FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

copying slides

Page  12>
Author
sploosher View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 February 2007
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 934
Post Options Post Options   Quote sploosher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: copying slides
    Posted: 08 March 2021 at 12:39
I have a lot of slides that I would like to digitise and would like to ask you all which method under £100 do you suggest?

On option is to but a standalone scanner, but from the reviews I have read there is nothing that gets my interest, as they are not very good.

Another option is to get a copier ( see attached link )that attaches to the front of a lens, the Tamron 17-50 would the one I would be using.

https://www.srb-photographic.co.uk/srb-dslr-slide-copier-13322-p.asp

Thanks


Edited by sploosher - 08 March 2021 at 12:42
A77ii,A700,A550,,3600HSD,Nissin Di866,Minolta 50mm 2.8 Macro,135,500,Sony50mm f1.4,Sony 70-300 G SSM, Sigma10-20,Tamron17-50mm f2.8,
90mm


 



Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 35126
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2021 at 14:22
I digitize my slides with an Epson V700 photo flatbed scanner and am happy with the results. There are cheaper/simpler flatbed scanners for negatives/slides that are just as good, only slower and/or less frames per batch.

I have no experience with the slide copier you linked to but I would be suspicious until I would find a real/good user review. It must include an optical element to be able to focus so close and putting that in front of a zoom lens will probably deteriorate image quality quite a bit.

I do have experience with a slide copier that attached directly to the camera and my experience is pretty bad, the scans I do with the flatbed are miles ahead of anything I can get from the camera/copier combo.

I also have experience with an old Minolta dedicated slide/negative scanner, it's a tiny bit better than the flatbed results I get but so much more slow and user unfriendly that it only comes out if I have a real good slide/negative and want to make a top notch large print, but otherwise the flatbed results are good enough for my intended use.
You can see the April Foolishness 2022 exhibition here Another great show of the talent we have on Dyxum
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13522
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2021 at 15:38
There are people here who use a slide copiers, made by Kaiser or Nikon. You'll need to use a macro lens to do that, so, your 17-50 most likely will be unable to focus on the film plane. Also, you'll need even light that is bright enough.

I use my Canon 9000f for all my film needs, with 35mm it is acceptable, but not outstanding. I expect the Epson V600 to be comparable. Peters V700 will be better.
The Plustek 8100 or 8200 scanners are slow but better.
None of these are within your price range.

this thread might be useful
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14436
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2021 at 18:23
Originally posted by sploosher sploosher wrote:

I have a lot of slides that I would like to digitise and would like to ask you all which method under £100 do you suggest?

How many slides?

What kind of resolution and image quality do you want? Different choices will produce different results, typically ranging from 4MP to 24MP.

If you want the higher end of image quality, are you willing to increase the budget?

How much time are you willing to spend getting the results you want?
Back to Top
sploosher View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 February 2007
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 934
Post Options Post Options   Quote sploosher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2021 at 21:46
Thanks for the replies guys.

The advert for the copier says it copier uses a 10x Close Up Lens to achieve the correct amount of magnification needed to photograph the slides. then you just zoom and focus with your own camera lens to achieve your desired shot.

I had a set of bellows many years ago that I used for copying slides, The two standalone ones I have looked at, have different faults,

This one tends to produce squares in the middle of the image when copying slide, but when used for negatives it is fine , https://www.wexphotovideo.com/kenro-film-scanner-knsc201-1634265/

Along with this one https://www.wexphotovideo.com/veho-smartfix-14-megapixel-negative-film-slide-scanner-1750984/ they wont take the thickness of GePe glass mounted slide.

I have a few hundred in total to do, but cant justify buying a new flatbed scanner costing hundreds of pounds, as i already have one that suits my needs, and it would be surplus to requirements
A77ii,A700,A550,,3600HSD,Nissin Di866,Minolta 50mm 2.8 Macro,135,500,Sony50mm f1.4,Sony 70-300 G SSM, Sigma10-20,Tamron17-50mm f2.8,
90mm


Back to Top
Phil Wood View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 March 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 2540
Post Options Post Options   Quote Phil Wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 March 2021 at 23:09
You could always build your own - like this guy did. You would need a macro lens - a Minolta AF 50mm f2.8 macro can be found for well under £100.

The bonus is that you also get a superb macro lens for general use long after all your slides are copied.
 



Back to Top
sploosher View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 February 2007
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 934
Post Options Post Options   Quote sploosher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 March 2021 at 22:40
I decide to take the plunge and buy the lens mounted copier, should be here in the next couple of days, will post some results for your opinions.





Edited by sploosher - 19 March 2021 at 23:26
A77ii,A700,A550,,3600HSD,Nissin Di866,Minolta 50mm 2.8 Macro,135,500,Sony50mm f1.4,Sony 70-300 G SSM, Sigma10-20,Tamron17-50mm f2.8,
90mm


Back to Top
sploosher View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 14 February 2007
Location: England
Status: Offline
Posts: 934
Post Options Post Options   Quote sploosher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 March 2021 at 23:26
Been a bit busy over the last few days so not yet copied any slide, one quick question, I plan to use one of my studio lights but would like to know which of these methods would be best.

1........use a silver brolly with the camera pointing towards it.
2........use a white brolly the same way
3........use a white brolly and shoot from behind so the light is softened

thanks in advance
A77ii,A700,A550,,3600HSD,Nissin Di866,Minolta 50mm 2.8 Macro,135,500,Sony50mm f1.4,Sony 70-300 G SSM, Sigma10-20,Tamron17-50mm f2.8,
90mm


Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4067
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 November 2022 at 10:05
I found a Veho Smartfix scanner in a charity shop last year, £5. It appears to be a current model (VFS-014-SF) on sale now at £200 less a few pence, and it works really well. 14MP.

It has a several different sliding frames to accommodate different slide sizes and cut film, etc. I use the one that takes three 35mm slides. It is very easy to use- I just load the slides, position them and press the button to scan, then when I've finished I leave the SD card in the machine and connect it to the USB port on my PC and Playmemories imports them all.

I was initially doubtful whether the scan would cope with the huge dynamic range on slides, but it does this very well, and spot-checking the tone curve generally shows the full white and black edges inside the borders, but it has the facility to adjust the EV when you scan. I think it has an automatic adjustment for light too. Anyway, I can definitely recommend it, though I probably wouldn't spend £200 on one...

At the moment I'm just scanning through the slides my father and I took in Italy 40 years ago, but I've also scanned the Bristol-Bournemouth classic car run of 1989 which doesn't take place anymore. I'll post a few from this set.

Edited by Miranda F - 26 November 2022 at 10:16
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13522
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 November 2022 at 19:50
I doubt you get 14mp of resolution out of a scanner like this. But if it has the IQ you're happy with: great buy!

(just noticed the specs do not mention the Dmax number...)

Edited by addy landzaat - 26 November 2022 at 19:55
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4067
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2022 at 07:56
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

I doubt you get 14mp of resolution out of a scanner like this. But if it has the IQ you're happy with: great buy!

(just noticed the specs do not mention the Dmax number...)


Well, the jpegs are 2944 x 4416 which I make to be 13Mp so you're right!
And the actual size of the jpegs (2-3 Mb) suggests they don't have the best ultimate resolution. But that's okay. I want to display them to the family on our basic HDTV which is about 2Mp, and I don't have nay higher resolution monitors. There's plenty of room to crop where needed.

But, duh, if I wanted the full display resolut5ion and images large enough to warrant it (four-five feet across) I'd show the slides ...

But it does raise the old question again - how many Mp do you need for the display method you're using? Bear in mind this is holiday pictures, not professional artwork.

What do you mean by Dmax number?
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 13522
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2022 at 08:59
2Mp will be doable
DMax is more or less the dynamic range of a filmscanner. If you look at the reviews over at filmscanner.info you see a better Dmax makes a noticeable difference in scan quality. Serious scanners usually mention the Dmax number.

I guess this scanner fits the intended goal: cheap and simple way to show analogue pictures.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Micholand View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Knowledgebase Contributor

Joined: 30 October 2005
Country: Germany
Location: MUC
Status: Offline
Posts: 17236
Post Options Post Options   Quote Micholand Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2022 at 09:10
Not quite correct Addy.

Dmax is an abbreviation for the maximum density where detail can still be distinguished from pure black by a scanner (or densitometer). And Dmin for minimum density from pure white (lowest values not hidden by noise); and they are measured on a logarithmic scale.
With that the resulting dynamic range of a scanner can be calculated:
DR = Dmax - Dmin

Some valuable info can be found here: https://www.scantips.com/basics14.html
/Michael

DWEs don't grow on trees! | Posting images&links FAQ
Back to Top
Miranda F View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 11 January 2014
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Bristol
Status: Offline
Posts: 4067
Post Options Post Options   Quote Miranda F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2022 at 22:11
Thanks for the info, guys. I'll check those sources out.
Miranda F & Sensorex, Sony A7Rii, A58, Nex-6, Dynax 4, 5, 60, 500si/600si/700si/800si, various Sony & Minolta lenses, several Tamrons, lots of MF primes and *far* too many old film cameras ...
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.