FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Editing software for a7rIV

Page  12>
Author
rovhazman View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Knowledge Base Coordinator

Joined: 11 January 2008
Country: Israel
Location: Be'er Ora
Status: Offline
Posts: 8765
Post Options Post Options   Quote rovhazman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Editing software for a7rIV
    Posted: 29 December 2019 at 18:07
I guess it was discussed endless times, but yet...

2 weeks ago I got a new a7rIV. Until now I was using Lightroom 6.14 for editing my a7rii photos and managed to avoid the subscription policy of Adobe. But a7rIV is not supported in Lightroom 6.14, so now I need either to find a new software or give up and subscribe to Lightroom...

These days I am trying Capture One, and it is nice, but I miss a lot of small features which are part of my workflow and are available in Lightroom via plugins (for example, adding exif data, exporting directly to Smugmug, adding boarders etc.). While I can easily do everything outside Capture One, it makes my workflow slow and not flowing...

So, my question is whether someone can recommend me an alternative or should I give up and get Lightroom?
 



Back to Top
Jonas A-R View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 29 December 2007
Country: Denmark
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 1468
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jonas A-R Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2019 at 18:12
I recently gave in and now subscribe to LR + PS. I have a Surface Pro tablet and building smart previews on active editing jobs on my main computer let me edit my collections on the tablet by syncing to the cloud.
It works ok and it is nice to be able to access and edit on the go
a9 a6300 21/2.8 Loxia 35/2.8Z 35/1.4Z 50/1.4Z 55/1.8Z 85/1.4GM 90/2.8G 12-24/4G 24-105/4G 70-200/4G 100-400/4-5.6GM 2x TC
Back to Top
Bob J View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 23 December 2005
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London
Status: Offline
Posts: 26000
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bob J Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2019 at 18:57
I would imagine that Capture 1 was likely to provide R4 support fairly early - at least for the free version..
Back to Top
rovhazman View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Knowledge Base Coordinator

Joined: 11 January 2008
Country: Israel
Location: Be'er Ora
Status: Offline
Posts: 8765
Post Options Post Options   Quote rovhazman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2019 at 19:06
Bob, capture one does support the R4. Right now I am working with their trial version. It produces nice results but misses many features which are part of my workflow hence I am required to use additional software (unlike Lightroom in which I can do everything within Lightroom).

Jonas, I am also approaching the realization that I better just subscribe and focus on my photos instead of wasting time playing with alternatives...
Back to Top
brian33 View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 21 October 2008
Location: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 7606
Post Options Post Options   Quote brian33 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 December 2019 at 22:59
Shay, I followed Pieter (pegelli’s) advice for my A7 that I just bought off him and my old Lightroom 4.4 which was good for my alpha 99 but not the first gen A7 and downloaded the free Adobe DNG converter. So I convert my A7 files to a dng extension which LR 4.4 can read. Converting 8GB worth of photos only takes a couple minutes so it’s really very handy. :)
I detest bugs, especially spiders.
Back to Top
rovhazman View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Knowledge Base Coordinator

Joined: 11 January 2008
Country: Israel
Location: Be'er Ora
Status: Offline
Posts: 8765
Post Options Post Options   Quote rovhazman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2019 at 07:43
Thank you Brian for the advice.
I tried working with DNG in the past (I like the concept of universal RAW format), but there are 2 reasons I stopped using it and I am not planning to use it again:
1) All the edits are saved into the main file and not to side file (as in other formats). As a result, every time I run backup it takes much longer.
2) I never dared to delete the original raw files and ended up with double files... I read on the web that some claim that by converting to DNG you loss information, while in other places it says that it is only a myth. Regardless, I don't feel comfortable to delete the original files.
 



Back to Top
800si View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 September 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Vancouver
Status: Offline
Posts: 890
Post Options Post Options   Quote 800si Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2019 at 18:32
I use the current LR & PS subscription, and I am happy with the performance. I have a fully loaded 2013 15" Macbook Pro and it still works fine with the A7RIV RAW (uncompressed) files. Capture 1 does give slightly more pleasing skin tones, but the lack of a decent cataloguing function is a deal breaker to me. Besides, my subjects have fur & feathers, so good human skin tones do not matter as much.

One reason to upgrade from an older version of LR to the new one is improved image quality. I recently tried editing some of my old Minolta 7D files and found I could recover a bit more detail in the highlights & shadows, and cleaner noise.
Canon 5DmkIV, Nikon Z7, Sony A7RIV, and some lenses.
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 29575
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2019 at 18:47
I think economically the subscription model isn't much more expensive than paying for the upgrades in the past. What is holding me back is the "end game" when you stop the subscription. LR stays on your computer and LR and your catalogs still work, only the "develop" module becomes disabled. This means you can't tweak and change any of your old images except for the very crude controls available in the "library" module.

So Shay, you have to determine the lesser of the two evils, start a subscription or go the dng route with 6.14 that has the drawbacks you and 800si described. Or start using a completely different program but I found these are not without warts either. So I do use C1, but only as a raw converter is some specific cases, all the rest (cataloguing and conversion) is done in Lightroom.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
brian33 View Drop Down
Alpha Eyes group
Alpha Eyes group

Joined: 21 October 2008
Location: France
Status: Offline
Posts: 7606
Post Options Post Options   Quote brian33 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2019 at 19:39
Originally posted by rovhazman rovhazman wrote:

Thank you Brian for the advice.
I tried working with DNG in the past (I like the concept of universal RAW format), but there are 2 reasons I stopped using it and I am not planning to use it again:
1) All the edits are saved into the main file and not to side file (as in other formats). As a result, every time I run backup it takes much longer.
2) I never dared to delete the original raw files and ended up with double files... I read on the web that some claim that by converting to DNG you loss information, while in other places it says that it is only a myth. Regardless, I don't feel comfortable to delete the original files.


Interesting information, I hadn't realized there could be problems with DNG.

But now that you mention it, I have been working on DNG files of my A7 for the past day or so and have noticed that highlights are more difficult to dim and the white balance is yellower than my a99 was for either of those functions. I wonder: is it just that the A7 runs a bit warm for WB and for some reason its files are less good for highlight dimming? Doesn't make sense to me since it's the same sensor and came out not long after the a99.
I detest bugs, especially spiders.
Back to Top
jkp1 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2005
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 2280
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkp1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2019 at 20:15
Rovhazman,
Editing exif (You mean IPTC ?) shouldn't be a problem in C1 (??? Whats the problem ?), and the upload to smugmug you should be able to handle w/o any troubles. Just export to Smugmug "hot folder" and the rest should do itself using Smugmug´s autoupload app.

And i bet the quality of raw conversion is better in C1 than LR

Borders though....

(Btw...i would never bother with DNG, keeping myself within boundaries of some Adobe way of processing my raw files, just look at what ACR does to your files...)


Edited by jkp1 - 30 December 2019 at 20:21
Unused stuff in stock: A700, 24-105, 28-135, Sony A100, beercan, 100-200, Sony 70-200f2.8 + teleconverter
Back to Top
pegelli View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Dyxum Administrator

Joined: 02 June 2007
Country: Belgium
Location: Schilde
Status: Offline
Posts: 29575
Post Options Post Options   Quote pegelli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2019 at 20:18
Brian, I did a test on my NEX6 files that I converted to dng vs. the ARW's (once my Lightroom was updated) and could not find any differences in processing were needed to get to the same end result. So I guess the difference between the files from your A99 and A7 are maybe due to a different processor or a slightly different exposure and/or white balance algorithm. I even noticed differences in that between my (now your) A7 and the A7ii which are almost identical cameras and sensors except for the IBIS. But to be sure I never discarded the original NEX6 ARW's to this day. You never know what can happen in the future with newer/better raw converters and suddenly the difference between ARW and DNG becomes meaningful.

But it is true what Shay is saying, all adjustments get stored in the dng file and not in a separate sidecar like with the ARW's, which can create time problems with backups.
Mind the bandwidth of others, don't link pictures larger then 1024 wide or 960 pix high, see here
Back to Top
jkp1 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 25 November 2005
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Posts: 2280
Post Options Post Options   Quote jkp1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2019 at 20:24
Originally posted by 800si 800si wrote:

but the lack of a decent cataloguing function is a deal breaker to me. .


What ?!?
Unused stuff in stock: A700, 24-105, 28-135, Sony A100, beercan, 100-200, Sony 70-200f2.8 + teleconverter
Back to Top
800si View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: 04 September 2005
Country: Canada
Location: Vancouver
Status: Offline
Posts: 890
Post Options Post Options   Quote 800si Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2019 at 21:56
Originally posted by jkp1 jkp1 wrote:

Originally posted by 800si 800si wrote:

but the lack of a decent cataloguing function is a deal breaker to me. .


What ?!?

AFAIK, Capture 1 doesn't have a cataloguing function as in depth as Lightroom does....am I incorrect on this? I downloaded the latest version recently and couldn't make heads or tails of it...
Canon 5DmkIV, Nikon Z7, Sony A7RIV, and some lenses.
Back to Top
rosspa29 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Joined: 24 March 2012
Country: Australia
Location: Kerang Victoria
Status: Offline
Posts: 66
Post Options Post Options   Quote rosspa29 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 December 2019 at 07:34
Ross
Back to Top
Dyxum main page >  Forum Home > Equipment forums > Digital Darkroom Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.048 seconds.

Monitor calibration strip

Dyxum.com - Home of the alpha system photographer

In memory of Cameron Hill - brettania

Feel free to contact us if needed.