 IR on a 35mm lens. It's a relatively long exposure -- not to me -- but it looks like some IR light was recorded.

This was just a first test. I think a slightly shorter exposure and more contrast will create a more IR-like shot.

It was shot at ISO 100 with noise reduction ON -- so I can easily get shorter exposures if I want.

I have to assume that the a900 & a850 have the same IR sensitivity.

And my question about WB has nothing to do with this.
http://www.subclub.org
http://www.subclub.org/minman
http://www.subclub.org/minchin
Back to Top
Jonas A-R View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 December 2007
Country: Denmark
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 1645
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jonas A-R Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 December 2021 at 05:54
You can export the raw planes as TIFF from rawdigger.
This is a composit RGB autoscaled to 16bit with a 2.2 gamma curve applied:


Why would you like to have wb off?


Edited by Jonas A-R - 20 December 2021 at 06:50
a9 a6300
21/2.8 Loxia 35/1.4Z 50/1.4Z 85/1.4GM 90/2.8G Laowa 100mm F2.8 Ultra Macro 100/2.8GM 135/1.8GM
12-24/4G 24-105/4G 100-400/4-5.6GM 2x TC
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount full frame Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.