FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Dynax/Maxxum/Alpha 7 Problem

Author
Cucoo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2019
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 356
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cucoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Dynax/Maxxum/Alpha 7 Problem
    Posted: 19 November 2020 at 16:22
So I received a 7 today from Japan, loaded it up with rechargable CR123a's and it worked just fine. I was able to set it up, play with the menu, aperture control and autofocus worked fine, etc - and just when I was about to load film it suddenly went quasi-dead.

Now, when turning it on it slaps the mirror down and immeditaly back in the up position, the screen is dead and none of the buttons do anything. When pressing the shutter button the viewfinder info is illuminated very faintly. Oh, and the mirror stays up when turning it off.

So it doesn't seem to be completely dead, but I have no idea why it would fry up like that. I've checked the batteries I've used and they're 3.7v instead of 3 - but if that was the issue, wouldn't the camera have died when turning it on the first time?

Does anybody have any pointers? I'm wondering if getting "proper" 3v CR123as to try would make any sense...
 



Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26074
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 November 2020 at 16:34
I don't think it works with rechargeables, but the manual doesn't seem to specifically disbar their use.

If you get the vertical grip you can use AA batteries, otherwise stick to the Lithium ones.





Back to Top
addy landzaat View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 22 April 2006
Country: Netherlands
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Posts: 10865
Post Options Post Options   Quote addy landzaat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 November 2020 at 16:47
It was discussed here before and the rechargeable CR123's do indeed not work.
Why not follow me on Instagram? @Addy_101
Back to Top
Cucoo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2019
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 356
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cucoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 November 2020 at 17:10
^ Thanks. Yeah, I read that before, I just thought it was weird that it worked fine for an hour or so before... I'll try regular batteries, I guess
Back to Top
carusoswi View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2007
Country: United States
Location: Philadelphia
Status: Offline
Posts: 493
Post Options Post Options   Quote carusoswi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2020 at 03:45
So, did you get the regular batteries? Is your camera ok? I have read somewhere that rechargeables can actually cause permanent damage. I hope this did not happen to your unit.

I own two 9's, one with and one without the grip. I use AA rechareables in the grip, regular CR123's in both bodies (nice feature that you can keep the CR123's inserted when you attach the grip).

Good luck!

Caruso
A100/700//900/Sig50mmf2 .8DGMacro/Min 85_1.4/Min 35_1.4/Min 100_f2/Min 100-300/F56AM_F58AM/Viv283/Max9000/Minolta4000/Min24-105/Max9/Min100_2.8 D/Sony50m1.4//Min AF500F8
Back to Top
Cucoo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2019
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 356
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cucoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2020 at 12:42
I just returned from grocery shopping and before even putting the ground beef in the fridge I of course had to try the proper batteries I bought

It works (again)! It even saved the custom features I adjusted yesterday, but I had to enter date/time again for some reason. I'm kind of baffled that it worked for some time with the wrong voltage before deciding to quit - now I just hope it really was the batteries and that it won't die again. I'm using rechargeable batteries in my Minolta 9000 (as in pretty much any device that takes batteries) with no problems whatsoever, so researching if rechargeables work with the 7 didn't even cross my mind. I know better now!

Loaded up some Portra 800, looking forward to a mildly sunny weekend to blow through it

(I'm pretty ecstatic about the data feature. I've been logging frame data like date/time, aperture and shutter speed using a clunky phone app, it'll be so great to just read the data from the LCD when I get scans back )
 



Back to Top
carusoswi View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 August 2007
Country: United States
Location: Philadelphia
Status: Offline
Posts: 493
Post Options Post Options   Quote carusoswi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2020 at 13:44
Originally posted by Cucoo Cucoo wrote:

I just returned from grocery shopping and before even putting the ground beef in the fridge I of course had to try the proper batteries I bought

It works (again)! It even saved the custom features I adjusted yesterday, but I had to enter date/time again for some reason. I'm kind of baffled that it worked for some time with the wrong voltage before deciding to quit - now I just hope it really was the batteries and that it won't die again. I'm using rechargeable batteries in my Minolta 9000 (as in pretty much any device that takes batteries) with no problems whatsoever, so researching if rechargeables work with the 7 didn't even cross my mind. I know better now!

Loaded up some Portra 800, looking forward to a mildly sunny weekend to blow through it

(I'm pretty ecstatic about the data feature. I've been logging frame data like date/time, aperture and shutter speed using a clunky phone app, it'll be so great to just read the data from the LCD when I get scans back )


Happy to hear that you did no permanent damage to your 'new' camera. The 7 has always been a temptation for me, but, really, I don't need another camera, film or digital. My 9's keep exif data, but without the special backs which are hard to find, retrieving the information is very tedious.

Enjoy your camera.

Caruso
A100/700//900/Sig50mmf2 .8DGMacro/Min 85_1.4/Min 35_1.4/Min 100_f2/Min 100-300/F56AM_F58AM/Viv283/Max9000/Minolta4000/Min24-105/Max9/Min100_2.8 D/Sony50m1.4//Min AF500F8
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26074
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2020 at 14:12
Originally posted by Cucoo Cucoo wrote:

I just returned from grocery shopping and before even putting the ground beef in the fridge I of course had to try the proper batteries I bought

It works (again)! It even saved the custom features I adjusted yesterday, but I had to enter date/time again for some reason. I'm kind of baffled that it worked for some time with the wrong voltage before deciding to quit - now I just hope it really was the batteries and that it won't die again. I'm using rechargeable batteries in my Minolta 9000 (as in pretty much any device that takes batteries) with no problems whatsoever, so researching if rechargeables work with the 7 didn't even cross my mind. I know better now!

Loaded up some Portra 800, looking forward to a mildly sunny weekend to blow through it

(I'm pretty ecstatic about the data feature. I've been logging frame data like date/time, aperture and shutter speed using a clunky phone app, it'll be so great to just read the data from the LCD when I get scans back )


Good to hear - it is a lovely camera...

https://www.35mmc.com/10/07/2020/minolta-dynax-7-review/

As you got it from Japan, I'm guessing it has the 'alpha' branding?

Do you get the menus in English or do you read Japanese?
Back to Top
Cucoo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2019
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 356
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cucoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 November 2020 at 15:23
I was thinking about the 9 too since I prefer the 9000 to the 7000 - but the 7 is a more manageable size, with a prime mounted it's no larger than the 9000 or Sony a7ii and I can put it in any bag I use for those. I also like that it's the last of it's line, can use SSM lenses and it looks nice next to XD7 and a7ii

Sorry for quick phone pics:





Besides saying Alpha 7 on the front it's identical to the Dynax 7, the menu was set to Japanese when I got it but it's easy to change the language. (Besides Japanese it offers English, French, German and Spanish.) Every menu and option looks exactly like in the Dynax 7 manual I referred to.
Back to Top
neilt3 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 13 September 2010
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Manchester.U.K
Status: Offline
Posts: 2570
Post Options Post Options   Quote neilt3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2020 at 01:02
Originally posted by addy landzaat addy landzaat wrote:

It was discussed here before and the rechargeable CR123's do indeed not work.


Mine do .
I can't remember when or where I got them from , but they work just fine .
I have a set that fits my Dynax 7 and a pair of the smaller ones that fit the Dynax 5 .
clearly it's essential you get the right voltage as this size battery comes in both 3v and 3.7v .
IMG_20201123_002117511~2 by Neil , on Flickr

These appear to be the same as mine ; 3v ebay rechargeable battery
see my photostream on flickr;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/neilt3/
C & C welcome.
Back to Top
Cucoo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2019
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 356
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cucoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2020 at 08:05
^ Ah, good to know! I'll keep my eye out for 3v rechargables. I'd definitely feel better using rechargables instead of throwaway batteries, it's something I was trained to do since I got my first Game Boy back in the 80ies

In other news, I'm almost through my first roll in the 7, it feels great to shoot and I'm thrilled to see the results. I still have to try the multiple exposure and STF features, I'll play around with those to finish up.
Back to Top
Howard_S View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 20 March 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Oxford
Status: Offline
Posts: 2504
Post Options Post Options   Quote Howard_S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2020 at 09:44
Do those rechargeables need their own charger, or do they fit in a regular AA/AAA device?
Howard Stanbury Instagram | Flickr | Web
Back to Top
Cucoo View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 02 October 2019
Country: Germany
Status: Offline
Posts: 356
Post Options Post Options   Quote Cucoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 November 2020 at 09:55
They'll need their own charger:



CR123 on the top

Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Camera Talk > Film cameras

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.062 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.