FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

dark frame problem with A500

Page  12>
Author
EN View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 25 January 2010
Location: Thailand
Status: Offline
Posts: 85
Post Options Post Options   Quote EN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: dark frame problem with A500
    Posted: 12 February 2010 at 02:36
Hi everybody..

I bought A500 a few months ago. I have satisfied everything about this model except in the last month I have noticed a problem. It is about a dark/blank frame occurring when I start to use the camera for the first time of the day, or when I turn it back on again for using later in the same day. This problem occurs for the first shot and it does not occur every time I use the camera, just occasionally. In the first month after I purchased this model, there was no any problem at all. But now it seemed to me that this problem occurs more often.

Does anyone have the same problem as me? If so, please share with me what part of the camera is broken, if you know/have experience about the matter? I sent to camera to the Sony Thailand since last Monday, and now they could not figure how to repair, and cannot inform me how long it gonna take to fix this problem.

Thank you.

picture from A500:



Edited by EN - 14 February 2010 at 04:16
Life with Love is Like a Tree with Blossom.
 



Back to Top
X-R-M View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 August 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 667
Post Options Post Options   Quote X-R-M Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 02:55
Is that Konica Minolta 7D/5D First Black Frame problem chasing Sony now?

Do you have symptoms like in that thread?
Back to Top
fxcarden View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 06 October 2005
Country: United States
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Posts: 1095
Post Options Post Options   Quote fxcarden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 02:58
Sounds like the old FFB problem with older generation cameras

Read here
FC
Back to Top
EN View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 25 January 2010
Location: Thailand
Status: Offline
Posts: 85
Post Options Post Options   Quote EN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 03:07
thanks for the information you kindly provided..

i copied the symptoms of 5d/7d here:

------------------
Symptom:
When you turn your camera on and take the first shoot the camera will freeze. The only thing you can do is turn the camera off and on again (in some rare cases you will need to take your battery out and insert it again). The issue will cause an underexposed (black frame) image recorded on your memory card.
Depending on the severity of this issue, this will happen only at first shoot or you may experience this several times after which you will be able to use your camera normally. Also, this may happen only once in a while (one a month or so), every day you turn the camera for the first time or in more severe cases every time you turn your camera on.

------------------

as symptoms of 5d/7d described above, the symptoms of my a500 are the same to 5d/7d, all except I have not noticed that the camera freezes. It is just occasional dark frame at the first shot right after I turn it on.



Edited by EN - 14 February 2010 at 03:26
Life with Love is Like a Tree with Blossom.
Back to Top
htarash View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 July 2009
Country: Australia
Location: VIC, Australia
Status: Offline
Posts: 281
Post Options Post Options   Quote htarash Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 04:54
Now you scare me, I am happy I got it with 5 years warrantee.
R.I.P A77|Welcome A99| SAL70300GSSM|R.I.P SAL1650SSM|SAL50F18SAM|Σ 105F2.8M|HVL-F42AM|E-PM1+14-42
Flickr
Back to Top
X-R-M View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 24 August 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 667
Post Options Post Options   Quote X-R-M Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 05:05
My 5D never froze, "just" gave me occasionally first black frame, and worked correctly after that.
It was fixed for free by Precision and was OK since then.
 



Back to Top
Heidfirst View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 31 August 2005
Country: Scotland
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Posts: 1745
Post Options Post Options   Quote Heidfirst Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 February 2010 at 05:14
Originally posted by EN EN wrote:

It is about a dark/blank frame occurred when I start to use the camera for the first time of the day, or when I turn it back on again for using later in the day. This problem occurs for the first shot and it does not occur every time I use the camera, just occasionally.

if it only happens the first time that you use it each month that's normal - it's the camera mapping out any hotpixels.
Back to Top
csiems View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 23 January 2006
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 475
Post Options Post Options   Quote csiems Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 February 2010 at 11:08
I' ve got the same problem with my A550. Nothing wrong the first 2 months (3500 frames), but now I get the First Frame Black - it doesn't freeze, but annoying it is.
I never had the problem with my 5D or my A100 :-)
www.siems.dk Sony A580+A700- A77 – Min 24 – 50/1,7 –24-105 - 28-85 - 28-105xi – 70-210/4 – 70-400G - 400/4,5 – Tamron SP11-18 - SP90 -SP180– SP200-500–TC 1,4 – Sony 4200 HS flash + many film-Minoltas
Back to Top
stevecimo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 13 February 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote stevecimo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 February 2010 at 04:40
I have had a issue with my A550, sometimes when it comes out of sleep mode, it does see the attached lens and f-stop is reported has F--, happened about 4 times in 2 months of use. never happened with my A350 and the same lenses in 14 months use.

There seems to be stronger wear lines on the lens contacts now that I've started using the A550. but I will need to double check this.
Back to Top
MarkT View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 July 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Posts: 157
Post Options Post Options   Quote MarkT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 February 2010 at 08:52
Originally posted by Heidfirst Heidfirst wrote:

Originally posted by EN EN wrote:

It is about a dark/blank frame occurred when I start to use the camera for the first time of the day, or when I turn it back on again for using later in the day. This problem occurs for the first shot and it does not occur every time I use the camera, just occasionally.

if it only happens the first time that you use it each month that's normal - it's the camera mapping out any hotpixels.

That's the first time I've heard of that behaviour, is there any more info on which models do this?
Back to Top
alpha_in_exile View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 26 September 2007
Country: United States
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Posts: 2951
Post Options Post Options   Quote alpha_in_exile Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 March 2010 at 20:12
Originally posted by MarkT MarkT wrote:

Originally posted by Heidfirst Heidfirst wrote:

Originally posted by EN EN wrote:

It is about a dark/blank frame occurred when I start to use the camera for the first time of the day, or when I turn it back on again for using later in the day. This problem occurs for the first shot and it does not occur every time I use the camera, just occasionally.

if it only happens the first time that you use it each month that's normal - it's the camera mapping out any hotpixels.

That's the first time I've heard of that behaviour, is there any more info on which models do this?

They all do this--in fact, if you're noticing a hot pixel & want to get rid of it right away, you can change the date in the camera menus past the first of the next month, turn the camera OFF (wait a moment while it maps out the bad pixel(s)), then turn it back on, then reset the correct date, and carry on with your day.

HOWEVER, the hot-pixel mapping function does NOT produce a black frame on your CF card. And it does the mapping when you turn the camera off, not when you turn it on. All you'll notice is, it will take longer than usual for the red light to shut off when you turn the camera off.
-- Matt
A7RM4, A900, Min 24/2.8, Min 50/1.4, Min 85/1.4, Tam 90/2.8 Macro, Tam 70-200/2.8
my web gallery
Back to Top
lensomatic View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: 23 February 2010
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote lensomatic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 March 2010 at 08:52
I had that problem and a few extra oddities. Noise reduction was greyed out and i thought the metering was a bit odd.
I did a "reset" from the menu - the problem has not happened since.
I's be interested to know if this solves your problems!
Back to Top
mee View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 01 March 2007
Country: Malaysia
Location: Malaysia
Status: Offline
Posts: 746
Post Options Post Options   Quote mee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 March 2010 at 14:39
I do not have the FBF issue on my a550. However mine do freeze occasionally e.g after I got it out of standby mode (Power Save (LV/OVF)).
When the LCD turns on all info are displayed but I just can't do anything like pressing the shutter, change the aperture or shutter speed even the dial is rotating. The only solution is to turn it off and then on it again.
I have the thought of sending it back to sony but I find it difficult to proof to them as when it will happen again.
Back to Top
prjohn58 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 September 2008
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Posts: 203
Post Options Post Options   Quote prjohn58 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 March 2010 at 14:26
Originally posted by mee mee wrote:

I do not have the FBF issue on my a550. However mine do freeze occasionally e.g after I got it out of standby mode (Power Save (LV/OVF)).
When the LCD turns on all info are displayed but I just can't do anything like pressing the shutter, change the aperture or shutter speed even the dial is rotating. The only solution is to turn it off and then on it again.
I have the thought of sending it back to sony but I find it difficult to proof to them as when it will happen again.


Same here (A500), I thought it was a user problem.
The world is your playground why don't you play

A77 Sony16-105 f3.5/5.6, Minolta 70-210mm f4, Tamron 200-400mm f5.6, sony 30mm macro,
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > A-mount APS-C Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.