FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Dark expousure on high shutter speed

Author
darkymir View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 26 December 2018
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote darkymir Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Dark expousure on high shutter speed
    Posted: 27 November 2020 at 11:14
Hi!
I have a strange problem with my Sony A580. Until shutter speed 1/50 everything seems normal. When I try to shoot faster shutter speeds everything gets darker (1/60 and 1/80) and faster than 1/100 everything is black. I've tried different settings, tried resetting defaults, tried different lenses, including old manual m42, but all stayed the same. Then I've sent the camera to an official Sony repair center and from there they told me the problem should be in the shutter (BTW I have thread for that here). They have changed the shutter but the problem remained.

Also, I want to mention (not sure how useful that info will be) that the problem appeared after changing the IBIS unit.

Did anyone have a similar problem? Any ideas or advice will be useful.
 



Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26339
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2020 at 11:45
1. Does changing the ISO value make any difference?

2. Does it behave differently with a different lens on?

3. If you look into the mount with the lens off, can you see the sensor when the shutter fires?

4. Do you have the option of just sensing it back to the people at the repair centre and saying that the problem is still there?

Back to Top
darkymir View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 26 December 2018
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote darkymir Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2020 at 12:43
Originally posted by Bob J Bob J wrote:

1...


1. no

2. no

3. It's hard to see it in 1/100, but I think it fires. A mirror lockup feature will be useful in this case, but I don't think that this model has it. At slower speed it certainly does fire.

4. Yea, that is an option, but as I said I've sent it a few times already and I prefer not to do it, at least at the moment. I've spent more money for parts and repair work than the price of the camera itself. I prefer to collect alternative opinions before I invest more on that object.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2197
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2020 at 03:34
Have you used a mounted flash? Does the HSS work?
Turn off Steady shot?
Back to Top
darkymir View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 26 December 2018
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote darkymir Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2020 at 15:09
I don't have appropriate flash. However, with the built-in flash I get this image at 1/80th :

At 1/60th and slower everything seems normal. At 1/100th and faster everything is black. And you see the result of 1/80th.

As I said earlier, until 1/60th the camera seems OK, but from 1/100th and faster there are black frames only. The 1/80th shots are somewhat strange - non-flash are darker than they should and the result of flash images you see.
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14382
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2020 at 15:34
There's a shutter curtain synchronization problem. That's what should have been corrected at the repair center, but wasn't.
 



Back to Top
darkymir View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 26 December 2018
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote darkymir Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2020 at 17:52
Ok.

So how the sync problem should be fixed? Isn't it supposed to be alright after changing the shutter unit?

I'm asking because the first time I've brought it to them, I was told that there are two possible causes - the shutter or the motherboard. The final verdict was that shutter should be changed and agreed only because I just paid for a new stabilization unit. So now if I have to get a new motherboard it will be very disappointing.
Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 11610
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2020 at 18:20
Are you in the European Union? If so, we have great consumer laws, they should repair for free as they made the wrong assumption.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
darkymir View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 26 December 2018
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote darkymir Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2020 at 18:42
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

Are you in the European Union? If so, we have great consumer laws, they should repair for free as they made the wrong assumption.



Hehehe! Won't happen in this case.
Back to Top
LAbernethy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2015
Country: Canada
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Status: Offline
Posts: 2197
Post Options Post Options   Quote LAbernethy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2020 at 21:34
Sorry to say it, but it's "parts" or "scrap".
Back to Top
sybersitizen View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2006
Country: United States
Location: California
Status: Offline
Posts: 14382
Post Options Post Options   Quote sybersitizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 November 2020 at 23:21
Originally posted by darkymir darkymir wrote:

So how the sync problem should be fixed? Isn't it supposed to be alright after changing the shutter unit?

Yes, as I said above: That's what should have been corrected at the repair center, but wasn't.

Very poor service! It makes no sense to replace the shutter mechanism and fail to make sure the shutter is syncing properly.
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.